We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Simple but Comfy"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagobo House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bagobo House Hotel
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Quezon City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Simple but Comfy"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is my 4th stay at Bagobo House Hotel and wouldn’t be my last.

This is a “simple” hotel yet it provides customers the basic necessities in a hotel such as individually controlled air-condition, hot and cold shower, cable tv, closet w/ working table and a refrigerator. I know that there are newly opened hotels in Davao City with better interiors but Bagobo House Hotel has its “unique” advantages namely:

Comfortable Mattress – as attested by my superior who said that the bed is neither hard nor soft which is to his and my liking.

Location – in my honest opinion, nothing beats the location of BHH as it is a stone’s throw away from Gaisano Supermarket, a number of Fastfood chains, People’s Park (which is in front of APO View Hotel), Davao Doctors Hospital and Toryano’s Chicken House (Native Chicken at its best).

Staff – accommodating and helpful which is very important to me. I was supposed to travel by land to CDO fr. Davao during my first stay but they advised me to abandon the idea as travel time is approximately 6 hrs. so I called up ofc. & requested them to book me a flight instead.

Flexibility - one of the factors that always sway me to stay in BHH is their openness to allow me to check-in earlier and at the same time check-out beyond than the official time. Likewise, appreciate the honesty of all staff member in keeping my luggage safe & intact as I had to attend mtg. though I had already billed-out.

The following however are room for improvement that Mgmt. should look into:

Beddings – one of my beef with BHH are the “old” blankets and pillow cases that they use, which to me exudes uncleanliness.

Pillows – I maybe vain but how I wish they could provide their customers with bigger and sturdier pillows to make the sleep quality even better.

Foot Towel – I noticed that this particular “extra” was absent during my previous & last stay. Again, am kinda OC with water seeping out of the shower area and I appreciated the fact that they initially provided foot towels in my room.

Having enumerated both the pos. & neg. factors of BHH, you would be surprised that the tariff for each room is within reach of an ordinary traveler. A deluxe room only costs P1400.00, which is far more affordable than its competitors within the same area. I would definitely be back as I had already booked my overnight stay with BHH for May 08 to 09. Likewise, each room comes with free breakfast which for me is satisfactory given the price range but I would prefer that the menu be expanded.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Rooms directly in front of Duterte St. if you prefer a better sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank decarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Laguna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The staff from the reservations to the front desk were all friendly and accommodating. I asked a room beside or near my friend's who booked earlier than me and they accommodated my request. Plus, I had the luck to stay in the ground floor which was a plus since the hotel had no elevator, only stairs. So, I suggest ask for any of the rooms in the ground floor. That way, the front desk and the restaurant are only a few steps away. There was wifi also but only in the cafe area. The room my family and I stayed was clean. The location was great. McDonald's and Gaisano Illustre are a stone's throw away. I will definitely stay with Bagobo again when I visit Davao.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the ground floor so you don't have to take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwan_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Had a great stay with my family.. Nice room, fit for the family for affordable price..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aeirm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

located in the heart of davao city. the hotel is near the public market and grocery store. the room is spacious and has free wifi. the price is reasonable. the hotel food is overpriced. try eating in nearb restaurants

Room Tip: choose the rooms in the 2nd floor. no elevators here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunkissedguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COTABATO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

whenever my family have an overnyt stay in davao, we usually spend it at bagobo 'coz it only cost us more or less 1thou. it's so peaceful and relaxing to stay there. the employees are nice and friendly. the whole room and cr as well as the beddings are all clean. the tv is 29 in. we've stayed in many hotels in davao but bagobo is our first choice. affordable but with superb amenities and crews....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ASHLY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 km away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#28 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#29 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#18 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.7 km away
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
#15 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 km away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#9 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagobo House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagobo House Hotel

Property: Bagobo House Hotel
Address: Gov. Duterte St., Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagobo House Hotel is your home at the heart of the City. The Hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants, spa, bars, hospitals, groceries, food court, department stores, and banks. The Hotel has 36 air- conditioned rooms with hot and cold shower, and wireless internet access. Enjoy your meals at Agong Cafe located at the ground floor. Rooms can accommodate 2 guests. Extra beds can be provided upon request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bagobo House Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing