We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
63
31
13
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
31
13
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews callaloo the owner tasty food on foot great hostess hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

After 15 days of having booked and canceled the 50% we arrived at the hotel and we got the surprise they lost our reservation
We called the person in charge and did not know how to solve the excuse that we could not communicate either by CELLPHONE, EMAIL, CHAT ... they were very rude, they never came to try to help us, they wanted to give us a small room without kitchen, No refrigerator for which we paid, did not have the concideracion to give us the face to give us the money, so we had to go to the restaurant of the hotel that is at the beginning of the island withdraw our money (AT NO TIME DISAPPOINTED) and We had to get another hotel, at least the other Hotel was clean and the people were KIND.
I recommend it only if you want to take a bad impression of the island, which does not do it justice as TABOGA IS A BEAUTIFUL ISLAND

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchitoCerrito, General Manager at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Sonia
Thank you for your comments. Taboga is a beautiful island. Without a reference to your reservation we have difficulty to address your issues. However, the person in charge on site is able to communicate by phone, and by chat. As in our website, the owners are not always onsite however we have a person 24 hours a day managing Cerrito. We have refrigerators in all the rooms. If you did not have it it may have been being serviced, we could have supplied one. Not all our rooms have kitchens, please be aware that if you want a kitchen the rate is higher and it is an apartment you are booking, not a room. Bed and breakfast rooms do not have kitchens. We are the most economical accommodation on Taboga and support the local economy by having local employees; we believe in sustainable tourism. We do our best to offer our clients a friendly, relaxed service, however we are not 5 star, and do not profess to be 5 star. It is good to see your received your refund 100% when it was not what you expected. We were very busy. There was no discussion, we want our clients to be satisfied.
So in the end you did not stay with us,
so unfortunately we did not have the chance to allow you to experience the relaxed atmosphere, the fresh breezes, the hammocks, and the ocean view we offer from the balcony. We are happy you enjoyed Taboga.
Thank you for your comments,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Having a recommendation made to us, we stayed here for two nights. Well worth it. Good people who took good care of us. While the taxi carts are available we enjoyed the walk, multiple times up and down the hill and down the main passage of Taboga. The quiet gardens and hammock respites are a real treat.

Room tip: being a bed and breakfast, the morning meal was good, albeit slight.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchitoCerrito, General Manager at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Ron,
We really appreciate your lovely review and that fact that you appreciated our location on the hill, while it is a climb it offers a lovely view, quiet, safe and has fresh breezes due to our hillside location beside the forest.
About the breakfast, we offer 2 options of stay, with and without breakfast. The breakfast value is $4.50 plus tax and set breakfast includes 2 eggs, toast, jam and coffee or tea or pancakes. Yours may have been included. If you wish to have more food the chef can whip up an omelet or extra pancakes etc. I mention this because we have many future guests who read our responses and reviews.
We truly appreciate your stay and comments!
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Me quedo solo con imágenes que tal vez ninguno de los huéspedes han podido constatar como evidencia y de que en verdad el hotel está en crítico. Pero para los amantes de turismo aventura es recomendable. Consta con aire acondicionado, nevera, y desayuno incluido.
Dear owner your work at this place "Taboga Island " is your passion, it seems on every letter you respond to your guests.....love what you do, accept your guest opinions with emphaty, affection, charm, respect and more love, ask your guest how pleasant were their stay there at your hotel and finally, last but not less important, be loyal with yourself, (no wifi Taboga16 is no good, no recepcionist in her or his place of work during day nor the night, no gas tank, very very poor breakfast and poor backyard view) that makes the difference between your hotel and the rest...thanks for loving Taboga Island. Querido propietario gracias por amar La Isla de Taboga

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank lic_fdburke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchitoCerrito, General Manager at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your stay and choosing us.
I would like to respond to your comments.
Our location is on a hillside beside the natural rainforest with an ocean view from the balconies. We have many returning guests because of our view and relaxing ambiance. We are a lodge on a humble island which we love.

The WIFI works very well outside of the rooms and also depends on how many guests are using it; inside of most of the rooms it works depending on your equipment; we have 2 rooms that because of their location you must be outside of the bedroom to get good signal. We do not have a full time receptionist (we have 6 rooms only), we have a lady who receives our guests (or she may be cleaning - she is also the housekeeper) and is on site 6 days a week until 1 or 2 pm and weekends 5 pm. We have Aristides who stays onsite overnight and is available on request to cook or if you have requirements, such as switching an empty gas tank. The ground floor rooms do not have a view from the room and we tell everyone that in our descriptions of the rooms.

Our breakfast consists of 2 eggs, toast, jam and coffee for $5 tax included. If you wish more you can always request more at additional cost. If you do not wish breakfast we can reduce your room rate.

We are not a luxury place, we are a locally sustainable tourism lodge run by a local family. Our visitors choose us so they can get to know the heart and soul of Taboga. There are more luxurious places but as our lower rates reflect we are one of the most economical places.

Thank you again for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

B&B Hotel Cerrito has the most beautiful view on Taboga . The owner Cynthia and her staff, especially Aristides make sure you have everything you need to make you feel comfortable. The location is great you can walk to the beaches but it is nice to sit in a hammock at the Inn and relax. The rooms are nice and clean and the A/C works great. Be sure to eat at the Calaloo Beach, Fish Bar & Grill best food and atmosphere on the Island.

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank franciemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Just as the best city neighborhood in Panama City is Via Argentina, the best place for a quiet relaxing getaway from city excitement is at Senora Cynthia's B&B over-looking the Pacific perched above Isla Taboga. She's from P.E.I., Canada . My family was more than pleased with our stay. Good service: and if you need anything the caretaker of the property is always down below. We took one of the upper apartments , walked around the island , talked to locals, and spent a few days on the beaches. There is also a partner restaurant belonged to the same right on the main walkwy below the B&B. The ferry from Amador only takes 35 minutes and if you call before the taxi will be waiting for you. Worth a visit as it's also the closest island to Panama City.

Room tip: All the rooms are good but let them know if you want anything special. They are accommodating!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you Joseph for your visit with your family to Cerrito Tropical as well as our beach front restaurant Calaloo ! We enjoyed your visit very much and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews