We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was one of the nicer Holiday Inns we have stayed at. Our room very big and overlooked the pool but it did not have a chlorine smell which was nice. We had a king size bed that was extremely uncomfortable. My wife and I were hoping for a good nights sleep but awoke to very sore backs. I did mention this at the front desk as we checked out but who knows if anything will be done to correct it.
This hotel is also pet friendly, has a large parking lot and a restaurant. We had breakfast in the morning but were a little disappointed with the portion of the meal. They did offer a buffet but we chose to get a plated meal instead.
Overall, if I was in the area again, I may look at other options due to the poor nights sleep. We are IHG rewards members but I would rather pay money for a good bed than a redeem a free night and wake up sore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodman4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We always look forward to hearing from our guests. We believe that our guest’s feedback is extremely important and will allow us to emphasize on opportunities. I am sorry that your night’s sleep was not as pleasant as it should have been. We are indeed in the process of planning a renovation which would include the updated to our guest room beds. I certainly hope, and look forward to having you stay with us again to be able to provide a memorable experience for you.
Thank you again for taking the time to five us your feedback.
Sonny K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Holiday on August 15 and President Obama stayed there on August 22. We missed him by a week.
Everything at this Holiday Inn is a "5". It was very clean and comfortable. We loved it very much. The best part is the large center atrium with a pool, chairs, tables, etc. We did not use the pool, but it looked great. Some first floor rooms opened to the pool atrium, good for families with children. You can go directly from your room to the pool and not have to use the hallways or elevator. Convenient for adults too. The breakfast in the restaurant was good also, lots of choices. This is not included in the price of the room, but still a good bargain. We loved the hotel, everything looked new and attractive. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone staying in the Finger Lakes region.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Pekinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is extremely heart warming to hear from our guests and to see that we have made a pleasant and memorable difference in their stay. Traveling on vacation or for business, it is our goal for all of our guests to love our hotel. We look forward to be of service again and hope to see you soon. We certainly appreciate your feedback and your kind words.
Sonny K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Had a room near the pool and I was very suprised how quiet my room was. Even at night things were quiet. Nice, clean room, with a big ADA size bathroom. Decor way on the newer end. I'd stay here again

Room Tip: Some rooms ring around the indoor pool in the four or five story courtyard. Rooms also available awa...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Franklin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that your stay with us was peaceful and relaxing. We hope to see you on your next visit to our neck of the woods. We all appreciate your encouraging feedback.
Thank you
Sonny K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent the weekend in the Finger Lakes area with friends, and had a 2 double bed room looking out the back. The beds were very comfortable with a nice assortment of pillows, and we had a fridge and microwave. We had some difficulty with the keys as they would only open the door half the time, but though inconvenient, it wasn't a big problem. The room was clean, towels were fresh and new. The young lady at the desk was new, but very friendly and helpful and we were checked in early, and very quickly. We were only told about one elevator in the building, but found out later that there were more, and closer to our room. In room coffee was very weak even though the packets were Wolfgang Puck brand. I expected better. Breakfast was ok, a little skimpy on the shredded potatoes, but overall fine, and service was good.
Having the gas station across the street was very convenient, as we didin't have to go looking to fill up the car, and it had a great variety of snacks and beer and soft drinks. Plus the gas was the cheapest we had seen in our travels.

I would recommend this hotel, it's centrally located, easy walking to local restaurants, easy to find, clean and comfortable and reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveJibacoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear LoveJibacoa,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I am disappointed that the reviews I read on this Holiday Inn were much too kind. The location was across from a gas station and behind/in front of a prison...not exactly what I was looking for in the Finger Lakes. The economy in the town of Auburn seems to have been hard. The hotel has a large pool in the center which causes everything to become musty and smell strongly of chlorine. One reviewer said the breakfast was good but all we got was some really bad coffee from the in-room coffeemaker. The front desk staff was great however we had to return several times to get our keys to work...eventually gave up on the second one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake577105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Jake577105,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the front desk staff. However, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We will surely use your comments to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.4 km away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
8.1 km away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 km away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
706 reviews
11.3 km away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
34.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region

Address: 75 North St, Auburn, NY 13021-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: €79 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auburn, NY is located in the heart of the spectacular Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Come take a swim in our indoor-heated pool or relax with dinner and cocktails in McMurphy's Authentic Irish Pub. When you stay with us, you can enjoy shopping at Waterloo Premium Outlets and Bass Pro Shops, tour the wineries on the Cayuga Wine Trail and Seneca Wine Trail, visit our local historic sites, or enjoy a show at the new Merry-Go-Round Playhouse Finger Lakes Musical Theatre Festival. We are in the center of it all. Stay at the Auburn/Finger Lakes Holiday Inn and visit the scenic village of Skaneateles. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing