We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sightseeing tour ”
Review of Cycle Canton

Cycle Canton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cycle Canton offers guided cycle tours from old to new Guangzhou. The 4-hour tour winds through old and lively urban villages where you mingle with locals, to the ultramodern architecture in the new city. The route through downtown Guangzhou is very safe and convenient as it is almost entirely free from cars and mainly follows quaint alleyways, greenways, parks, outdoor markets and riverside boulevards. Go off-the-beaten track with us and discover Guangzhou’s history, culture and lifestyle. You will be surprised by the beauty and fascinating inside stories of this 2,000 year-old city. A reservation is required! Tours take place on any day of the week from 1.20-5.30pm. Costs are 350RMB/person and include everything you need: bike, helmet, guide, water and snacks. Child seats and bikes are available upon request.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bike tour"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 11 reviews
"wet market"
in 5 reviews
"any age"
in 3 reviews
"playing games"
in 4 reviews
"kung fu"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 5 reviews
"local snacks"
in 2 reviews
"nice afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"bram"
in 31 reviews
"ben"
in 43 reviews
"canton"
in 27 reviews
"parts"
in 15 reviews
"bikes"
in 17 reviews
"stories"
in 10 reviews
"pace"
in 7 reviews
"exploration"
in 2 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This tour seems focused on profits at customers’ expense. After arriving to our pre-booked tour, we were told it was cancelled to accommodate a larger group and offered a tour the following day. This was a big planning difficulty for our weekend, but we tried to be good sports. I wrote to the management and was given an “apologies for the situation yesterday.” The next day, we were surprised to be asked to pay in full and after an awkward conversation only offered an $8 discount off the $56 price/person, which met our extra taxi fares. The tour took a great route, but our guide did not speak English well. No one in our party understood why the first school we stopped at was important or what it was for, including after asking. The threads of other stories got lost. We weren’t given time for questions, and when another party asked for water, the guide said she’d forgotten to buy extra. Also, the tour uses cheap public “mobikes” that rent for 1rmb. My butt was sore and my pedals felt about to give out. My bike had an x-rated penis enlargement ad pasted on it. Also, the guide used a lot of English expletives in her speech, but not always appropriately. After writing management again we were refunded one full fare and offered a more heartfelt apology. When paying over 50 usd for a service that uses public bikes, you expect to be treated well. Treating your customers’ time as important, offering apologies and compensation when you don’t deliver, rather than giving it out grudgingly is unprofessional. And when paying so much for an English tour, it should be understandable and clear.

Thank 485Justin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleCanton, Owner at Cycle Canton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Justin,
Thank you very much for your review of the tour with us. Your booking came in for a day we had already planned a tour for a large, private group, of which we had not informed you in time. We deeply apologized for this and have improved our internal booking procedures to prevent this from happening again.
We have also improved our guides’ training and are working with your guide specifically on the service, stories and English ability.
The school you stopped at is one of the Peasant Movement Institutes, a former government school where students were trained and groomed to then become the Mayors and officials of cities in China's countryside. Now a small museum, it was a cooperation between the Nationalist Party, and the Communists, including the very Mao Zedong!
Regarding bikes, we handpick and test the newest and best bikes. We are a passionate group of local and international people, that show our guests around the beautiful and little explored hearts of Guangzhou. We are working hard to improve our guests’ experiences, and hope we may host you again to provide you with a better experience!

Bram van Ooijen, Founder and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I unfortunately had to cancel my tour at the last minute. The team from Canton were very flexible and understanding, to the extent that they refunded the fees in full.

Canton is definitely on the list of things to do for my next visit

Thank RaymondRoesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cycle Canton also viewed

 

Been to Cycle Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing