We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good island location”
Review of B&B Gerald's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Gerald's
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Gerald is a friendly hands on owner of his B&B. He has lived on the island for many years and is a wealth of information. We very much enjoyed the covered terrace on the top floor for views, shade and ocean breeze. The staff keeps the rooms very clean. He has leased out his restaurant and it is excellent. The b&b breakfasts are consist and good. My only complaint is that the bed had no mattress cover.

Room Tip: Rent a golf cart/ATV early to explore this island early and learn where the beaches and restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChewelahBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2017

This is 1st time we stayed at Geralds but we had dined there a couple of times 3 years ago.
Our accomodation was excellent. Gerald and Sabin are very gracious hosts and were very good to us. The room was very comfortable and the upstairs terrace was awesome. Sabin has a lovely garden area with 3 tame deer, numerous cats, 5 somewhat noisy at times parrots and other little critters running around free. Richard and another young fellow do a great job taking care of the yard etc.
We really enjoyed our stay...,.. Only problem , Gerald doesn't manage the restaurant anymore and we were forced to eat elsewhere. The staff at the restaurant were very inattentive and spent all their time visiting with each other and being on their phones. This was a disappointment , however we did find other good restaurants on the island.
The name of this establishment is a bit deceiving as there is no breakfast included, not even a cup of coffee.
Suggestion to Gerald and Sabin, drop the B&B on the name and provide coffee in the garden area for your guests. Other than that it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank macraes2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Stayed here for 5 nights and our stay was so close to a perfect 5.

Best location on the island. Between a 2 to 10 minute walk is a bunch of restaurants, grocery stores and beaches.
Breakfast was included.
The bed was very comfortable.
Lots of hot water in the shower
All the employees were very friendly and smiled easily.
Gerald has set up a palapa and a few chairs down by the beach, excellent.
The beach, playa larga, is a easy 5 minute walk away.
Excellent roof top sitting area with a small dipping pool.

The reason for the 4 instead of the 5.
The shower head sprayed all over the place, a little soaking in some vinegar would have fixed it. We did not mention it to Gerald and I would assume he would have fixed it had we mentioned it, not sure why we did not.
The room had a very intense cleaning smell that took 2 days to subside when we checked in.
The toilet flush handle was ready to fall off.
There is a safe in the room but it is not bolted to anything.

These 3 items would not prevent me from staying here again, and it shouldn't stop you.

Paid 115usd a night

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Came over on the day boat and did NOT buy the day pass. Rented the Expensive golf cart and explored the island. Worth it once!
Had breakfast. Average Panama omelette With fruit plate and toast. The service made up for the food.
I would go again, but after I try other places.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank taipan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The location was very good with a lovely beach behind the hotel and the hotel is right next to the airport. The airport noise was non-existant. The hotel restaurant is very popular especially for lunches. The accommodation is out the back behind the restaurant. My Room was clean, comfortable and a good size with double bed, wardrobe, room safe , fridge and sofa and table. I had a private bathroom. Outside i had a hammock. Breakfast was good. The location was excellent with the beach behind the hotel and the airport a few steps away. Airport noise was minimal as it is a very small landing strip. The restaurant was very popular especially at lunchtime. The accommodation is out the back of the hotel and the room was comfortable and clean and reasonably basic. It had a double bed, small safe, fridge, sofa and table. Outside I had a hammock. Breakfast was good. they picked me up from the airport and were more than happy to take me places if I wanted them to. The hotel hires out small buggies which are great for getting around.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Contadora Island hotels
0 km away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 2 in Contadora Island
358 reviews
0 km away
Contadora Island Inn
Contadora Island Inn
#2 of 10 in Contadora Island
273 reviews
0 km away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#5 of 10 in Contadora Island
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Contadora Island
87 reviews
0 km away
Perla Real Inn
Perla Real Inn
#6 of 10 in Contadora Island
176 reviews
0 km away
La Romantica
La Romantica
#3 of 10 in Contadora Island
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gerald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gerald's

Address: Paseo Balboa, Panama Province 007, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range: €77 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Gerald's 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed&Breakfast 100 Yards from 2 Beaches with Sundeck on the Roof with Bar, all rooms with Private Bathroom A/C, Fan, Satellite TV, Safe, Fridge and Room Service. and now new Villa Rental 2Bed Room,Living room and full Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your B&B Gerald's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing