We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay near the center of Saint Petersburg”
Review of Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Ranked #238 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Comfortable and Nice. You get wat you pay for. The best of the hotel is the bar which is in the top floor.
There is an entrance direct to the shopping next door.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_Argentina_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Dostoyevskiy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 155 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is a definite place of you are looking for reasonable value for money. Location is quite good, 5 minutes from Fontanka and 5 minutes from Nefsky. Rooms are quite good, they are on the small size but adequate and clean. I did not use the bar or restaurant and there are many coffee shops etc very close by with ice coffee, pastries etc. Hotel is located by small shopping centre and an excellent supermarket. Would stay here again just because the staff make the difference. No wifi except in bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: If you need wifi ask for one which receives the free wifi from the bar or restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel in November 2011 and found everything satisfactory. My room (6th floor) didn’t have wireless broadband but when I asked at Reception they told me there was free access in the bar on the 7th floor, which has views over the floodlit Vladimir Church opposite. The drinks weren’t cheap there but one morning I told them I had just come to use the internet and they were quite happy with that.
The staff on Reception were very helpful tracking down my tour group when they left without me!
It's a 5 minute walk to Nevsky Prospekt, but it takes a further 20-30 minutes to get to the Hermitage and St Isaac's Cathedral.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeliaH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My mother and I stayed here for 7 nights. Firstly when we arrived from previous week in Moscow where we never encountered the "visa registration" fee, we were charged it here. There was no warm greeting just the request for our passport. I couldn't understand the room number due to the way it was written. Our room was the standard room i think there are people in prison who would call this small. Then the beds or should I say hammocks! The hot water and pressure is good though. Like others I totally agree, the breakfast is abysmal. Only thing edible is fruit yogurt and cereal. The reception staff are very aloof. The doorman is just a decoration.

Close to Dostoevsky museum. And walking distance to the main atttactions.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Excessbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.

The most positive point is the location. Very near Nevsky Prospekt, the main street, so all major sites are very accessible by walk.

The hotel is in the middle of a big shopping center, with a supermarket, coffee shops, restaurants, etc. You can access the shopping center by the hotel, no need to go outside, and you can come back with your room card.

The first room we got had a view on the shopping center, with a fake window so no view or access on the outside. The room was very hot and A/C was not working. We tried to sleep anyway but it was really too hot (even though it was October and around 5 degrees celcius outside) and we were feeling kind of sick, like we were missing air. So a 1:00 a.m. we went to the front desk. They changed our room immediatly and we got one with no A/C but with a window that would open on the oustide !! We really got a good service, even in the middle of the night, and were very pleased with our new room. Simply decorated, soft bed, TV, small refrigerator, shower (no bath), very clean, nice wooden floor...

The breakfast at the Dostoevsky restaurant was average but not bad (pancakes, eggs, meats, fresh fruits, etc.) We didn't try the restaurant for other meals but we've been told by another couple that it was not good at all.

There's a business center on the 5th floor, next to the restaurant, but it was always closed. There, if opened, you would pay 4.5 Rub per minute. We found an Internet Cafe (5 minutes walking). When you exit the hotel, go to your left and walk until Nevsky Prospekt, then go to your right and cross the street... It's called Max and you pay 70 Rub for 35 minutes.

I would stay there again but if possible, ask for a room with a window that opens !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Picouline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#63 of 357 in St. Petersburg
434 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 357 in St. Petersburg
804 reviews
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#41 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aston Hotel
#33 of 357 in St. Petersburg
447 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#16 of 357 in St. Petersburg
748 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#67 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostoyevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: €45 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoyevskiy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dostoyevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing