We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Contadora Island Inn(Contadora Island)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mar & Oro(Contadora Island)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perla Real Inn(Contadora Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Sol(Contadora Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Romantica(Contadora Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Les Blanc Villas(Contadora Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Point Hotel(Contadora Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
49
71
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
71
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolgolf cartpoint hoteleggshis wifewater tankgerman dishesclose to the airporta couple of minutes walkhammock on the balconyferry landingrestaurant barbreakfast was includedenjoyed our staysingle bedgreat place to stayrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I will start my review saying if someone is looking for an all inclusive experience like one gets in cabo, cancun, punta Cana, etc stop right here because you will not get that on contadora.

If you want to experience being able to take a nice walk at night and not have to worry about anything read on.

Upon arriving on the island ferry we were greeted and we took the short golf cart ride up to Gerald's. The accomadations were fine. If one is expecting hotel service at Marriott or hilton then do not go to contadora. Gerald's is located next to two excellent beaches. Probably the best beaches I have been to and most times we were the only ones on the one beach.

The food was good and for the price we got good portions. Get the spaghetti with meat sauce. The pasta was properly drained and the sauce is good. The schnitzel is another good choice. Surprisingly the seafood was a little high and is the one negative I can think

We noticed some of the other guests are repeat customers which he treats as old friends. I told Gerald I will try to be back in a couple of years

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank paulsT5342KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. It has a great location, around 100m from the ferry & plane drop offs, you get picked up as well. It is also walking distance from the biggest beach on the Island, which is generally pretty quiet.
The rooms were spacious with comfy beds, good aircon and decent bathrooms.
Breakfast was good, choice of scrambled or fried eggs along with fruit, yoghurt and coffee.
We ate dinner and lunch several times here. It is just about the most consistent restaurant on the island for us. Wide range of dishes, including nice fresh fish, and German specialities. Good service throughout.
There is also a nice rooftop terrace with a small pool. A nice spot in the evening.
Would definitely recommend this place to stay and eat on the Island

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claphamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We went there without reservation.
The owners are friendly and can tell you what to see on the island.
The room is bit overpriced, but the whole island is!
The room is okay, clean and big enough.
The restaurant is good!!!
The only thing which was not that nice was the garden around the b+b.
If they improve this the place would be even better!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank e-kleinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After learning that the Point Hotel is incredibly overpriced and not very good, we had 2 wonderful dinners and 1 great lunch at Gerald's. The portions are huge and the food is delicious. The service is also relatively fast and the people are friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank msdeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

OK...so here's the thing. If you are going to Isla Contadora with the expectations of 5-star luxury and American standards of hotel services...you are going to be disappointed! Isla Contadora, as a whole, is somewhat rustic...and Gerald's seems to be at the top of the options.

First off...it's not a bed & breakfast, it's a hotel (don't let the name mislead you!) And it's not a hostel either (despite the credit card receipt listing it that way). So don't worry...Gerald's is a small hotel, right next door to the airport. The staff were (mostly) very friendly, although we didn't get to meet Gerald since he was in the city. Nobody met us at the airport, but it was literally 50 yards away, and the first person we met pointed us there, so it didn't really matter!

Although the reviews have been mixed...our experience was that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning and ceiling fan worked great, and the bathroom (which is in the room, by the way) was wonderful. The shower was cold most of the time, but we didn't mind so much, as the weather is tropical. We spent quite a bit of time sitting outside our room, or down in the restaurant. We went up top to enjoy our drinks, but never went in the pool. With that said, the pool did look nice and cozy.

The restaurant was FANTASTIC! Breakfast was included, and was very simple...coffee, fruit, ham, cheese, and eggs (fried or scrambled)...but not bad at all. For lunch & dinner, you've got to try the pizza (which we ate daily, always with shrimp!)

There are a few beaches within walking distance of Gerald's, and it's pretty central to everything else (a little supermarket [where you can buy drinks, alcohol, bug spray, sunscreen, etc.], the dive shop, souvenirs, etc.) Keep in mind that everything on Isla Contadora is American pricing, so just know that drinks will be $6-10 each, and food will be priced as you would expect in the states.

Also...enjoy the wildlife. Hummingbirds all over the place, and a couple of pet deer on property! One knock is that their pet parrots will probably wake you up in the morning...although I didn't mind too much as I wanted to maximize my day.

We would gladly stay at Gerald's again...and hope we'll be able to bring our kids next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 upstairs. I'd highly recommend it...top floor, and in the corner, with one king sized bed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews