We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
503
66
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
66
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mariinsky theatre boutique hotel bali room home from home yusupov palace minute walk small hotel quiet location nearest metro lovely hotel breakfast was delicious public transport porridge nice bathroom spoke good english by foot special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

It's rare to find absolutely nothing negative to say about a living place. We came to explore the old city centre. We had walking distance to all major attractions on this side of the river (15-45 minutes). The Mariinsky is just down the street, or rather, the canal. The stylish, old house is situated in a quite street, no noise night or day. The staff is super-friendly and helpful with good English. We felt they sincerely wanted all our best. All rooms have different interior. We choose Deluxe with spacious living room and bath room. It felt fresh and clean. Very good value for money. Food was very good. Service 24 hours. Fireplaces in the evenings (this was winter). Can highly recommend to all good people. Staying here was a considerable contribution to make a very pleasant stay in St Petersburg. It's a truly rare find!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dagtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Dagtj,
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we were really happy to welcome you as our guests. All our staff are eager to make the guest feel most comfortable.
Our location in the historical centre of St Petersburg is perfect to take pleasant walks along the picturesque canals and enjoy old architecture.
We welcome you back during your next trip to St Petersburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We were considering to stay at other place purely based on interieur design point of view ( like modern places) but so happy we stayed here!
From the moment we stepped in we felt very welcome and taken care of. We chose Helsinki room and were not disappointed. Room is big, combination of living and sleeping spaces. Very cosy and comfortable. This room looks like it was recently remodelled and they did a great job. Even though bathroom might look a little bit outdated but it is super clean, has heated floor and so the whole room experience was just perfect.
The only negative for us that room temperature, which was very warm. We slept with open window during winter.... Waste of energy and we could not find thermostat to put heating on lower temperature. It is an old house, so might be the case where they have central heating. At least you won't get cold during winter time in this place!
Breakfast was great! There is good combination of russian food and some western type food. Great quality! Food at restaurant was delicious too.
People working here make this place special! Very friendly, helpful. As well, all emails were promptly responded...
Location was for us great too. It is not in the middle of center so did not feel as touristy as center of the town.
I will definitely return to St Petersburg and will be happy to stay in Alexander House.
Russian hospitality at it's best!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Arturas,
Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review, we were really happy to have you our guests.
We constantly renovate our rooms one by one and Helsinki is one of the rooms recently remodelled. As Alexander House is located in an old historical mansion, some technical reconstructions are not possible.Still we can lower the general heating so fell free to contact the reception in case of any inconvenience.
We are really proud of our breakfast with it's home made bakery, variety of hot and cold dishes - this is a perfect start of the day.
Our location in the historical centre of St Petersburg allows to take pleasant walks along the picturesque canals and old architecture samples.
We welcome you back during your next trip to St Petersburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Alexander House is highly recommended for it's staff, cleanliness, location and meals. It was extremely comformtable and the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable-and they achieved it. I wouldn't recommend you stay anywhere else in St Petersburg. The hotel organised transport and a private walking tour for us by one of their fabulous staff. Everything about it was a dream come true

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank applesandpoppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear applesandpoppies,
We thank you for choosing Alexander House during your trip to St Petersburg and for taking time to write this review! We are happy to hear that we helped make your stay comfortable and memorable - that is our main intention. For the comfort of our guests we offer various tourist services such as transfers, private guided tours and excursions.
We will be glad to welcome you back during your next trip to Russia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

The staff of the hotel were wonderful. I had a full walk through and historic tour of the building. I was given insight into the old owner and the depth of history of the guest house. The decor was unique, with pieces of art and sculpture form all around the world. The staff were very friendly anda accommodating, allowing me to check in early.

I cannot say how amazing the experience was, made so much more incredible by the staff and their considerate and polite behaviour.

Thank you for making a once in a life time experience to pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Peter S,
Let me thank you for your warm words and your high evaluation of our services. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was the most beautiful experience of your life. This is what we keep striving for - making our guests happy and relaxed from the moment they step into our house.
We look forward to welcoming you back some day in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I loved my stay at Alexander House. This charming hotel was so enchanting. The beautiful decor was colorful and so tastefully executed. Everywhere you looked was a visual feast. The hotel was renovated in a manner that preserved the historical spirit of the building. Many areas of the hotel showcased the original bricks and beams. These lovely old features were then enhanced by iconic artwork and beautiful furniture. The bathrooms were all modern and nicely appointed. My room was spacious. There were many comfortable places to sit and relax along with a cozy sleeping area. There was also, free internet a flat screen tv and a mini-refrigerator stocked with a variety of beverages and snacks and a complementary bottle of water. I was impressed. with how spotlessly clean the entire establishment was kept. There was also a restaurant in the hotel that provided room service. The breakfast buffet was substantial. Every morning there was a variety of meats, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, breads and pastries. Eggs, omelets, hot cereals and pancakes were made to order. The food was all fresh and delicious. They also had a good selection of coffee, teas and juices. The Alexander House staff was exceptional. Every staff person I met was friendly and enthusiastic about providing great service. I must commend two of the best, Daniel and Helen (Americanized versions of their names). They were a gift to this solo traveler. I met them both on the day of my arrival. After a brief conversation they were able to predict all types of things that would enhance my experience in St. Petersburg. Helen found an English language cooking class for me and Daniel knows many great restaurants. They did so many things for me that were beyond their call of duty. I highly recommend this hotel. I would happily stay at Alexander House again.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Demi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Директор по продажам at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Demi W,
We would like to thank you for choosing Alexander House and your detailed review of our services. We are so much happy to hear your stay with us left such positive impressions. We are indeed proud of our staff who are eager to make our guests happy and comfortable with booking restaurants, museums, tours, places of interest.
Our breakfast is a perfect start of the day offering variety of hot dishes, home made bakery and freshly brewed coffee.
The hotel is located in the old mansion, which was renovated preserving the original details and it's location in the historical heart of the city is the perfect start point of exploring Saint Petersburg.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews