We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa San Pablo B & B(San Pablo City)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sitio de Amor(San Pablo City)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tahanan ni Aling Meding(San Pablo City)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Palmera Hotel(San Pablo City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
V House(San Pablo City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
95
128
51
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
128
51
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscultural showcarabao rideyour feetbuffet lunchthe riverday tripwaterfall restaurantcoconut plantationbamboo raftfilipino culturewater buffalofilipino foodfolk songsmuseum tourwelcome drinkrunning waternice experience
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Our group visited Villa Escudero just for a day visit. The place is fantastic. Beautiful scenery, friendly employees, very relaxing, good variety of food.
The only thing that really bugged all of us were...flies. Yup, those bothersome flies will land on your food while trying to enjoy your plate and, they don't get scared simply by attempts of swatting them. Usually, one is too late to scare them away...they already shared your food.
What does it mean when there are flies all over? Right ! Sanitation is a problem. It can be solved only by determined efforts by management to eradicate them.
Another issue that they may probably be right about is the no photos allowed inside the museum. Is it for security reasons that it is forbidden? I did not see heavily armed guards protecting the area. So, if someone really is determined to cause them problems, it would be no problem. Anyway, some objects would not be too appealing to photograph. Dust accumulation on some exhibit's clothing were too thick to be ignored.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank dmorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We visited Villa Escudero in Batangas this past February 18th, 2008. We had a wonderful time at this plantation resort. You start with a tour of their museum full of religious relics. Although you are not allowed to get too close, you can see the original house that still houses the surviving Escudero family. Then take a ride on a carriage drawn by the water buffalo where you can enjoy traditional Filipino folk songs sang by one of the locals. The locals who are employed at the Villa have been there for generations (living in the plantation.) After the short ride, you are brought to the waterfall area to have a lunch buffet (served only at a certain time. 11-2, I think but keep track of time.) My daughters loved it! They ate while the water flew pass their feet. Just don’t drop anything, or be quick to pick it up. The current is rather fast. Afterwards, you can walk around the plantation or go canoeing in their bamboo rafts. Try your hand at fishing with their bamboo fishing poles or swim in their pools. They also take you around the village where if its your first time, can enter the chaple and make three wishes. The property is a resort and they do have rooms available. Though not bothersome, it looks like they are renovating to make room for new facilities. I suggest visiting this place but go on Fri, Sat or Sun where they have folk dancers perform (unfortunately, we didn’t and missed it.) They have a website check it out. Just type in Villa Escudero.

1  Thank ROC-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

I am a pastor from a church in the USA and I take teams to the Philippines every year to do outreaches to the children living in poverty around Metro-Manila. At the end of the trip, I try to plan something fun and relaxing for the team so that they can unwind and enjoy the beauty and culture of the Philippines as well. For the past three years, I have taken the teams to Villa Escudero, in Laguna near San Pablo, south of Manila.
The first year it was a new experience and we were all impressed with the great service, the wonderful food and the relaxing setting. It was a great weekend and we thought this would be the perfect retreat for all of our teams.
The following year I returned with another team and this was when I noticed that things had started to "slip" a bit. The pool wasn't sparkling clean, and there was some construction going on that was just a tiny bit intrusive.
This year's visit was a nightmare. The first thing I noticed was that the "temporary inconvenience" caused by construction had only gotten worse. Several of the river huts had been demolished, and we had to walk a great deal farther to our rooms. When we got to the room, the toilet didn't work, which we soon pointed out to the reception desk. A couple of employees came by but all they did was look inside and then look at each other and walk away. We reported the problem several more times but it was never fixed. We ended up having to walk over to the pool area to use the public restroom there. Mind you, there were 12 in our group.
The water pressure in the shower was just a trickle. The pool was FILTHY! There was black algae all over and the sides were covered with slime. And the water had a terrible odor. The final straw was the construction workers who started working at 7am, hammering and making noise.
Needless to say, we will never return.

34  Thank ptr_rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews