We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
55
45
15
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
45
15
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marble floors huge lobby business trip language barrier western breakfast wonderful hotel air conditioning chinese food luxury guests ornaments candelabra china taxis lake rates sheets
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on several different nights as we toured Guilin. The first room was not supposed to be a smoking room but someone had clearly smoked in it. I hate smoke but didn’t want to fight the check in line to change. Otherwise the room was nice. It feels like you are at Liberace’s home with all the velvet.

The second stay was better. The room didn’t smell and appeared the same as the first night. The lobby is very grand and beautiful.

Vegetarian food is VERY limited ( think white rice only at every meal) and even breakfast entrees like potatoes had meat added. English was also very limited so no way to ask for vegetarian food. We left well rested but very hungry.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank jellico1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

After our flight to Shanghai was cancelled, our local guide and tour company were able to find last minute accommodation for a group of 6 people, with three twin rooms required. We thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of all parts of the hotel but particularly the very comfortable rooms. We had a breakfast box for a very early flight so cannot comment on the breakfast in the hotel. The breakfast box was standard for China - egg, milk, banana etc. The staff in the dining room for dinner were accommodating after some confusion - some of us wanted the buffet dinner and some a la carte. This was sorted eventually. The buffet was reasonable value with everything included. However we couldn't do it justice as had generous meals during our day tours. Unfortunately, the smell of cigarettes in hallways was a too frequent part of staying in China and it is a shame that such a beautiful property is spoiled in this way.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nellieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Great quality for the price. The main hotel is undergoing renovations but the room we had was clean and comfortable. They are very accommodating - needed a wine cork, an extra pillow, glasses - everything was promptly delivered. Location is great! Grab a bike and go!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank jaetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

By a twist of fate we stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. The building is nearly new and the marble entrance hall is stunning. Clean comfortable luxurious room with good breakfast and lunch. Staff greeted the guests in the corridors instead of looking away and kept the whole place sparkling. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alan2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment works and the areas currently in use for the reception and restaurant are not good enough for a 4/5 star hotel. The breakfast buffet is awful unless you like watered down orange juice as one example. The pools are not available and the main part of the hotel - rooms overlooking the beautiful lake and the lobby that looks so impressive on the web site are not in use.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews