We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
7
18
10
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7
18
10
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We were motoring to Kuna Yala and our engine upped and died near reefs close to Isla Porvenir.It quickly became untenable to stay onboard and we found ourselves stranded without any ready cash and no cash machines at hand. The only hotel was Hotel Porvenir .We approached the managers and told them of our plight and believe it or not we were graciously allowed to stay there on full board with our two dogs for four days until we obtained help from friends and my husband was able to make a trip to the mainland.The food was simple but excellent especially the fresh seafood dinners and new house baked bread.Rooms were not cleaned daily but we had mosquito nets,ensuite bathroom and sufficient fresh rainwater and we were a step across from the ocean and the breathtaking vistas of KY were all around us. Very peaceful and ideal for a nature lovers romantic holiday in a simple setting far away from the madding crowd and the remorseless technology.We cannot really express our gratitude to the managers and staff for their unstinting hospitality and kindness. A million thank yous;muchas gracias a todo .

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 229Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Lonely Planet says that there is no need to go to this place unlike you have a flight. I dont agree. For me it was just the right thing to do as you can meet people here, and can use the restaurandt and the bar. It is a good place to do daytrips to other islands such as el perro or pelicano. Staying here for three nights was just the right thing to do. I booked from Germany and the only thing to complain about ist, that the people at the hotel did not know anything about my payment.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianDuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The beauty of the san blas islands makes it hard to be objective about this hotel. But even with the beauty of the white sand beaches and koral just meters away, some
Things weren't great. Food is fish or chicken (both fried) with rice of patatoes. We had this for 2 meals a day, three days long. You can howrver get your own lobster and crab at islands near, and they will prepare it for you. The cook was very unfriendly, but everyone else on the island was very nice. They will take you to other islands at no charge and will bring you to beautifull places for a few bucks. (Isla perro is one of the places i would recommend as it has a sunken ship)

Date of stay: August 2014
5  Thank 803thomasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We came by boat, but you can come by air as well. There is an airstrip on the island.

The hotel is rustic.
We were provided with a large room with double bed and bunk beds if needed. Our own bathroom with shower. Cold water, but with the heat, you do not need hot water. Very refreshing after a long day.
Provided three meals a day. There is not a selection, you get what you get. Fish, chicken, rice, potatoes. If you want fresh fruit, vegetables, or a variety, bring your own provisions. We had fresh barracuda and it was delicious! They run on generators and do not have a way of storing so many provisions.
You are provided with fresh caught fish from a local fishermen.
Part of the whole experience!
You can buy extra water, pop, juice and a few other things.

Arriving by boat, be prepared to get wet.
They provide a tarp for your belongings.
Use a towel or garbage bag if you don't want to be involved in the whole experience of the trip.
Tours of the islands are provided daily with a fee of 2 dollars. Excellent , a must do! They are supporting
other Kuna that live on the islands.
The staff or owners are fantastic. I enjoyed our capitan cheeke, even though I could not speak Spanish he and I communicated very well. He brought us to many islands and showed us different islands on the tours.
Antonio is a wonderful person. He showed us his fresh caught fish for the day and he speaks English. When I had a tough time communicating he would help.

This is an experience that you should not pass by to see San Blas islands and the Kuna people. Go to town with cheeke and stroll through the village.
This is not a five star hotel, not for the faint of heart.
A getaway from the everyday.
I wanted to stay.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
15  Thank BarbieL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After extensive reading,and research on where to stay, we opted for El por Venir, which was on of the options on the package we got in panama city. The serenity of the place, and just relax is the whole reason of going to san blas. The service from the lady in charge, can be confrontational at times. Most of the other staff, were willing to help out in any way they could. Food is ok, dont expect anything great. The island is located close to another island which is the major town, and some crafts can be purchased, and cheap lobster at $6 per lb. Choose your dinner, and bring it back to the hotel, they will cook it up for you (remind them NOT to overcook it..!). No lights, a generator provides electricity from say 4pm to 9pm. After of which, they leave one light on in the dining area, for those hanging around having drinks, socializing etc. Theres an airport landing on the island, so a flight or two might come in daily. The rooms have there dividing walls, but the roof area at the top is a shared connected space, so a cough and other affairs can be heard from afar. But then we really don't know which room its coming from anywayz. I heard of several people over paying for similar service/level hotels in the area. seems like a safer bet here. In the daytime you can go on tours, and visit other islands as well. My overall ratings is in comparison to other hotels in the area, considering, otherwise all would be poor. The islands are beautiful, and worth the experience. After we went to cartagena, colombia, and boy i wish i spent MORE time in san blas :(

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bigone2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews