We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
49
71
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
71
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolgolf cartpoint hoteleggshis wifewater tankgerman dishesclose to the airporta couple of minutes walkhammock on the balconyferry landingrestaurant barbreakfast was includedenjoyed our staysingle bedgreat place to stayrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Clean room. Convenient location. Easy walk to the beach. Friendly staff. Food was ok. A power line was cut on the other side of the island and not only affected electricity, but the water also. So ,no AC and no water until 10:30 that night. Dinner was still offered. Deer were nearby as were cavies and iguanas. One major disappointment was the pool on the roof....it is really just a big hottub with cold water.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

At the end of a long trip that ended in Panama, we decided to visit Isla Contadora to do some whale-watching. The reviews we read for lodging on the island indicated that Gerald's was one of the better choices, and we felt lucky to get 2 rooms (my in-laws joined us for the last week of our trip). We took the high speed ferry from Panama City and when we landed, were met on the beach by a Gerald's staff member, which was a nice surprise and one that we didn't expect. He loaded us up in a golf cart and drove us up the hill and around a bend to the property. Check in was easy and fast and we were very pleased with our rooms. Each room has aircon and a ceiling fan, a safe for valuables and a small fridge in the closet. There were 2 bottles of water waiting for us, which were replaced each day. Since you can't drink the water here, that was a very welcome touch!

We'd also read that the restaurant on the property was the best on the island. Breakfast is included with your stay--fresh fruit, scrambled or fried eggs, bread and coffee. It's the same every morning. Ordering from the menu was a challenge, because they didn't have many of the items listed. Everything on the island is imported, so keeping everything in stock is a challenge, I'm sure. The things we did order--pizza, spaghetti, fish dishes, giant langoustines--were well prepared and delicious. Hummingbirds flit around--the restaurant is roofed but open--and deer wander through the grounds in the evening. You might be visited by an inquisitive cat, or the large Dalmatian that seems to belong to the property!

Our visit began midweek, and the island was sparsely populated with tourists and Gerald's was very quiet. By the end of our stay, people were really beginning to arrive, and eating at Gerald's restaurant at night. It was full for dinner on Friday and Saturday!

Contadora is small and everyone gets around in golf carts ( there are very few other vehicles). Many places to rent those, including Gerald's. Prices are reasonable. There are two really lovely beaches within walking distance; we were practically the only people on them till the last day (Saturday). Also within walking distance are a couple of little grocery stores, two local restaurants with decent food, Coral Dreams for scuba diving, rentals and whale watching excursions, a souvenir shop and a nice cream/Internet cafe/sandwich shop. The tiny airstrip is about 50 yards from Gerald's and in between the property and the beach where the ferry lands. As you continue past the landing the road curves around and you pass The Point hotel, Coral Dreams and the Internet cafe.

We needed laundry done, and it was done beautifully by the lady who cleans the rooms. We really enjoyed our stay except for two issues--the wifi never worked once in the 3 days we stayed, and my in laws never had hot water. Since it was such hot weather, it wasn't really a big deal, and I don't think they reported it to the staff.

Gerald's is comfortable and very centrally located to all the amenities on the island. Staff is eager to assist and very friendly. It's about a 2 minute walk to the ferry landing at the beach, less than a minute walk to the airstrip. Not a lot of English spoken except by the front desk manager, but they try hard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend Gerald's for anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dalpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

We liked the hotel although they could work a bit on their garden. The food in the restaurant was generally good, and service was fast when we were the only guests, but they were unable to cope when there were more guests. It then got totally chaotic and we had to wait forever for our food. They should really think about reorganising their kitchen.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank RedLionfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

My boyfriend and I planned to stay at Gerald's one night on Contadora Island (which we had visited for scuba diving). Our scuba guide had suggested Gerald's when we set up our scuba reservation, so we decided to try it. The day we went to Contadora Island, there had been a huge storm. After getting there following a delayed flight, we went to check in at the B&B. The atmosphere there was nice, relaxing, and everyone was on "island time" it seemed.

However, when we arrived and asked if we could have a room, the manager (owner's wife) said "Of course," and provided us with the required paperwork for our room. It wasn't until after we filled out all the paperwork that she showed us to our room, only to tell us that the lights weren't working in the room. Upon entering and attempting to get settled in, we realized the electricity (outlets, AC, lights) in general was out, due to the storm. This wouldn't have been an issue, however, the manager didn't tell us until after we had checked in. The room was basic, and while we saw a few bugs crawling around, it seemed to be the island norm, so that was no issue. Trying to make the best of things, we went snorkeling in the ocean, and when we returned, we discovered that along with our electricity, there was no working water either, due to the storm.

At that point, the lack of communication by the manager regarding the B&B's status due to the storm had discouraged us from staying there. We walked 5 minutes across the island and realized the The Point had electricity, running water, and was cheaper than Gerald's, so we opted to stay there instead. Our only saving grace on not having to pay at Gerald's was that the electricity was out, so our credit card had not been charged when we asked the manager if we could check out after being there for 2 hours.

Pros: Island time, relaxing, restaurant located in B&B, when there isn't bad weather it is probably a lovely place to be
Cons: Bugs, lack of management communication, no accommodations made despite no electricity/water

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaauchly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

A great place to stay in Contadora Island. We went there by catamaran (1 hour). Gerald's is near the harbor, 5 minutes walk. Simple but clean rooms in nice garden. Friendly service. In the garden you see humming birds, deers and big rodents. The restaurant serves good dishes in friendly ambiance. Very near to 2 nice beaches. Warmly recommended.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews