We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
ZenHotels.com
US$82
View deal
Hotels.comUS$84
PricelineUS$84
eDreamsUS$84
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
599
73
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
73
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mariinsky theatre boutique hotel every request lovely hotel breakfast was delicious canal trinity city taxis cathedral sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2020

The location is very convenient, in particular for Mariinsky Theater; rooms are quiet, cozy and sparkling clean; the staff speaks English (in case you don't speak Russian). I will definitely come again

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 817valeriob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina Atkina, Другое at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear Valerio!

Thank you very much for your review and high evaluation! We are glad to know you found the location of the hotel so convenient, rooms quiet and staff helpful! They all do speak very good English to easily communicate with guests and discuss any topics they like!

Our hotel is perfect for those who plan to visit the Mariinsky Theatre because it's just 5-7 minutes walk.

We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again. Come back in the summer! Our beautiful terrace in the inner-garden will open its doors for our guests.

Best regards, Alina Atkina, Development Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

I would recommend Alexander House to anyone visiting St Petersburg. I was travelling alone and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or more helpful - organising transfers and taxis, printing out maps, providing local information. Communication on email always quick, clear and friendly.
Also, LOVELY hotel - large, elegant communal area upstairs, a good cafe/bar, fantastic buffet breakfast and lovely bedroom. Very comfy bed, immaculately clean, well supplied. On a pretty canal, short walk from Mariinsky Theatre. Would - will! - definitely go back.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CHNW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina Atkina, Другое at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear CHNW10,

Thank you very much for your warm review!

We are truly happy you felt so comfortable during your stay. We always do our best to help guests with all the details in their trip organization.

Also, it is good to know you found the interiors of Alexander House so lovely with spacious clean and well-supplied areas. We do proud of our breakfast buffet and are happy you enjoyed it as well!

We are looking forward to your return! You know that it takes about 5-7 minutes to walk to the Mariinsky Theatre so it is always a great idea to have a glass of sparkling wine on the terrace before the performance or to have a hot dinner in front of our fireplace after it!

Best regards, Alina Atkina, Development Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

I was happy to return to Alexander House after a fabulous stay last year. The staff are most welcoming and helpful and you are made to feel at home immediately. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable, and the breakfast is worth a trip to St Petersburg alone. I was in the city for the Mariinsky theatre which a short and easy 10 mins walk. I had feared poor weather in February and was prepared to spend much of the trip in doors, thankfully I was able to enjoy the sights but the alternative of spending time in the lounge with a good book would have been a pleasure. I am very much hoping to return again in the near future.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandybT2458JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina Atkina, Другое at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear mandybT2458JC,

We are delighted to read such a warm review, thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are happy to know that you came back to us and that this stay was no less fabulous as last year.

One of our purposes is to make each guest feel at home and we are glad you felt this was too!

Unfortunately, most of the time the winter in Saint Petersburg is poor but luckily we have the charming fireplaces where guests can get warm sitting in front of it and drinking a glass of mulled wine!

We are waiting for your return as well as you do and hope to see you very soon! Believe us, in summer your stay is going to be even more fabulous due to our beautiful open terrace with flowery greenery and warm sunny weather of-course:)

Best regards, Alina Atkina, Development Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020

This hotel is fantastic: room are very accurately designed and spacious. Our room had a wonderful view on the Trinity cathedral. Breakfast was delicious and freshly made everyday; we had dinner once and we enjoyed as well the food in the restaurant. The hotel is perfectly located to explore the city and the staff is very helpful and ready to satisfy every request or need for help. We had a wonderful time in St Petersburg and we HIGHLY recommend to stay at the Alexander House. Thanks for everything!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alessia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina P, Development Manager at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Dear Alessia!

It is a pleasure for us to read such a warm review! We are happy that your stay was simply perfect due to spacious room with a great view, delicious breakfasts, helpful staff, and a good location.

We hope you had a full exploration of the city. If not you know now where to stay next time :)

You are always welcome at the Alexander House Hotel! Best regards, Alina Atkina, Development Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

After just returning from a trip to St Petersburg, I felt compelled that I just had to inform other fellow travellers about the little gem of a hotel ~ 4* Alexander House.
From the minute that we stepped into the building to when we got into the taxi for our return journey to the airport, one is made to feel so very special. Almost like being family. Nothing was too much trouble ~ the staff incredibly helpful , personable and so very helpful. Necessary phone calls on our behalf made: taxis booked: guidance with map reading and various good recommendations made.
The Aleander being a Boutique Hotel was an incredibly interesting place to stay. Beautiful library, an interesting lounge with enormous log fire and likewise in the dining room/bar area. Our room and bathroom were spacious ~ full of character and spotlessly clean. Facilities excellent.
Probably the only negative comment that I can make is that I felt that an anti slip mat should be placed in the large shower.
If, and I hope so, I ever have the opportunity to visit St Petersburg again, I would not have the slightest hesitation in booking to stay at Alexander House.
Thank you to all iof you for a most memorable stay.

Room tip: Every room is different as it is a Boutique hotel.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina P, Development Manager at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Marcia,

Your review was a big pleasure to read, thank you so much for that! It is delightful to know we made your stay so memorable and you had a feeling of being surrounded by family members. One of our main goals is to make each guest feel special, feel the personable attitude of our staff.

And thank you for the recommendation about an anti-slip mat!

We are waiting for your comeback and hope to see you very soon! Believe me, in summer your stay is going to be no less memorable because of our beautiful open terrace with flowery greenery :)

Best regards,

Alina Atkina, Development Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews