We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,585)
Filter reviews
2,585 results
Traveller rating
1,355
881
246
69
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,355
881
246
69
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renmin square junior suite luxury room terracotta warriors japanese restaurant breakfast buffet bell tower muslim quarter the club lounge other hotels an upgrade sitting area fantastic hotel main restaurant drum tower room was large five star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,585 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

What a great hotel.
I have read a few negative reviews on here, however they are misguided!
Yes the ceiling is not as high as some older hotels, however, the rooms are not small! They are very comfortable, I had a lovely large plant in my room that added to the ambience.
Perhaps too many glass panels in the bathroom which can be tricky at night!
The hotel is in a courtyard, the reviewer who states that it was too far to walk from the entrance is either lazy or can’t call concierge. They will help you, the service was great.
I had access to the club floor, cocktails are basic, but good, and the food was good. I would like to point out that the omelette was best I have ever had!
Located in the centre of Xi’an...very accessible for many attractions, very walkable for those who like to walk.
Highly recommended! And thanks to the staff!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jamiewindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

The rooms are adequate. The service in the restaurants is poor. But here’s the reason not to stay here. First, taxis can’t find the place — at least mine couldn’t. Second, the hotel is located in a gated compound with several other affiliated hotels. The hotel has a policy about what types of vehicles are allowed to come into the compound. Metered taxis are OK if they can find the place. However, if you’re out at night and taxis are hard to come by and you have to take a different type of vehicle — maybe DiDi or maybe a rickshaw — your vehicle won’t be allowed inside the compound. You’ll have to walk. Maybe it’s raining. To bad for you. Walk. That’s the policy of the hotel. Maybe you have packages or luggage or have difficulty walking. Too bad for you. Just walk. That’s the policy of the hotel. Maybe you think you can sort out such a stupid situation by calling the hotel to ask that your vehicle be allowed in. Nope. Too bad for you. Just walk. That’s the policy of the hotel.

Why would anyone stay at a hotel that has such low regard for the comfort of their guests?

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jamesbV4437WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear James B,

Thank you for your review.

I spent some time on investigating what you feedback, and apologize for my late reply.

Renmin Square is a complex that houses four hotels under different Accor brands. Yes, for the sake of safety, rickshaws could not enter the complex, however when you came back in the late evening of Sept 14th, our Concierge staff drove the buggy to fetch you from the entrance of the complex and sent you to the Sofitel building, which is about 2 minutes by walk.

I also heard that on the following day, which was the 15th, you would like to get a local mobile phone card. It was difficult to call a taxi due to it rained that day. Our Concierge staff drove his own car to send you to the telecom office, we also arranged a Reception staff to accompany you to provide translation if needed.

We are sorry to know that the stay didn't meet your expectation, and once again, thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely,
Ivy Wang
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Xi’an from Beijing on the bullet train - around 5 hrs - but highly recommended. The hotel carries off the Sofitel feel well - even with a Bonjour from the Chinese front of house staff. Rooms a little dark, but a good size, and we had the largest bed I have ever seen in a hotel bedroom. Larger than super kingsize. Bathrooms well stocked with bath and shower. Breakfasts ok, a little less choice , for Western food, in comparison to some other top end Chinese hotels but good rather than great. Location a 15 minute walk to the Muslim Quarter - which is a terrific experience. Try The “Muslim Family Restaurant” on the Main Street for really excellent local food, in a noisy but very enjoyable restaurant. 4 of us ate huge amounts and the bill was only £15. Incredible. Find time to see the old City Wall from the South Gate and if you can do it as day turns to night even better. Stunning. The South Gate is also a more buzzy modern area with stylish high rise hotels as an alternative area to stay in.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is set within a complex of three other hotels and has the added bonus of being in lovely grounds, with fountains, trees and nice seating areas. It’s about a 20 minute walk to the Bell Tower/Muslim Street area and is also well served with shops and good restaurants nearby (four within the complex). The Cyclist restaurant is about a five minute walk away (great western food if you fancy a change) and Accor’s newly opened Japanese restaurant Koi (in the complex) is worth a special mention. It is truly amazing; the yummy food and decor all makes for a great dining experience. There is also a branch of the famous Haidilao Hot Pot chain close by the hotel (in the building where Ren Ren Le supermarket is - use the lifts to floor four).

The hotel is really well maintained, the public spaces are very clean and their no smoking policy in these areas is strictly adhered to. The rooms are large, well decorated and comfortable but it’s the staff that really make this hotel stand out. Polite and courteous, always willing to help you and there is a good level of English spoken throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is plentiful with a good variety offered in the Azure restaurant (we ate in there for the evening buffet too and found this enjoyable) and if you have Club access, the breakfast served on the 11th floor is also great. Club access also provide soft drinks/tea and coffee throughout the day as well as a ‘happy hour’ buffet provision in the evening (5.30pm - 7.30pm) with hot/cold snacks and complimentary alcoholic drinks.

The swimming pool almost makes you feel like you are swimming outside (note that China’s pools require swimming hats), and there are also outside seating areas. Plus there is a gym and a Spa, and table tennis.

There are often taxi’s waiting outside the hotel ground but the staff can also arrange a taxi for you. Line 2 underground (north to south) is a 20 minute walk and Line 1 (east to west) a 10 minute walk.

This hotel is a great base in which to stay and explore Xi’an and truly deserves its multitude of five star reviews.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NaN3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

This is a top-end hotel and sits in a small compound of Accor hotels, inside the city centre - it's very well placed, and if you're staying here, you're probably not trying to use public transport so the distance to the nearest metro stop isn't really going to worry you.
In terms of the hotel itself, this is a flagship Accor hotel, and so the entrance impresses, and the standards that you expect for a lobby, check-in, and service at the front of house meet your expectations. Where I found this hotel disappointing is on the floors where the rooms are, and the rooms themselves. This is not a light and airy hotel - the ceilings are low, and the decor and lighting designed to make the place seem dark. I suppose the designers were aiming for sophistication and high-end style - to me, this is gloomy and claustrophobic. Having travelled to Xi'an from Shanghai and stayed in an Accor hotel there, where the windows in the room were large, and the ceilings only a metre or so higher, it felt like a different place entirely.
The room itself was fine, with a decent walk-in wardrobe, and a nice bathroom - shower and bath separate. In terms of surface area, my room was not big, and this added to the rather poky feel of the non-public parts of the hotel.
Catering was fine - the kind of fare that you would expect from a hotel of this grade. Breakfasts were copious with a range of cuisines from Asia and Europe. The service for hot drinks was a little erratic over the three days I stayed there - I did have to spend some time trying to catch the attention of the numerous staff pottering about the dining room to order a coffee. In the café - located in the lobby - expect to pay high prices for decent enough hot drinks but disappointing food (biscuits, cakes etc).
The other experience worth noting is the swimming pool - which is in an unusual c-shape (rather than a rectangle) and is unsupervised. What's curious are the changing facilities - you get ready to swim in a chic (and dimly lit...) changing room but then have to walk through the gym, out into a small lobby, and then up some stairs to get to the pool. It's not for the body-conscious...
Overall, whilst the service in the main lobby is very good, the rest of the hotel feels a bit dated, and the gloom starts to become a bit oppressive after a while.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank TravellingRobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear TravellingRobB,

Thank you for providing us with the gift of feedback.

We are sorry to know that the stay didn't meet your expectation. Your comments have been shared with hotel management and we pay high attention to them. We will do our utmost for improvement, your comments on service and food are definitely something that we can improve immediately.

Our efforts in striving for excellent guest experience will never stop.

Yours sincerely,
Ivy Wang
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews