We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveller rating
166
224
164
91
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
224
164
91
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panama canal gatun locks beautiful lake big pool every meal grounds are lovely loved this hotel sized bed free zone monkeys dock hospital karen flow americans forest art
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 732 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My stay at Melia was just overnight.
Overall experience was excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Would like to stay again to take advantage of the various amenities such as the restaurant and pool.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank T4058XFchrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I went to Panama on a family vacation but I took time out to go to the City of Colon to pay my respects to my parents who are burried there at Mt. Hope Cemetery. I arrived at the Melia Panama Canal way too early for check in. However, the front desk attendant (Dayaneth) did not turn us away. She accommodated us, without breaking the rules. With a smile, she was able to locate a room that was ready and we could place our luggage there until the other room became available (we rented two rooms). The hotel is very clean and provides a very relaxing environment. The staff is courteus and professional, and went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable experience. Breakfast is exceptional. I am very impressed with this hotel and I recommend it! CED

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank ceciliad996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This hotel has beautiful grounds. Even though i went for business, i felt like i was on vacations. Huge and relaxing pool, the hotel is sorrounded by Gatun Lake, so you can sit at the dock, do some kayak, go around in the boat and appreciate monkeys, and other animals around. The breakfast is very good. They also have a free bus to go and comeback from the Colon Free Zone.

Room Tip: Lake view from the room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight prior to a cruise ship departure from Colon. We were able to find a great deal on price (about $65).
The room was large with a king sized bed and nicely appointed. The grounds were beautiful...a garden like setting nearby the canal. There were 2 adjoining pools with plenty of lounge and seating options.
The hotel restaurant offers expensive but fair buffet options.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank svragman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear guest we thank you for choosing us as your place of destiny and for us it is rejoicing to know that you have enjoyed the stay with us. We very excited to receive you with a worm welcome in a future reservation to share new experiences.

My kindest regards,
Michael A. Cordoba
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

There's a beautiful view of the lake and the rainforest. The outdoor activities for the lake are fun. Pool is big but lacking pizaz. Bar staff is poor. Only one dining room and it's rather expensive and boring. Staff isn't overly friendly. And there is a real poor level of evening activities. I wouldn't come back.

Room Tip: Bed is uncoftable. The bathroom is beautiful! Bedroom lighting is weird and uncortbale at night.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank Mammers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your stay with us and for leaving us all your comments and recommendations which we will take into consideration with all the departments involve.

We are looking forward to see you again, and make up for your experience with an unforgettable trip.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews