We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
13
20
13
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
20
13
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator rooms are large perfect location opera house offer breakfast pedestrian street hot water bathtub noise heating
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017

The hotel is centrally located, all major sights are 10 minutes away by foot. The rooms are average but comfortable. But there is a major problem with the noise levels. The walls are thin and you here everything happening in the next room. Additionally, there is a bar downstairs where a lot of people hang out until the early morning. So basically you have drunk people screaming under your window the whole night. The reception does not/cannot do anything about it. For three consecutive nights it was impossible to get any sleep. For this reason I would not recommend to anyone to stay there.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mucunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

If you want to visit Timisoara, hotel Victoria is a good place to stay because it is literally in the city center. But this also means there is no parking space to reserve or to use in the name of the hotel. You can park on street( where in free from 5pm to 8 am) but in the day time you must send and SMS to pay for the space. There are some large signs explaining the process.
The hotel is in an old building, restored. The rooms are large and clean with sparse decoration and furniture.
The bathroom is large but that is all. The space is not used properly and the bathtub looks dirty.
The staff was not helpful regarding the parking but, as I said , the signs are useful.
They offer breakfast but we didn't try it.
Everything from restaurants to old buildings to visit are in walking distance so this is the main advantage for staying in hotel Victoria.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank danielaticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated for the city centre (though note, it's on a pedestrian street so a taxi will drop you a one minute walk away). The building and its staircase is grand and old style, though the rooms are plain and a little dated. However, the beds were comfortable, the room clean and the bathroom decent. TV, mini bar, good heating, hot water and aircon. In short, unglamorous but good value.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tomemportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

I stayed in the Hotel Victoria in January 2017. My room was large and comfortable in most ways. There was some visible need for better cleaning. This could be easily attended to. The breakfast was a bit disappointing. Service at the front desk was spotty, mainly since the desk person was also tasked with getting up breakfast and other jobs. I had the impression this hotel was understaffed. It is true, there is no elevator. The building is a really spectacular old building that would really shine with a makeover. The location is as other reviewers have noted: perfect for the city center of Timisoara. Equidistant from Liberty Square and Victoria Square. So, entirely livable, but even with the great location figured in, a fairly weak average.

Room tip: Something on the interior will be quieter, I think.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navigator1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

One of those English guidebooks says, sparingly, that the Victoria Hotel is "... located in a lovely old building with large if fairly bare rooms, but no lift." And I agree. The ceilings must be more than 12 feet high, and the room is massive, with two casement windows to the street. The rooms are kept clean, but the furniture and bathroom decor is utilitarian. The hotel interior has the bones of French elegance...but is crying out for some sprucing up and new carpet... After a $10 million reno, this hotel might be going for $250 a night in three years...but now you can walk up the stairs and pay a fraction of that. Incidentally, on the reports of noise...let me say that the pub door was right below my window. I heard a bit as people were lining up to get in...but didn't hear much if any music once the evening got going, and slept fine.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews