We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not if you can help it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Angara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Angara
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Irkutsk
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not if you can help it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed in August 2011 as part of the Transmongolian trip with Russia Experience. The room was ok in size and fairly clean. However there was no hot water either in the evening or the folllowing morning which automatically gets a thumbs down from me I'm afraid - provision of basic facilities should be a given. The staff were quite surly (although to be fair to the receptionist she did appear to work 24 hours as she was the only one we ever saw, day or night). When we asked about the hot water someone came up and turned the tap on and off, shrugged and went away - we never saw her again.

Good points - the laundry service, although expensive, was very fast. Also location was very handy for seeing the main part of Irkutsk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    117
    123
    43
    15
See reviews for
19
36
29
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Angara is superbly located -- it faces the main city centre. It is tourist-friendly, has an ATM in the foyer, a popular bar called London Pub.

The rooms are small but functional. It's definitely a soviet-style block of a hotel and part of the charm was to stay in one.

Free wifi in the foyer as well.

Room Tip: As for a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank indianbayrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We paid 3 star rates for a room in Hotel Angara in Irkutsk, East Siberia, via Sokol Tours. We got one that had no air conditioning, dirty gray sheets, dirty floors, a bathroom that was the shower cubicle, a passage way with peeling paper and holes in the wall, no fridge. We were also given a second class dining room for breakfast. There was a masseuse service advertised but the dates, places and times varied with the person asked, so we gave up and didn't have a massage.
I paid for an upgrade and we got a room change. The staff was impolite and badly trained, with the exception of the 4th floor attendant who helped us move to the fifth floor.
To add insult to injury, the hotel charges for left luggage (50r per bag). wireless in the rooms does not work. When we used the Business Center in the Hotel (50r for 30 min), we were blocked from Face Book on the grounds that we were using an illegal service provider.
The ratings below refer to the room we were allocated by Sokol Tours, not to all the rooms in the building.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Irkutsk hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed for one night in Hotel Angara during our Trans-Siberian railroad trip from Moscow to Beijing. We went for lake Baikal in the morning and then returned to the hotel after the trip.

The hotel was pretty basic hotel from the Soviet times, but everything seemed to be working. Paradise bar downstrairs charged huge amounts of money for just a regular beer, but London pub was more decent in their pricing. There was also a pool room in the basement where they had roughly ten tables.

Rooms where ok, no blinds in the windows. Sounds from the street could easily be heard and the matress was terrible. I almost fell between the wall and the bed because of the shaky mattress. The shower worked the wrong way, so that if you put it on warm you got cold water and vice versa.

Nothing really good to say about this hotel, except that the ladies in the reception were really nice and helpfull! No points for cleanliness since this was the first place in Russia where we saw a cochroach.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This place is the worst for customer service in all the hotels we stayed at in Russia. When booking our hotels, we asked for mid-range three star hotels. We paid about $120 for a dingy, smelly, dark room, that was accessed by a dark hallway with very worn carpet and smelled like someone's left-over chicken dinner from a month ago. When we inquired at the front desk for a room change, the very dour woman at reception told us that was what was offered at that price, and if we wanted an upgrade, we'd have to pay significantly more. We did complain to our booking agent, who must've talked to someone: our room was upgraded from the 4th to the 7th floor, on our second and last night. Honestly, it was much better, but no better than perhaps a dumpy Motel 6. If you have to book here, just ask for a room above the 4th floor. The breakfast was bad, awful choices, dark, dingy decor.

Room Tip: Book a room above the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vashongrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Irkutsk City Center
0.9 km away
Hotel Irkutsk
Hotel Irkutsk
#9 of 24 in Irkutsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 km away
International Hotel Sayen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#8 of 24 in Irkutsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.6 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#4 of 24 in Irkutsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 km away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#6 of 24 in Irkutsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angara

Property: Hotel Angara
Address: Sukhe Batora St., 7, Irkutsk 664011, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Irkutsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angara Hotel is located in the very center of business and cultural life of Irkutsk city. We offer 288 rooms of different categories for 455 guests.Except accommodation we are glad to invite you at sauna, billiard's, tourism department (transfer, air- and railway tickets, excursions round city and on lake Baikal, restaurants and bars, conference-hall. At our hotel you will find everything you need for comfortable rest: free wi-fi access, free parking lot, free luggage room, business center,gift shop, chemist's shop, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Angara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angara Hotel Irkutsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing