We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$83
US$70
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$83
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$83
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$83
eDreamsUS$70
CheapTicketsUS$83
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
64
31
13
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
31
13
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews callaloo the owner tasty food on foot great hostess hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A group of us recently visited Panama. As a part of that trip, we decided to spend Valentine's Day on Isla Taboga [Taboga Island] just an hours boat ride off of Panama City. We booked into the B&B Cerrito Tropical and, after looking around town some, we checked in. The B&B is at the far end of the town, and up the hill, but not a bad walk at all. If you have a problem walking, there are a few 'taxis' in town.

We had reserved a 1 Bedroom Apt up stairs at the back of the B&B. It had a shared balcony, air conditioning, fan and a private bathroom with a shower. The room was clean, the bed and pull out couch were comfortable, & the A/C and fan made the room very comfortable. If you are planning a longer stay, or have children, there is a small supermarket within 200 metres & the apartments have refrigerators, dishes, etc. After getting settled, we discovered from another guest, that the owners' also ran the Calaloo Grill we had stopped in down by the beach. That other guest is a most charming lady from Canada that has returned for the last 7 years to spend a month or more at this B&B. That should tell you something right there. She offered to give us a little tour of the town as she led us the back way to the Grill & lunch. There was the wonderful Juntos craft and souvenir shop & the 2nd oldest church in the Hemisphere that is still in operation. We had lunch and afternoon drinks at Calaloo & LOVED it all. [see seperate review]. The owners & staff made us feel right at home.

We had dinner with the owners and other guests right on the veranda of the B&B and enjoyed the wonderful view. In the morning, there is a wonderful breakfast of fresh coffee & juice, scrambled eggs, & toast. We plan on visiting the island again for a longer stay, & you can believe all of our lunches & afternoon drinks will be at the Calaloo Grill, & our dinners & evenings will be on the veranda enjoying the excellent food, view, & company.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dustoff325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited Taboga for two and a half days over New Years and stayed at the B&B Hotel Cerrito. We enjoyed our stay, and the proprietor Cynthia made us feel very much at home and was a great resource for our time on the island, particularly given our limited Spanish. We stayed in the upper level two bedroom apartment, and the views from the two hammocks on the huge porch were beautiful. The sleeping quarters and bathroom were simple, clean and functional. The food at the hotel was excellent, especially the New Years' eve dinner. Cynthia and the chef Aristides also accommodated our daughter's request for a burrito the second evening (even though it was not on the menu), much to her delight.

A couple tips for those staying on Taboga and the Cerrito:

1. The hike up to the hotel from the ferry/beaches is somewhat long and definitely steep. If that's not your bag (we liked the exercise), I would recommend stopping at Callaloo (a restaurant Cynthia recently opened) for the fish and chips (fantastic) and/or a beer or cocktail and asking for them to arrange for a taxi/ride up to the hotel for check-in (which runs a couple of dollars, I think).

2. Taboga is a lightly populated island, and the best things to do are outdoor activities - swimming, snorkeling and spending time at the beach and hiking in the rain forest (we saw a blue iguana, a python, and of course dart frogs in fairly limited hiking). The Cerrito has WiFi, but Taboga is a place you go to unplug and get away from consumerism, not to get it.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leifg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I visited Taboga Island for the day with 15 USA college students. Instead of going to the big (tourist's) beach on the right side of the ferry exit, we walked to the left and parked ourselves on the beach in front of the restaurant Calaloo (a yellow building).

Cynthia, the owner rented chairs and umbrellas (2 chairs/1 umbrella for $15; beach towels for $5 ea.) They prepared a superb lunch for us and a refreshing sangria. We used their bathroom all day long and buy refreshments and beer. We had a great time and we highly recommend Calaloo as your home base for your beach day at Taboga Island. Call in advance to reserve chairs/umbrellas and to make lunch preparations. A lovely place for a beach day!

Room tip: For a one beach day at Taboga Island, "Calaloo" offers a great location, rentals of chairs, umbrellas, and towels. Affordable lunch and refreshments. Suggestion call a few days in advance to make reservations, especially for large groups.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickYanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Outstanding place to stay in Taboga, will recommend the Ceritos to my friends. Very warmed and helpfull staff. The food is to die for, lots of see food and friendly atmosphere. Will come back again in the near future. I love this place and the near by beaches. Taboga is the island of the flowers .

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a great time we had with Cynthia and her attentive staff. We enjoyed one of the Mango rooms, staying on Isla Taboga for 3 nights. Our room was nice size with a private bathroom with a big shower and hot water - don't take these things for granted on an island. I would like to mention here that this IS an island. Electric is from a large diesel generation plant and water is a precious commodity, so where ever you stay and when ever you stay on an island please be conscientious with your use of each. Our room, in fact the entire hotel, was very pleasantly decorated in island colors and accents. Though there was no seaview from our room - who wants to hang out in your room when on a lovely island?! There is a very nice social area and dining area that does have a nice view of the sea. One word of warning is the Cerrito B & B is located on the upper tier of town and it is a steep walk, though a cab brought us from the dock with my many bags and beach unbrella. Just keep this in mind if you have trouble walking or getting around. Me, I liked the exercise - a few trips up and down to the hotel and I am allowed dessert that evening :-) This is a charming and affordable place to stay with a great staff. The pics I have included are of the social /common areas, sorry our room is too livied in so no pics there, but a very nice room! If you are coming to Isla Toboga I would highly recomend Cerrito Tropical - you will have a wonderful time!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews