We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$73
Agoda.comUS$73
PricelineUS$73
TripadvisorUS$73
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
63
31
13
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
31
13
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews callaloo the owner tasty food on foot great hostess hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2014

We stayed there at the end of October and had a lovely time. The owner took us up the hill (which, if you walked up and down it certainly would be good exercise) on the golf cart and they were very friendly and helpful.

I had to change the date several times and Cynthia was very accomodating with our schedule. There was lots of communication between the two of us until we arrived. The rooms were of a nice beach decor and the whole place had a nice beach feeling.

Lynn, a friend of Cynthia's was very helpful and took us on a walking tour of Taboga. We wanted to just relax and this we did. I'm glad it was on the left side of the ferry and not on the right. We liked the quiet of that side of the island.

Their restaurant, Calaloo, was right on the beach and great food. Felt like you were friends from the moment you walked in. I've been back several times with girlfriends because it was: 1) across from the beach and you could rent umbrellas and chairs; 2) a restaurant and bar with good food; 3) bathroom facilities; and last but not least: 4) Cynthia and her staff.

Well done!

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank phyzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We stayed in the upper level 2 bedroom apartment.
It's furnished with bad thrift store finds. It's clear no money was put into this property. The A/C unit barely in the bedroom barely put out any cold air in the tiny bedroom.
The day we arrived, the kitchen staff had the day off. The manager on duty failed to mention this fact. Another guest told us this info.
The food on the premises is sub par. For breakfast, we received 2 pancakes, 1 egg and a cup of coffee. The server recommended the corvina which wasn't seasoned or tasty.
If you're not a beach baby, there really isn't much to do on this island. Restaurants are in short supply and not very good.
The only saving grace was the internet or we would have been even more bored beyond belief.
You could not pay me to return to Taboga island or B&B Hotel Cerrito.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunPrincess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchitoCerrito, Owner at Cerrito Tropical Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear SunPrincess,
We always appreciate both positive and negative comments because they help us improve.
However it always appreciated to hear these things during the stays of guests so issues can be addressed at that time.
Upon request we would have gladly had the chef come in on his day off and prepare meals for you to your taste. We serve our corvina fresh (caught by the fishermen of Taboga) and offer 2 types of sauce, creole and garlic, both of which are usually very well received.
Regarding the air conditioning not cooling enough, immediately on hearing from the next guest about it they were offered another room and a technician was called and serviced the unit. Had we known your master room was not cool enough, we could have moved you to the second room.
As for the decor, it is a beach accommodation and meant to be airy, spacious, relaxed and family friendly; we hear from many guests that their favorite aspects of the 2 bedroom apartment are the balcony with its hammocks and with the panoramic view of the ships waiting to enter the Panama Canal plus the view of Morro Island and Taboguilla, the harbour, village, the jungle, and the beach.
Regarding the local entertainment on Taboga Island, it is a small, typical village island which people enjoy for the tranquility, the beach, the hiking, the fishing, historic sites. There are watersports available now and a zipline will be coming soon.
We are sorry you did not enjoy Taboga; it is very well described on the internet as being a laid back, very simple, fishing village island with a couple of beaches. Under an hour from Panama City and a great place for tourists to experience local culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A group of us recently visited Panama. As a part of that trip, we decided to spend Valentine's Day on Isla Taboga [Taboga Island] just an hours boat ride off of Panama City. We booked into the B&B Cerrito Tropical and, after looking around town some, we checked in. The B&B is at the far end of the town, and up the hill, but not a bad walk at all. If you have a problem walking, there are a few 'taxis' in town.

We had reserved a 1 Bedroom Apt up stairs at the back of the B&B. It had a shared balcony, air conditioning, fan and a private bathroom with a shower. The room was clean, the bed and pull out couch were comfortable, & the A/C and fan made the room very comfortable. If you are planning a longer stay, or have children, there is a small supermarket within 200 metres & the apartments have refrigerators, dishes, etc. After getting settled, we discovered from another guest, that the owners' also ran the Calaloo Grill we had stopped in down by the beach. That other guest is a most charming lady from Canada that has returned for the last 7 years to spend a month or more at this B&B. That should tell you something right there. She offered to give us a little tour of the town as she led us the back way to the Grill & lunch. There was the wonderful Juntos craft and souvenir shop & the 2nd oldest church in the Hemisphere that is still in operation. We had lunch and afternoon drinks at Calaloo & LOVED it all. [see seperate review]. The owners & staff made us feel right at home.

We had dinner with the owners and other guests right on the veranda of the B&B and enjoyed the wonderful view. In the morning, there is a wonderful breakfast of fresh coffee & juice, scrambled eggs, & toast. We plan on visiting the island again for a longer stay, & you can believe all of our lunches & afternoon drinks will be at the Calaloo Grill, & our dinners & evenings will be on the veranda enjoying the excellent food, view, & company.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dustoff325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited Taboga for two and a half days over New Years and stayed at the B&B Hotel Cerrito. We enjoyed our stay, and the proprietor Cynthia made us feel very much at home and was a great resource for our time on the island, particularly given our limited Spanish. We stayed in the upper level two bedroom apartment, and the views from the two hammocks on the huge porch were beautiful. The sleeping quarters and bathroom were simple, clean and functional. The food at the hotel was excellent, especially the New Years' eve dinner. Cynthia and the chef Aristides also accommodated our daughter's request for a burrito the second evening (even though it was not on the menu), much to her delight.

A couple tips for those staying on Taboga and the Cerrito:

1. The hike up to the hotel from the ferry/beaches is somewhat long and definitely steep. If that's not your bag (we liked the exercise), I would recommend stopping at Callaloo (a restaurant Cynthia recently opened) for the fish and chips (fantastic) and/or a beer or cocktail and asking for them to arrange for a taxi/ride up to the hotel for check-in (which runs a couple of dollars, I think).

2. Taboga is a lightly populated island, and the best things to do are outdoor activities - swimming, snorkeling and spending time at the beach and hiking in the rain forest (we saw a blue iguana, a python, and of course dart frogs in fairly limited hiking). The Cerrito has WiFi, but Taboga is a place you go to unplug and get away from consumerism, not to get it.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leifg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I visited Taboga Island for the day with 15 USA college students. Instead of going to the big (tourist's) beach on the right side of the ferry exit, we walked to the left and parked ourselves on the beach in front of the restaurant Calaloo (a yellow building).

Cynthia, the owner rented chairs and umbrellas (2 chairs/1 umbrella for $15; beach towels for $5 ea.) They prepared a superb lunch for us and a refreshing sangria. We used their bathroom all day long and buy refreshments and beer. We had a great time and we highly recommend Calaloo as your home base for your beach day at Taboga Island. Call in advance to reserve chairs/umbrellas and to make lunch preparations. A lovely place for a beach day!

Room tip: For a one beach day at Taboga Island, "Calaloo" offers a great location, rentals of chairs, umbrellas, and towels. Affordable lunch and refreshments. Suggestion call a few days in advance to make reservations, especially for large groups.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickYanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews