We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Thai experience, but where's the "fusion?!"”
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Tasty enough standard Thai fare (I lived in Bangkok for four years so am familiar with the cuisine), but had hoped for a lively fusion experience, something along the lines of, say, Pad Thai stuffed in a taco shell. That may be a little extreme, but you get where I'm going with this. Barely any mention of "fusion" on the menu even though it's in the restaurant name. A shame. The restaurant décor is exceedingly nice and inviting, and the staff friendly. Parking galore. Easy to find, sandwiched between the old Lowe's Foods and the new Harris Teeter. Chef didn't speak English. A good sign.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephen1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

This place is convenient and food is always great. You can wait a little bit at times as they do get busy, but meals are all cooked to order and spiced right. When Thai is on my mind--Thai Orchid is in the plan!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank timbL19NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The food here is great and beautifully presented. The Chicken Satay and my Pad Woon Sen were delicious. The only problem was that the waitress had difficulty understanding us (probably our thick southern accents), so a couple of items were not as ordered but yummy none the less!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank jillallen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I had never eaten Thai food before and I was pleasantly surprised...the portions were huge and delicious. I ate half and took the other half home for supper. The service was superb and the atmosphere delightful.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank kdmomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Every time we came hear all dishes never changed. Fabulous foods and valuable quantity. Don't miss Panage, Green curry and Massaman (Peanut butter). Great to finish with Sweet mango and stricky rice. Fill like in Thailand...

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phuvadol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing