We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly atmosphere”
Review of B&B Gerald's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Gerald's
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We ate Gerald's several times (breakfast, lunch and diner) over a 5 day period, while staying at The Point. This popular restaurant has an open air setting with a bar, and is part of a small hotel/BB. It is located a short walk from The Point hotel which is on the beach (Playa Galeon) where the very arrives. It is also a very short walk from the small airport and from Playa Larga, a large, beautiful beach. The staff are friendly and Gerald, the owner, is frequently in the bar area talking with customers. The atmosphere is friendly and casual. The food is very good and is likely the best you will get on the island. I was there with my husband and two daughters (ages 14 and 24) and we all liked everything we tried. The Hunter Schnitzel was excellent as were the braised short ribs and each of the Langostino dishes. My husband really like the Langostinos in Garlic Butter (warning, this dish features whole langostinos: heads are on) and we both liked the langostinos with coconut breading and passion fruit sauce. The appetizers were great as was the flan with Bailey's for desert. Drinks were also good. Breakfast was limited to eggs (fried or scrambled), ham and cheese (on the side), fruit, bread, juice and coffee. It would be nice if more choices were available since we did get tired of eggs everyday. Cereal, pastries or waffles/pancakes/crepes etc. would be a great alternative.

The atmosphere is friendly and casual. There is a small pet deer that frequently hangs out in the garden next to the restaurant. There are hummingbirds there as well. Prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: We did not stay here; we only ate here. Rating is based on the restaurant, not the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewEngland1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I will start my review saying if someone is looking for an all inclusive experience like one gets in cabo, cancun, punta Cana, etc stop right here because you will not get that on contadora.

If you want to experience being able to take a nice walk at night and not have to worry about anything read on.

Upon arriving on the island ferry we were greeted and we took the short golf cart ride up to Gerald's. The accomadations were fine. If one is expecting hotel service at Marriott or hilton then do not go to contadora. Gerald's is located next to two excellent beaches. Probably the best beaches I have been to and most times we were the only ones on the one beach.

The food was good and for the price we got good portions. Get the spaghetti with meat sauce. The pasta was properly drained and the sauce is good. The schnitzel is another good choice. Surprisingly the seafood was a little high and is the one negative I can think

We noticed some of the other guests are repeat customers which he treats as old friends. I told Gerald I will try to be back in a couple of years

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank paulsT5342KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. It has a great location, around 100m from the ferry & plane drop offs, you get picked up as well. It is also walking distance from the biggest beach on the Island, which is generally pretty quiet.
The rooms were spacious with comfy beds, good aircon and decent bathrooms.
Breakfast was good, choice of scrambled or fried eggs along with fruit, yoghurt and coffee.
We ate dinner and lunch several times here. It is just about the most consistent restaurant on the island for us. Wide range of dishes, including nice fresh fish, and German specialities. Good service throughout.
There is also a nice rooftop terrace with a small pool. A nice spot in the evening.
Would definitely recommend this place to stay and eat on the Island

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claphamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We went there without reservation.
The owners are friendly and can tell you what to see on the island.
The room is bit overpriced, but the whole island is!
The room is okay, clean and big enough.
The restaurant is good!!!
The only thing which was not that nice was the garden around the b+b.
If they improve this the place would be even better!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank e-kleinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After learning that the Point Hotel is incredibly overpriced and not very good, we had 2 wonderful dinners and 1 great lunch at Gerald's. The portions are huge and the food is delicious. The service is also relatively fast and the people are friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank msdeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contadora Island
0 km away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 2 in Contadora Island
351 reviews
0 km away
Vereda Tropical Hotel
Vereda Tropical Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isla Taboga
90 reviews
0 km away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Contadora Island
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Contadora Island Inn
Contadora Island Inn
#2 of 10 in Contadora Island
272 reviews
0 km away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#5 of 10 in Contadora Island
125 reviews
0 km away
Perla Real Inn
Perla Real Inn
#6 of 10 in Contadora Island
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gerald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gerald's

Address: Paseo Balboa, Panama Province 007, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range: €80 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Gerald's 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed&Breakfast 100 Yards from 2 Beaches with Sundeck on the Roof with Bar, all rooms with Private Bathroom A/C, Fan, Satellite TV, Safe, Fridge and Room Service. and now new Villa Rental 2Bed Room,Living room and full Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Gerald's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing