We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Gerald's
Nearby Hotels
Mar & Oro(Contadora Island)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
48
68
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
68
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother placessmall poolb bpoint hotelgolf carteggshis wifewater tankgerman dishesgracious hostshammock on the balconyferry landingbreakfast was includedsingle beda great place to stayplaya largarooms are clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Service was great, room was the perfect size for the two of us, A/C was cool, beds were comfortable, bonus hammock right out side the door! The breakfast was fine. Lobster dinner was overcooked and mushy which was incredibly disappointing. Gerald's is a 5 minute walk from where the boat drops you, but they pick you up and deliver you to their doorstep, which was a nice treat! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travellin_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

The service was nice and welcoming. The starters and dessert were a bit better for me than the actual main courses. The shrimp caesar salad was delicious and the patacones were very well done. The main course of pescado a lo macho was a bit too peppery for my taste, a sauce much too heavy for fish and langoustines. The dessert of flan was also very well made and quite delicious.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank voy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Arriving at BB Gerald, we were welcomed by Gerald himself. A fast, efficent and friendly check in was followed by a small tour of the guest house and the area surrounding the property.
We loved it at first sight and as the week progressed, things only turned out for the better.

Contadora is a fantastic small island and I'm surprised you can find such fast and easy "exotic escape" only hours from Panama city. The atmosphere on the island is tranquil and although you can "tour" around it, using a golf cart, in only a couple of hours, there is so much to do and see at here.
The first meal at Gerald gave us proof that our option for lodging at Contadora was clever. The food is OUTSTANDING! Food is cooked with the best ingredients, spices and presented with a nice tuch. It seems that this is the no1 dinner place on the island. We visited contadora during low season and the restaurant was full, almost every eavning.
Alot of other hotels on Contadora has oceanwiev, BB Gerald has not, but the nice room, extremly good cleaning, chill out zone in the garden and the people working here matches up for this. You also have two beaches to choose between, when it comes to beachlife.
Another reviewer wrote that staying here is like staying at your uncles place.we kind of agree. All staff are proffesional and friendly, and during our 3 month tour, this place really stands out! We felt like home from the first minute, and everything was very comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Gerald’s place is a delightful oasis with a pet deer and a terrific restaurant on property that serves outstanding cocktails! It is a short walk to the beach or the airport. The staff at Gerald’s is very accommodating and friendly, which always makes for a great stay! They were gracious to arrange for tours and transportation. The room was clean, spacious and had a TV. The only thing missing was a coffee maker, because there is no coffee or tea available until breakfast is served at 7:30 am, and not a minute sooner! Here’s a real bonus… Gerald takes credit cards which are a welcome relief since most places in small town Panama only take cash! Gerald's is a terrific place to stay in Isla Contadora, Panama!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Gerald's B&B is like staying at your uncles house on an island, Gerald and his staff all live on site. they are friendly and informative. Gerald, who is from Germany, welcomed us and his English was very helpful.

The food was fresh and tasty. Their Breakfast consist of Eggs, Ham, Swiss cheese and a basket of bread. Their coffee was some of the best I have had while in Panama. the Pizza was good, as was the other food my friends and family ate.

We rented a 4 person cart from Geralds, the 24 hour rental was very reasonable and the cart was all we needed to travel around the island and view the different beaches.

The Room at Gerald's is just as I said earlier, its like staying at your Uncles. The room is clean and basic. Our room had a queen size bed and a single. A cable tv, closet and private in room bathroom with shower.

I saw a post earlier that commented on the fact the in room safe is not bolted down, they are right, but to be honest, they don't even need a safe in the room, "would you need to lock your stuff up at your Uncles" ? I don't and I didn't lock up anything while staying at Gerald's.

Gerald's met our needs, a clean room where we felt safe to sleep at night. Don't expect anything fancier than that and you will enjoy your visit to Gerald's.

THE FREE WI-FI WORKS GREAT :)

Room Tip: The Shower controls can be tricky , practice before you shower to get the water temperature close to where you want it. Rooms on the ground floor give you a better opportunity to interact with Gerald's pet Deer.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews