We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
66
73
67
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
73
67
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese tourists small refrigerators rush hour sea view soviet times one night rid hill
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Nice little cheap hotel, english speaking staff, nothing to worry here. Breakfast is ok, an they have a little kiosk in the lobby.

WiFi is very slow, even for russian standard. Plus I did not have luck with the the room: There are some with a nice view, but not mine:-(

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jascheissdiewandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, and for your feedback. We are sincerely glad to hear that you have pleasant memories of your trip. Please let us know about your next visit, and we will be happy to offer you a room overlooking the Amur Bay, which you so highly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you again soon in the Hotel Equator!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The Equator Hotel (Otel' Ekvator) dates from the Soviet period, and this shows in any number of ways. During Soviet times, the government had ambiguous feelings about how much it wanted tourists to interact with locals, and it often put hotels in odd locations to isolate them. The Equator sits on a hill in the middle of a block maybe 800 m from Vladivostok’s central city. The mid-block location reflects Soviet planning’s disdain for traditional urban blocks. The hotel’s rather modest (or, actually, borderline grubby!) entrance and lobby also reflect Soviet aesthetic preferences, and so (one could argue) do the smallish rooms.

But, in fact, the hotel has gotten away from its Soviet heritage in so far as it could. Staff members are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are generous and of good quality. The rooms include small refrigerators. And there has apparently been a serious attempt to rid the hotel of the stale-smoke smell that is near-universal in Soviet-era buildings. I ended up with a very positive feeling about this hotel.

My views may be colored by the fact that I followed the advice of some other reviewers and booked one of the upper-floor sea-view rooms. The view was wonderful, but the room, with taxes and prepaid breakfasts, cost a little more than $100 a night, a lot more than the $31 charge you see quoted when you first ask about this hotel on booking sites. I found the extra price worth it.

Room Tip: Upper floors apparently better.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear wintersc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel popular with tourists from neighbouring China. The room standard is different on different flours. The building itself is from Soviet times. No elevator from the lobby. You have to carry your bags up to the second flour to take elevator from there. Everyone is very nice. The rooms on the 9th floor are basic, but charming and the sea view is stunning. Vladivostok has a deficit of hotels and the existing ones are not getting enough competition. The location is perfect for exploring the city, but might be difficult to get to in rush hour. I've stayed in different hotels in this town. If options like Azimut are fully booked I would recommend this one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank withpanamahaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback!
I hope we will have chance to welcome you back in our hotel and to provide you with quite accommodation. Should you have further plans to visit Vladivostok again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly through:

With best regards,

Ekaterina Kolitenko
Hotel Manager
ekolitenko@hotelequator.ru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The hotel structure is a typical Soviet architecture. Its huge but aptly maintained. I stayed in a single room with an ocean view. It's a very nice hotel for business travelers and the city is also very lively.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better..
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pratik_bhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback!
Indeed, currently maintenance is in progress and we apologize for inconvenience caused. Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Ekaterina Kolitenko
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

The standard room was fine to stay for a few days for a single traveler with reasonable budget. I was satisfied with the laundry service which included running shoes. The hotel concierge was terrific! The ladies at the desk were real nice and kind taking care of me like a friend. Those girls made my trip so special and memorable. It was a good accommodation if it were not some smelly corridor.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JiA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

We are very glad that you visited our hotel and you had pleasant impressions about the time spent with us! Thank you for your feedback and look forward to visiting! If you are planning a trip to Vladivostok, the hotel "Equator" will happily take care of your stay!
Sincerely, Julia Romadanova, Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews