We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Hotel Equator

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Equator
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Vladivostok
Reviewed 28 October 2017

When we arrived in the morning, we were greeted by a sea of chinese tourists at the lobby. Seems a popular place for chinese tour groups. It did not bother us at all, except for the loud conversations. We could not managed to get an early checkin so we left out luggages in the bag storage area and went out looking for a cafe to get some breakfast. Most cafes only open at 9am, but we found Studio which was opened before 9am.
I was lucky to get an upgrade to a double room on the 7th floor, which is a newly renovated floor with nicely furnished clean room. It was huge, it came with a sitting area and bedroom. bathroom was modern and big. My friend was not so lucky on the higher floor, 8th floor. We paid for a sea-view room and we did get sea-view, it was nice to be able to open the window and get fresh air.
Staffs cleaning the room, did a good job, they were very thorough and arranged everything nicely. Staffs at the reception were a bit slow in checking us in but were helpful thereafter when we had queries.
Breakfast spread was basic, you could try your luck with asking for fried eggs.. we were successful on the first breakfast and not so on the second day. To beat the breakfast tour groups, go after 9am.
Location of the hotel is good, walkable distance to the main street with lots of cafes and shopping places. On our last evening there was no water.. something happened to the water line in the city (that was what we were told) so we went out for supper, by the time we returned, it was all good.
Oh yes, you have to carry your bags from the reception on stairs to the second floor where the lifts take you to the room.. one staff helped us with our bags on the day we were checking out.. the hotel should seriously consider an escalator from the reception to the second floor... or a luggage-friendly slope or ramp

Room Tip: 7th floor with newly renovated rooms and common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zing Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Nice little cheap hotel, english speaking staff, nothing to worry here. Breakfast is ok, an they have a little kiosk in the lobby.

WiFi is very slow, even for russian standard. Plus I did not have luck with the the room: There are some with a nice view, but not mine:-(

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jascheissdiewandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, and for your feedback. We are sincerely glad to hear that you have pleasant memories of your trip. Please let us know about your next visit, and we will be happy to offer you a room overlooking the Amur Bay, which you so highly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you again soon in the Hotel Equator!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The Equator Hotel (Otel' Ekvator) dates from the Soviet period, and this shows in any number of ways. During Soviet times, the government had ambiguous feelings about how much it wanted tourists to interact with locals, and it often put hotels in odd locations to isolate them. The Equator sits on a hill in the middle of a block maybe 800 m from Vladivostok’s central city. The mid-block location reflects Soviet planning’s disdain for traditional urban blocks. The hotel’s rather modest (or, actually, borderline grubby!) entrance and lobby also reflect Soviet aesthetic preferences, and so (one could argue) do the smallish rooms.

But, in fact, the hotel has gotten away from its Soviet heritage in so far as it could. Staff members are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are generous and of good quality. The rooms include small refrigerators. And there has apparently been a serious attempt to rid the hotel of the stale-smoke smell that is near-universal in Soviet-era buildings. I ended up with a very positive feeling about this hotel.

My views may be colored by the fact that I followed the advice of some other reviewers and booked one of the upper-floor sea-view rooms. The view was wonderful, but the room, with taxes and prepaid breakfasts, cost a little more than $100 a night, a lot more than the $31 charge you see quoted when you first ask about this hotel on booking sites. I found the extra price worth it.

Room Tip: Upper floors apparently better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear wintersc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel popular with tourists from neighbouring China. The room standard is different on different flours. The building itself is from Soviet times. No elevator from the lobby. You have to carry your bags up to the second flour to take elevator from there. Everyone is very nice. The rooms on the 9th floor are basic, but charming and the sea view is stunning. Vladivostok has a deficit of hotels and the existing ones are not getting enough competition. The location is perfect for exploring the city, but might be difficult to get to in rush hour. I've stayed in different hotels in this town. If options like Azimut are fully booked I would recommend this one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank withpanamahaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback!
I hope we will have chance to welcome you back in our hotel and to provide you with quite accommodation. Should you have further plans to visit Vladivostok again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly through:

With best regards,

Ekaterina Kolitenko
Hotel Manager
ekolitenko@hotelequator.ru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The hotel structure is a typical Soviet architecture. Its huge but aptly maintained. I stayed in a single room with an ocean view. It's a very nice hotel for business travelers and the city is also very lively.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pratik_bhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterina K, Управляющий at Hotel Equator, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback!
Indeed, currently maintenance is in progress and we apologize for inconvenience caused. Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Ekaterina Kolitenko
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vladivostok hotels
0.2 km away
AZIMUT Hotel Vladivostok
AZIMUT Hotel Vladivostok
#1 of 33 in Vladivostok
1,099 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Zhemchuzhina
Hotel Zhemchuzhina
#7 of 33 in Vladivostok
387 reviews
1.2 km away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#14 of 33 in Vladivostok
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Teplo
Teplo
#6 of 33 in Vladivostok
103 reviews
1 km away
Sibirskoe Podvorie
Sibirskoe Podvorie
#11 of 33 in Vladivostok
164 reviews
2.4 km away
Astoria
Astoria
#2 of 33 in Vladivostok
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equator

Address: Naberezhnaya St., 20, Vladivostok 690091, Russia
Region: Russia > Far Eastern District > Primorsky Krai > Vladivostok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Vladivostok
Price Range: €25 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Equator 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea side of Amur Bay, just in the City Center within walking distance to main business venues and city attractions. Equator is good choice for business travelers looking for comfortable rooms,high speed Wi-Fi and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Equator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing