We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
37
21
7
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
21
7
7
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Let's start with the good things.

The location was fantastic at about a 5 minute walk from the Hermitage and just off of Nevsikiy Prospect as well as right on the Moika Stream. Wonderful location.

The staff was friendly, nice, and accommodating. They are happy to help with excursions (at reasonable prices) and speak English well.

It was interesting to stay in a former communal apartment. I think some guests might be surprised if they are expecting a typical hotel experience.

OK things:

The breakfast was fine and not as bad as other comments here suggest.
It's not amazing but it is good enough.
Tea and coffee any time of the day in the kitchen is a nice bonus.

The room itself is fine. Neither good nor bad.

Bad thing:
The wifi never worked in the room even after many requests and reminders (I was often told the router would be reset). It is a pain to go to the kitchen for wifi every time. Apparently the room I stayed in never has good wifi coverage which I think is unacceptable when the ad reads that all rooms have wifi. This spoiled an otherwise pleasant stay because we needed wifi throughout our trip and it was a hassle to continually worry about it.

Room Tip: Room 8 never seemed to have a wifi connection.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Location good near main shopping road NEwsky,entrance ...poor,unclean and lift from last centaury,i even affraided it. Reception on 3rd floor..room small but about ok.breakfast room among reception serverad as receptionist...one of the worst breakfast i have been eating..not even coffee...small and dark place.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Best thing is its excellence location on banks of Moika with all attractions at a walking distance. The family room was spacious with a nice and clean bathroom. Ladies at the reception were not very fluent in English but they understood what we wanted. On the whole, we enjoyed our stay here. The only thing to be careful is to have your limited menu breakfast in time otherwise, you end up having just coffee. Wifi had limited connectivity in our room that was the only dampener

Room Tip: Excellence location value for money
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish1chandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIvanov42, Управляющий at Residence Moika Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Guest!
Thanks for your feedback! We are very pleased to read the kind words addressed to our hotel and to our staff. As for the breakfast, upon arrival we inform guests that the breakfast take place from 8 to 10 am. You are welcome to visit our hotel again!
Best regards, Jane, hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Centrally located, nice boutique hotel with nice room if you take the most expensive one..hot breakfast is Russian style and wifi was poor.. staff very helpful to organise taxi, booking events and restaurants.. highly recommend. nice quality price, quiet room also.

Room Tip: had room 7 .. awesome!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_French_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My bf and i were in this hotel for 6 nights and frankly to say we were diappointed. Because when we were choosing the hotel on the web there were nice pictures of it and we couldn't imagine that it's just a flat which was redone to be a 'hotel'. Actually it's a kind of 'komunalka', many rooms and one dining room for all visitors, with the only difference that you have in your room a small bathroom without conditioning.
When we came to make a check in there was an unfriendly blonde girl on the reception who offered us a separate beds room as if we were a retired couple! And when i asked to change the room she was not about to do anything. Only due to another girl we changed the room.
In adition there is no sound isolation. We could hear every word of the russian neighbours!
Another diappointing moment was the lack of the food for breakfast. You had to wake up at 7 a.m in order to find smth. to eat because at 9 a.m you may not find it.
The only plus of this 'hotel' is the location. It's indeed 3 mins. away from the Winter palace and almost on Nevskyy prospect.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank vikki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews