We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pushka Inn Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Akyan St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
US$182
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Regina(St. Petersburg)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Moyka 5(St. Petersburg)
US$106
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Nevskiy Hotel Aster(St. Petersburg)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$143
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Nevsky Contour Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$78
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$169
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$429
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
538
70
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
70
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmariinsky theatreboutique hotelbali roomhome from homesmall hotelyusupov palaceminute walkquiet locationlovely hotelguest housenearest metrobreakfast was deliciousporridgepublic transportnice bathroomspoke good englishby foot
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I chose Alexander House Boutique Hotel as it has many good feedback and the option of a 2-bedroom apartment. Arriving at St Petersburg’s Moscow Railway Station, we had wanted to take a taxi but the taxi drivers quoted us 2000 rubles for each taxi which we declined. My family of 4 with 4 large pieces of luggage so we had to take 2 vehicles. Fortunately, we checked with Uber app and discovered UberX ride to the hotel will cost us about 180 rubles each! The 4 of us used UberX throughout our weeklong stay in St Petersburg. It is cheaper than even bus and definitely more convenient.

Alexander House Boutique Hotel was a reconstructed 19th century building with 20 different rooms - all named after famous cities. We stayed in Barcelona room for a week. It was a 2-bedroom apartment with a small kitchenette. The hotel was not centrally located but the neighborhood was quiet and peaceful which we preferred to the hustle of city centre. It was very near St Nicholas Naval Cathedral and walkable to Mariinsky Theatre, Central Naval Museum and Yusupov Palace.

The hotel exuded a warm and homely feeling and the reception staff gave us a very welcoming service. We felt right at home immediately. The Barcelona 2-bedroom apartment was beautiful, clean and spacious - the kind that you would love staying the whole day in. It was decorated with a Spanish theme - decorative Don Quixote ceramic plates and bull fighting paintings.

The 4 of us shared a single bathroom which meant it took a bit longer before we could all be ready to venture out. The good point was the heated floor of the bathroom. There was a bidet as well. The small kitchenette came equipped with cooking utensils and a mini refrigerator. The wifi signal was strong and easy to log on. The apartment was equipped with 3 small TVs and there are many channels to select. We had a thoroughly comfortable sleep.

Outside the rooms at Level 3, there was a big common area for reading or watching DVD. At level 2, there was another common area with nice sofa, conference table and business centre. Breakfast buffet spread had a limited variety due to the small number of guests but the quality was very good. There are cooked food like porridge, pancake and eggs which can be ordered. Service was tip top and courteous.

The staff were all very friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. We had dinner at the hotel’s restaurant and it was very delicious. I would especially recommend the baked sea bass. There was a supermarket nearby.
Absolutely faultless!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Allkuans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Allkuans,
Thank you for choosing "Alexander House" during your visit to Saint-Petersburg and your very detailed review. We are happy to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us!
Our hotel is located in an old mansion in one of the most charming parts of the city - Kolomna district. Guests can take walks along the picturesque canals, enjoying the most beautiful samples of old Petersburg architecture.
In Alexander House there are common areas where guests can relax in a home like atmosphere. Feel free to spend an evening in the sitting room with a fireplace during winter time or enjoy a glass of wine in our green patio in summer. Library with books and DVD and business centre are also at guests' disposal.
Barcelona Apartment is a top choice for families or companies travelling together as it offers 2 bedrooms, spacious common area and a kitchenette.
We are indeed proud of our breakfast which has lots of tasty options: cold cuts, hot dishes, home made bakery and freshly brewed coffee. Our restaurant is open 24 hours so that the guests can enjoy Russian and European cuisine even late at night after visiting a performance at Mariinsky theatre.
We will be happy to see you, your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Nice and friendly hotel staff. No matter what you need they assisting as good as possible. Nice rooms, clean, With different styles. A lot of free services (tea, business room, wlan). Also good for a nice dinner in front of the chimney or a decent and good breakfast.
Close to center and mains greet nievsky Prospekt.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank ausriaccman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear ausriaccman,
Thank you for choosing Alexander House and writing a review!
Our team is doing it's best to make your stay most comfortable and pleasant. All our rooms are named after the world's biggest cities and designed accordingly, which makes your stay at Alexander House a enjoyable experience.
Free W-Fi/wlan and business room with a laptop are a helpful feature both for tourists and for business travellers.
We are indeed proud of our breakfast which has lots of tasty options: cold cuts, hot dishes, home made bakery and freshly brewed coffee. Our restaurant is open 24 hours offering a tasty meal at the live fireplace at winter and in the green patio during warm season.
We will be glad to welcome you back any time in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a family with a child in “Helsinki” room. Wonderful experience! Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Lot of beautiful public space to spend time outside the room. The room itself was clean, light and airy, with very interesting view. We had dinner and breakfast at house - both were very delicious. We loved the idea of menu: few positions, classic style, high quality.
The area around the hotel is our favorite part of St. Petersburg.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Anton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Anton V,
Thank you for choosing "Alexander House" during you visit to Saint-Petersburg and you review. We are happy to hear that it was a wonderful experience to you!
Our hotel is located in an old mansion, with lots of common areas where guests can relax in a home like atmosphere. Feel free to spend an evening in the sitting room with a fireplace or enjoy a glass of wine in our patio.
We are indeed proud of our breakfast which has lots of tasty options: cold cuts, hot dishes, home made bakery and freshly brewed coffee. Our restaurant is open 24 hours so that the guests can enjoy Russian and European cuisine even late at night after visiting a performance at Mariinsky theatre.
We will be glad to welcome you back any time in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We have stayed in many hotels around Europe from cheap bed and breakfasts to luxury castles and mansions. Alexander House is undoubtedly up there with the best. There is little to add to previous 'excellent' reviews, as it has already been said. The room (St. Petersburg) felt luxurious. The meals were delicious and plentiful. The staff were a delight and so attentive, constantly on the look out for how they could help. They even offered to light a fire for us specially in the first floor public room. We had an early start on our last day; had we known to ask, they would have prepared a take away breakfast. We couldn't fault a thing. What a wonderful example you are of Russian hospitality - you are a credit to your nation. Thank you very, very much, from two British tourists.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlanCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear AlanCotswoldsUK,
Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review! We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and made your visit to St Petersburg an exceptional experience. This is our permanent intention to show the best of Russian hospitality and to make the visit to Russia an easy and pleasant experience for our guests from abroad.
Looking forward to welcoming you back some day in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I have just spent another three weeks in St Petersburg and I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere in the city but Alexander House. It is comfortable, the staff are extraordinary in their niceness and desire to make you as happy as possible, the food is good and reasonably priced (and available 24/7), the area is attractive and very pleasant, and the hotel is seven minutes walk from the Mariinsky Theatre. Thank you again Alexander House!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank operamuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Operamuso,
Thank you for taking time to write these warm and pleasant words. We are always glad to welcome you at Alexander House and it's our main goal to make your stay most comfortable and happy.
Look forward to seeing you during next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews