We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Isla Perro
from US$153.85
More Info
from US$150.00
More Info
from US$176.00
More Info
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
167
40
13
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
40
13
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2019

A busy but charming and laid back island with an awesome beach, cold beer and sunken ship that provides a bit of fun while snorkeling. It's quite a fun place but nothing extraordinary.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank rdumitru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2019

I have been to this wonderful place two times, being the last one just few days ago.
This place has one of the most amazing snorkeling spots in the archipelago, without going to far. It is highly recommended that you bring with you your own snorkeling equipment and my recommendation is to be extremely careful in not damaging the fragile corals (some species are extremely delicate!!) and avoid touching anything underwater, unfortunately you can already see a lot of broken corals all around. If you see any shells or starfish, try not to touch them. More and more tourist are visiting this spots, let's make an effort to keep them pristine for future generations. It is also fundamental not to spread around any trash (bottles, plastic, etc.). Kuna people also need to be educated as they tend to drink and throw cans into the sea, which is really painful to see. I made a short video available on YouTube, just search there for "San Blas Panama 18 05 2019", it is the first result you will get, I hope you will enjoy it.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Maxbirsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2019

Highly recommended to visit for a day trip or overnight camping.

There are dozens of islands as part of San Blas. I think the island we visited was call "little dog island".

The beaches were pristine. The water was warm and clear. The island is privately owned and the owner takes care of it. They have fresh water sinks and regular bathrooms.

Great value too. The boat ride plus lobster lunch was $55/person. We also had to pay $110 road/province fee for our car and six people.

The only challenge is that it takes two hours to drive to the dock from Panama City. The island is about 45 minutes by boat ride. Make sure you bring your passports.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Resort809113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2019

This Island charges $3 but the snorkeling was the best we saw , there is a sunken ship which has become a coral reef .
Clean Island with basic accommodation

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019 via mobile

We are staying in Panama (Cerro Azul) for a month. A friend recommended we visit San Blas and arranged the trip for us to stay overnight on Perro island. Cost of the trip, boat ride, lodging, food was $105/person. We are renting an SUV (not 4WD) and we were not sure if we would be allowed in Guna territory but had no problems getting in. Passport is required and checked at the border. We payed $20/person plus $5 for the car. We did have Spanish speaking person with us and I think that helped. Road is challenging. Roller coaster with a lot of potholes.
Boat ride was a little rough and Certi port is not the cleanest place (especially the toilet if you need to use it).
Arrived to Perro Island, took off our flip flops, put the bathing suits on and that is really all we needed during our stay. Water is wonderfully clear and warm. Snorkeling is OK. We snorkeled in Maldives and Tahiti and this is not at that level but it was nice. We had little wooden cabin that was sufficient and clean. Communal bathroom was rather old but clean. The whole island is kept clean. Food leaves a lot to be desired. We made a mistake and ordered mixed seafood the first day and that was a gray mush, barely eatable. After that we had fish, fried of course as that is the only way they prepare it.
During the day island can get a little crowded because of the daily tours but after 4pm there were only about 10 people on the island. It was wonderfully quiet, soft breeze, sound of the ocean waves.... Wonderful!
Island has generator so we could charge our phones and tablets. And we had light at night. Water in the showers is cold but that was ok. Bring snacks and drinks if you want anything except beer, soda or water.
Our trip also included a trip to sunken island with star fish, and Fregata island where locals sell their hand made souvenirs.
We debated if we should stay another night and we were told that price would be $50/ person but w/o food. I think it would be nice to stay one more night but we needed to get back.

Date of experience: February 2019
4  Thank Bosnian1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews