We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but not apt for english-speaking guests”
Review of Oriental Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oriental Resort
Ranked #1,114 of 3,562 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Stayed at the Oriental Resort for 8 nights in order to attend a conference at the nearby Baiyun Convention Center. I was a little disappointed upon arrival: a booking was made by via the organizing conference committee (which I paid two months in advance), however staff at the front desk was unable to find this reservation, so I had to pay the entire stay once more. Luckily this was settled upon checking out, and the price was very reasonable with an average 45€ per night.
The hotel is nicely situated in a green environment, however quite distant from the nearest subway station (20 min walk) and touristic highlights in Guangzhou, making one dependent upon taxi's to get around (especially when it's 35°C outside). I was quite satisfied with the room, especially with the housekeeping, as the room was spotless when I got back every evening. I must add that housekeeping even exaggerated a bit: every day all the towels were replaced, despite the fact that I put them back on the shelves every single morning. A serious waste of water. Very good A/C, a tad noisy. I would like to point out the lack of sockets in the room: the only one available was right beneath the A/C, and a note on the table kindly requested not to use this one as the A/C sometimes leaked condensation water... so where to charge my phone et cetera? The bed/mattress needs some replacing, as they were hard as a rock. Internet is available in the room via cable only, no wifi. Breakfast was okay, however options were very limited for guests that are not that familiar with the heavy Chinese/Cantonese food in the morning.
My major problem with this hotel was the lack of employees that spoke english adequately: one morning an employee at the front desk did not understand the word 'taxi'... rather difficult to get around like that... Also, upon greeting personnel, they often did not reply at all... Is it that hard to say "Good morning?". Friendliness is mandatory in this business.
A decent place to stay when you need to be in the vicinity of the conference center, however I would not return there when on holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Snullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was wary of some of the reviews of this resort. My wide and I traveled to Guangzhou for a short weekend break and found this hotel to be good value.
The restaurant on site is very good; the scenery nearby is vivid and lush in green colours; the swimming pool is very warm and open late at night for a moonlit paddle. The room (the cheapest double ensuite available) was very cozy, old in decor but enough to be considered homely (all be it, simplified). The bathroom facilities were more than adequate.

The buffet breakfast was very good - catering to a a degree for western and Chinese needs.

The staff were very helpful, and spoke fluent English often. It was very welcoming.

The location is about 15 minutes walk from Baiyun Cultural Square Metro subway station (and only around 15 minutes by Metro from the main railway station/bus stations). It is a simple enough path through the nearby Convention centre and up the long remote drive of the resort itself.

The grounds are pretty, backed into Baiyun Mountain's parkland - which is easily reached on foot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank acton28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

having been forced to stay here again while the Canton Fair is on, and having such poor experiences last time, i was prepared for the worst, but they exeeded even my worst fears. When we arrived, they did not have a room for us, even with a guranteed reservation, and had a terrrible attitude at the front desk.

After two hours they found us a room. While it was quiet and clean, the phone did not work, nor did they seem interested in fixing it. The restuarant has declined in both quality and value. The grounds are beautifully maintained, but they do not make up for all the other things worng with this property. Many other great places to stay in Guangzhou. I would rahter sleep in a park than experience this place again!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank China_pro_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2006

What a difference 18 months makes. Downhill on service, front desk hassles about charges.
Nice place but lacking the staff, appeared greatly downsized, from last visit Results are what you might expect with undersized staff, poor service. Left one week earlier then planned. Recommend elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kingresume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 15 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
5.4 km away
Baiyun Lake Bank Hotel
Baiyun Lake Bank Hotel
#349 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
21 reviews
71.3 km away
Dusit Devarana Hot Springs & Spa Conghua
6.2 km away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#15 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
676 reviews
6.5 km away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#26 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
677 reviews
5.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Resort

Address: No.1068 Baiyun Road, Baiyun District, Guangzhou 510405, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: €34 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Resort Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing