We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,582)
Filter reviews
2,582 results
Traveller rating
1,352
881
246
69
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,352
881
246
69
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renmin square junior suite luxury room terracotta warriors japanese restaurant breakfast buffet bell tower the club lounge muslim quarter other hotels an upgrade main restaurant fantastic hotel sitting area room was large drum tower five star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 2,582 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Xi’an from Beijing on the bullet train - around 5 hrs - but highly recommended. The hotel carries off the Sofitel feel well - even with a Bonjour from the Chinese front of house staff. Rooms a little dark, but a good size, and we had the largest bed I have ever seen in a hotel bedroom. Larger than super kingsize. Bathrooms well stocked with bath and shower. Breakfasts ok, a little less choice , for Western food, in comparison to some other top end Chinese hotels but good rather than great. Location a 15 minute walk to the Muslim Quarter - which is a terrific experience. Try The “Muslim Family Restaurant” on the Main Street for really excellent local food, in a noisy but very enjoyable restaurant. 4 of us ate huge amounts and the bill was only £15. Incredible. Find time to see the old City Wall from the South Gate and if you can do it as day turns to night even better. Stunning. The South Gate is also a more buzzy modern area with stylish high rise hotels as an alternative area to stay in.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is set within a complex of three other hotels and has the added bonus of being in lovely grounds, with fountains, trees and nice seating areas. It’s about a 20 minute walk to the Bell Tower/Muslim Street area and is also well served with shops and good restaurants nearby (four within the complex). The Cyclist restaurant is about a five minute walk away (great western food if you fancy a change) and Accor’s newly opened Japanese restaurant Koi (in the complex) is worth a special mention. It is truly amazing; the yummy food and decor all makes for a great dining experience. There is also a branch of the famous Haidilao Hot Pot chain close by the hotel (in the building where Ren Ren Le supermarket is - use the lifts to floor four).

The hotel is really well maintained, the public spaces are very clean and their no smoking policy in these areas is strictly adhered to. The rooms are large, well decorated and comfortable but it’s the staff that really make this hotel stand out. Polite and courteous, always willing to help you and there is a good level of English spoken throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is plentiful with a good variety offered in the Azure restaurant (we ate in there for the evening buffet too and found this enjoyable) and if you have Club access, the breakfast served on the 11th floor is also great. Club access also provide soft drinks/tea and coffee throughout the day as well as a ‘happy hour’ buffet provision in the evening (5.30pm - 7.30pm) with hot/cold snacks and complimentary alcoholic drinks.

The swimming pool almost makes you feel like you are swimming outside (note that China’s pools require swimming hats), and there are also outside seating areas. Plus there is a gym and a Spa, and table tennis.

There are often taxi’s waiting outside the hotel ground but the staff can also arrange a taxi for you. Line 2 underground (north to south) is a 20 minute walk and Line 1 (east to west) a 10 minute walk.

This hotel is a great base in which to stay and explore Xi’an and truly deserves its multitude of five star reviews.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NaN3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

This is a top-end hotel and sits in a small compound of Accor hotels, inside the city centre - it's very well placed, and if you're staying here, you're probably not trying to use public transport so the distance to the nearest metro stop isn't really going to worry you.
In terms of the hotel itself, this is a flagship Accor hotel, and so the entrance impresses, and the standards that you expect for a lobby, check-in, and service at the front of house meet your expectations. Where I found this hotel disappointing is on the floors where the rooms are, and the rooms themselves. This is not a light and airy hotel - the ceilings are low, and the decor and lighting designed to make the place seem dark. I suppose the designers were aiming for sophistication and high-end style - to me, this is gloomy and claustrophobic. Having travelled to Xi'an from Shanghai and stayed in an Accor hotel there, where the windows in the room were large, and the ceilings only a metre or so higher, it felt like a different place entirely.
The room itself was fine, with a decent walk-in wardrobe, and a nice bathroom - shower and bath separate. In terms of surface area, my room was not big, and this added to the rather poky feel of the non-public parts of the hotel.
Catering was fine - the kind of fare that you would expect from a hotel of this grade. Breakfasts were copious with a range of cuisines from Asia and Europe. The service for hot drinks was a little erratic over the three days I stayed there - I did have to spend some time trying to catch the attention of the numerous staff pottering about the dining room to order a coffee. In the café - located in the lobby - expect to pay high prices for decent enough hot drinks but disappointing food (biscuits, cakes etc).
The other experience worth noting is the swimming pool - which is in an unusual c-shape (rather than a rectangle) and is unsupervised. What's curious are the changing facilities - you get ready to swim in a chic (and dimly lit...) changing room but then have to walk through the gym, out into a small lobby, and then up some stairs to get to the pool. It's not for the body-conscious...
Overall, whilst the service in the main lobby is very good, the rest of the hotel feels a bit dated, and the gloom starts to become a bit oppressive after a while.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank TravellingRobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear TravellingRobB,

Thank you for providing us with the gift of feedback.

We are sorry to know that the stay didn't meet your expectation. Your comments have been shared with hotel management and we pay high attention to them. We will do our utmost for improvement, your comments on service and food are definitely something that we can improve immediately.

Our efforts in striving for excellent guest experience will never stop.

Yours sincerely,
Ivy Wang
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Impressive hotel designed for a luxurious and relaxing stay. The property sits back from the road and has a gated entrance. There are trees and a huge fountain which makes it feel cool and set apart from the city. Service was very good. Check in was easy and the front desk personnel spoke enough English to answer questions.

The hotel lobby is elegant favoring reds and dark marble. Large fresh flower arrangements compliment the decor. It is very clean.

Our room was a delight. We were on the 7th floor overlooking the city. Noise was not an issue. We could sit on the window seats and look out on the city lights. the room featured a king size bed which was firm but plush, a full desk, a television and a small sofa. We had chocolate on the pillows. Plenty of bottled water.

Our bathroom was cream colored stone and beautiful. Very nice products including shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and regular soap. Forgot a toothbrush? Two kits are there for you ad well as a bamboo comb, vanity kit, etc. We had a full bath tub (with a lovely jar of bath salts to enhance the soak) and a beautiful glass shower featuring an overhead rain shower. Our room was impeccably clean.

Breakfast buffet features a full range of pastries and breads, eggs, bacon, sausage as well as fruits, juices and eastern specialties including steamed buns.

Don’t hesitate to stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KBcommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Great bang for the buck! The rooms were large and well appointed, although some common areas and rooms are showing signs of wear (water logged walls in bathroom, threadbare curtains, décor in dining areas). Hotel staff could not have been more gracious or accommodating! Nancy at the front desk was excellent, as was one of the bellmen that regretfully I forget his name. Staff spoke English and was able to assist in taxi services, dinner reservations, and even took us on a golf cart to a nearby restaurant for dinner. The hotel is in a great location, about 15 minutes from Muslim Street and near many restaurants, shops and bars. For the same price as breakfast each day we were upgraded to a suite on the 11th floor, which came with a club area with a complimentary happy hour and appetizers each night. Highly recommend this property.

Room tip: 11th floor club rooms
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Foodfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews