We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aside from being pricey, the rest are ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escudero Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Pablo City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Value for money - Pricey
Conclusion - Aside from being pricey, the rest are ok. Overnight accomodation just enough. You'll get bored if you spend more than 1 night here.

Front desk / service - friendly, accomodating
Room - clean, non-aircon, not sound proof so you can easily be heard outside
Pool - ok clean
Food - ok. I like the buffet at the man made waterfall
Facilities - I like the bamboo bangka, biking, museum, carabao ride, cultural show

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennyuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2008

Our group visited Villa Escudero just for a day visit. The place is fantastic. Beautiful scenery, friendly employees, very relaxing, good variety of food.
The only thing that really bugged all of us were...flies. Yup, those bothersome flies will land on your food while trying to enjoy your plate and, they don't get scared simply by attempts of swatting them. Usually, one is too late to scare them away...they already shared your food.
What does it mean when there are flies all over? Right ! Sanitation is a problem. It can be solved only by determined efforts by management to eradicate them.
Another issue that they may probably be right about is the no photos allowed inside the museum. Is it for security reasons that it is forbidden? I did not see heavily armed guards protecting the area. So, if someone really is determined to cause them problems, it would be no problem. Anyway, some objects would not be too appealing to photograph. Dust accumulation on some exhibit's clothing were too thick to be ignored.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank dmorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We visited Villa Escudero in Batangas this past February 18th, 2008. We had a wonderful time at this plantation resort. You start with a tour of their museum full of religious relics. Although you are not allowed to get too close, you can see the original house that still houses the surviving Escudero family. Then take a ride on a carriage drawn by the water buffalo where you can enjoy traditional Filipino folk songs sang by one of the locals. The locals who are employed at the Villa have been there for generations (living in the plantation.) After the short ride, you are brought to the waterfall area to have a lunch buffet (served only at a certain time. 11-2, I think but keep track of time.) My daughters loved it! They ate while the water flew pass their feet. Just don’t drop anything, or be quick to pick it up. The current is rather fast. Afterwards, you can walk around the plantation or go canoeing in their bamboo rafts. Try your hand at fishing with their bamboo fishing poles or swim in their pools. They also take you around the village where if its your first time, can enter the chaple and make three wishes. The property is a resort and they do have rooms available. Though not bothersome, it looks like they are renovating to make room for new facilities. I suggest visiting this place but go on Fri, Sat or Sun where they have folk dancers perform (unfortunately, we didn’t and missed it.) They have a website check it out. Just type in Villa Escudero.

1  Thank ROC-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

I am a pastor from a church in the USA and I take teams to the Philippines every year to do outreaches to the children living in poverty around Metro-Manila. At the end of the trip, I try to plan something fun and relaxing for the team so that they can unwind and enjoy the beauty and culture of the Philippines as well. For the past three years, I have taken the teams to Villa Escudero, in Laguna near San Pablo, south of Manila.
The first year it was a new experience and we were all impressed with the great service, the wonderful food and the relaxing setting. It was a great weekend and we thought this would be the perfect retreat for all of our teams.
The following year I returned with another team and this was when I noticed that things had started to "slip" a bit. The pool wasn't sparkling clean, and there was some construction going on that was just a tiny bit intrusive.
This year's visit was a nightmare. The first thing I noticed was that the "temporary inconvenience" caused by construction had only gotten worse. Several of the river huts had been demolished, and we had to walk a great deal farther to our rooms. When we got to the room, the toilet didn't work, which we soon pointed out to the reception desk. A couple of employees came by but all they did was look inside and then look at each other and walk away. We reported the problem several more times but it was never fixed. We ended up having to walk over to the pool area to use the public restroom there. Mind you, there were 12 in our group.
The water pressure in the shower was just a trickle. The pool was FILTHY! There was black algae all over and the sides were covered with slime. And the water had a terrible odor. The final straw was the construction workers who started working at 7am, hammering and making noise.
Needless to say, we will never return.

34  Thank ptr_rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pablo City
7.4 km away
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
#2 of 2 in San Pablo City
24 reviews
40 km away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Casa Palmera Hotel
#2 of 4 in San Pablo City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort
16.4 km away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
393 reviews
28.1 km away
Batis Aramin Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escudero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escudero Resort

Address: Pan-Philippine Highway, San Pablo City, Luzon 4000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > San Pablo City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Pablo City
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Villa Escudero Hotel San Pablo City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing