We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but get ready for an olfactory experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tian Yuan Tower Hotel
Ranked #150 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a chance to stay at the hotel for 3 nights.

The first thing you notice is the beautiful decor, expansive lobby and clean facilities.

The checkin is fine and english is a bit of an issue, but they do try and it is without a hitch.

As far as the rooms, It was better than expected. The bed was comfortable and a little hard, but that's the way I like it so it was perfect. The view was terrific as everywhere around you can't go wrong. The bathroom was clean and had al the amenities that you would need from a full service hotel and really can't complain at all about the rooms, decor, bathrooms, closet space or anything else.

The complimentary breakfast on the top floor was great! It was a very good mix of a chinese buffet with a westerners palette. So everything was good, even though I had to find the egg/omelete station. Overall cannot complain about the breakfast either.

So why the average rating....

SMOKE! Even though it was a non-smoking room, the smell of smoke is everywhere... The room does have a window that opens, so I was able to air out the room, but took a couple of days. The maid did come and spray the room, but that's just masking the issue.

I am at odds with myself because of this. I would have rated this about a 4.5 if it weren't for that one issue.

Would I stay again? Most likely, as everywhere you go, I assume it will be about the same. They are notorious for smoking and I guess I get spoiled with the laws in the states with smoking in hotels...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hleenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Tian Yuan Tower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

A very modern and nice hotel, suitable for business and personal visits. English skills of the staff in general are limited, but they do every thing to accommodate your needs.
Noise level is less on upper floor rooms (hotel has 37 floors). Please be sure that the windows are shut in your room, otherwise it will be very noisy at night/early morning hours because of the busy traffic on the local highway that passes through the waterfront. Those front facing rooms have nice view of the river. Rooms, bathrooms are very clean and orderly.
This hotel houses the China chess center, and accommodates conferences and chess matches. So there are subtle clues all around about the Chinese chess symbols.
The Chinese restaurant is on the third floor, which features the river food and Hangzhou cuisine etc. The 'western' restaurant featured as western food, teahouse, and snacks that also serves breakfast is located on the 34th floor. The western restaurant is accessible thorough the 2 elevators located on 32nd floor.
Internet connection might be somewhat challenging, but front desk will help.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise. Front view rooms have better view. Be sure the windows are s...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in Hangzhou for 4 nights. Even though the English skills were limited, the staff did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. The hotel is beautiful, and right near a lovely path along the river. We were too busy to get to the pool or fitness center, but others told us these were great as well. On our last night, our are, which had quite a bit of cash, was broken. Within 5 minutes of our call, a lovely staff person arrived and saved the day with her key and kindness. We would recommend this hotel highly. The only downside is that with the awful traffic it is almost N hour from the West Lake area, which is really where the heart of things lies .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mszeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A very nice hotel located centrally in the city, with a staff of very accommodating attitude.

Clean rooms and common places. Very good facilities, including conference rooms. Friendly, nice service. Every one is trying tio be helpful and to please.

A/C controls are lacking with english instruction and/or standard symbols to help to appropriately adjust the temperature settings. You my want to cll front desk before trying to change any setting

Room Tip: Corner suites are large Higher floors have less noise (some were under renovation in september)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed just one night while visiting friends in Hangzhou. They booked the hotel for us. Normally I stayed in hostels. The reception staff spoke good English. There was breakfast on the 34th floor - mainly Chinese food and some bakery goods. Our room was clean with a very nice bathroom. I didn't have time to check out any other amenities. The room had a nice view of the river but was quite a way from West Lake.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ohiowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
2.3 km away
Courtyard Hangzhou Qianjiang
Courtyard Hangzhou Qianjiang
#8 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
152 reviews
1.1 km away
Hangzhou Marriott Hotel Qianjiang
2.5 km away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#16 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Diaoyutai Hotel Hangzhou
Diaoyutai Hotel Hangzhou
#26 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
24 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou CBD
Holiday Inn Hangzhou CBD
#64 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
114 reviews
8.7 km away
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
#19 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tian Yuan Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tian Yuan Tower Hotel

Address: No.2 Qianchao Road, Jianggan District, Hangzhou 310020, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: €56 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tian Yuan Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tian Yuan Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing