We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveller rating
747
340
122
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
340
122
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club shang palace li cafe mini zoo the river horizon room paddle boats beautiful hotel indoor pool chinese restaurant lobby bar health club dinner buffet main restaurant the executive lounge club room tai chi
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

I stayed at the Shangri-La Guilin for 6 weeks in July/August.

Rooms
I stayed in a horizon room on the 6th floor and I would say that it was well worth the additional expense. By choosing a horizon room you can have breakfast on the 6th floor which is a much nicer place to eat than in the ground floor restaurant. From 5pm each evening there is also a complimentary buffet on the 6th floor, which has more than enough selection of food to have as dinner. Drinks (non-alcoholic) are also complimentary all day long too. The rooms are undoubtedly a little dated, but I wouldn’t let that put you off. They have everything you might need and the beds are unusually comfy by Chinese standards. My room had a king size bed, ample hanging space, a very large desk and a sofa with coffee table. The bathrooms are also well appointed with a large bath and separate shower. They also have a large basin unit with more than enough space for toiletries, make up etc. The air-conditioning works really well and is relatively quiet. The housekeeping standards are also generally good and fresh fruit is delivered each day.

The staff on the horizon room floor are amazing and were incredibly helpful and also have a generally good level of English. They are an invaluable resource for information about where to eat, to go and how to get there. Nothing is too much trouble and they made my stay so much more pleasant.

Restaurants
There are two restaurants and one cafe at the hotel. The main restaurant is somewhat of a scrum down. But the food is generally very good, its an international buffet style restaurant and should have something for everyone. They also have a small selection of food specifically catering for children (chicken nuggets, pizza, fries etc). So even fussy eaters will find things that they will like, and lots of non-Chinese dishes, if that’s your thing.

The Shang Palace is also good. At lunchtimes they offer a dim sum buffet, dim sum a la carte and a normal a la carte menu. I always ordered off the dim sum a la carte menu as it is a fraction of the cost of the normal a la carte menu and I think its much nicer too! Dishes on the dim sum a la carte menu start from around 20RMB whereas the main menu is around 80RMB. As stated in my tips for the hotel, definitely book if you want to eat at this restaurant.

There is also a cafe called the Shang Bakery which offers mostly cakes and bread ,but also ice cream at a fraction of the cost of the ones in the main lobby.

Amenities
The hotel has some nice gardens which you can walk around, every morning there is tai chi which you can join in with and there is also a children’s playground. There is a nice indoor pool (you have to wear a swimming hat, so bring your own if you don’t want to share) and a nice outdoor pool. The outdoor pool, however, doesn’t open until 3pm, which is a bit annoying. There is a Walmart close to the hotel (20 mins walk, or a 5 minute bus ride on the number 302/32 or you can just get a taxi) if you’ve forgotten to bring anything. There aren’t really any restaurants that I could recommend that are really close to the hotel, but I by no means tried all of them, so perhaps there are some hidden gems! There is also a Bird and Flower Market 5 mins walk from the hotel which is a fun place to visit if you have a spare few hours. They have hundreds of plants and beautiful flowers as well as some stores that sell beautiful vases, plates, bowls etc.

General consensus

All in all, I would recommend this hotel. It's undoubtedly the best hotel in Guilin. That being said, don’t expect it to be of the same standard as Shangri-La’s in Europe.

Tips for the hotel
If you would like to eat at the Shang Palace, I would recommend booking as it gets very busy at weekends and even at lunchtimes during the week. So in order to avoid disappointment, I would book for any meal you want to have there.

The cash machine/ATM by the Shang Palace does not take international cards, but the ATM by the Li Restaurant does.

The outdoor swimming pool doesn’t open until 3pm each day. If you are a keen sunbather this might not be the hotel for you. However, the indoor pool is open all day.

The hotel does offer tours, but they are often booked up in advance. I took several tours with Trippest Guilin, who were excellent and I couldn’t recommend them highly enough. Although expensive, they were worth every penny.

If you are after ice cream I would recommend buying it from the Shang Palace bakery where it costs just 20 RMB opposed to in the lobby where the Hagan Das costs 55RMB.

If you get peckish there is a small shop (near the kids club, in one of the wings of the hotel) that sells drinks and snacks for much cheaper prices than at the hotel itself.

There is a pharmacy located nearby to the hotel. Just go out of the hotel, cross the road at the zebra crossing and turn left. Although, it should be noted that they don’t speak English. So, it is definitely worth downloading Pleco, whilst in Guilin.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass745031, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear value guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your positive and such detailed comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our guestrooms and restaurants. As for your comment on the operation time of the outdoor pool, we have already passed it to the Health Club for record. Shangri-La Hotel Guilin is located near the Yushan Bridge, on the east bank of the Lijiang River (the starting point of the elite section of the Li River Scenic Area in downtown), making you feel like you are in the corner of paradise. Without leaving the hotel, you can enjoy various local snacks at the “Food Booth” in the lobby and experience Guilin culture and custom by participating or watching the Bamboo Dance and Mini Cuengh Shows every Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. Our hotel also has many recreation facilities and activities for children, including Kids Club, Game Lounge, Mini Zoo, Mini Royal train, rock climbing, bumper boats, cobblestone painting, cooking classes, etc., so that children can have full of fun in the hotel every day.

Look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Guilin in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We stayed at the Shangri-La in Guilin for two nights before travelling to Yangshuo. The Shangri-La is well designed, well maintained and the staff are eager to please. The standard of service is high; we found the bar staff in particular to be charming, friendly and very efficient. We ate Western food one night in the bar, sitting outside in the warm evening watching the lights come on in the very pretty grounds -- the children's water playground in front of us was absolutely charming. One quibble was that the outdoor pool did not open until 3 pm, and staff suggested we used the indoor pool. On a sunny day of around 30 degrees, this didn't suit us at all! We requested an earlier opening of the pool the next day. The hotel requires a lifequard to be on duty, which is understandable, but for many travellers a late-afternoon pool opening may not be ideal. This is a very pleasant hotel, with plenty of interesting aspects and activities, and one that I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Lower-priced rooms face the city and construction sites, which is not a problem if you're out of the room for most of the day!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie-Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass745031, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear value guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your positive comments. Your suggestion on the operation time of the outdoor pool has been taken note and passed to the manager of Health Club. Shangri-La Hotel Guilin is located near the Yushan Bridge, on the east bank of the Lijiang River (the starting point of the elite section of the Li River Scenic Area in downtown), making you feel like you are in the corner of paradise. Without leaving the hotel, you can enjoy various local snacks at the “Food Booth” in the lobby and experience Guilin culture and custom by participating or watching the Bamboo Dance and Mini Cuengh Shows every Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. Our hotel also has many recreation facilities and activities for children, including Kids Club, Game Lounge, Mini Zoo, Mini Royal train, rock climbing, bumper boats, cobblestone painting, cooking classes, etc., so that children can have full of fun in the hotel every day.

Look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Guilin in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

I love this hotel, have a nice pool, relaxing , quiet and also chill. Price is also reasonable. I would definitely go back to this place if we go back to Guilin. I recommend this hotel specially if yu have kids, they will enjoy the place .

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank MLHKSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass745031, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear value guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your positive comments. Shangri-La Hotel Guilin is located near the Yushan Bridge, on the east bank of the Lijiang River (the starting point of the elite section of the Li River Scenic Area in downtown), making you feel like you are in the corner of paradise. Without leaving the hotel, you can enjoy various local snacks at the “Food Booth” in the lobby and experience Guilin culture and custom by participating or watching the Bamboo Dance and Mini Cuengh Shows every Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. Our hotel also has many recreation facilities and activities for children, including Kids Club, Game Lounge, Mini Zoo, Mini Royal train, rock climbing, bumper boats, cobblestone painting, cooking classes, etc., so that children can have full of fun in the hotel every day.

Look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Guilin in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

The Shangri-La in Guilin is a beautiful hotel with spacious, modern and clean rooms. The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and thoughtful. The room rates were very good but the breakfast was very expensive. The hotel is a little bit out of the main part of town so we had to get a taxi each day to see the sites. There is also not a lot around the hotel although we did find a small local kitchen across the road which served very good Guilin rice noodles. The outside swimming pool did not open until late in the afternoon which was weird. The Bama pigs were just gorgeous.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0bj0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 August 2018

Dear value guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with our guestrooms and staff. We do, however, regret to hear our breakfast price and location did not meet your expectation. If guest need breakfast during the stay, we suggest to book Bed & Breakfast or Leisure Package, which are included breakfast and with a high cost performance. As Guilin is not a big city, it just takes no more than 30 minutes to the famous scenic spots located in the different directions of the city. Our outside swimming pool does not open until late afternoon is because few people choose it before noon. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the high standard of service we have become known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The hotel provides a beautiful view of the Gum Drop mountains. Service was ok. The buffet breakfast was delicious. A lot of the hotel staff do not speak fluent English. The hotel tries to appeal to families with scheduled activities for children.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Farah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 August 2018

Dear Farah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view, service and buffet breakfast. We do, however, regret to hear " A lot of the hotel staff do not speak fluent English" which caused inconvenience for you. Rest assured that the corrective actions will be taken to rectify the situation and more staff training will be conducted in order to strive for better customer service in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the high standard of service we have become known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews