We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hospedaje y Pension La Cubana(Colon)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Granja Campo y Aventura(Colon)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal Ofiuras(Colon)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
US$46
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
US$108
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
158
221
163
90
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
221
163
90
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanama canalgatun locksbeautiful lakeroom was largebig poolloved this hotelfree zonesized bedgroundsmonkeyshospitaldockkarenflowhammocksjungleamericans
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at melia one night because our first impression was good. Once we got there, we were never offered drinks by the pool even though everyone else around us were catered too. When we went to the lunch buffet water was poured for us, then we never had drinks again. The food Buffett was terrible and 18 dollars a person. We both had a salad (because the rest of the food was grim) for 40 dollars. Also, there was no place to go for food otherwise. Colon is dangerous and dirty. The locks were great, but that was it. Rooms were fine and clean but food and service were aweful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colocouple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

First off, the Melia Panama Canal is a beautiful property. It has a beautiful pool and Spanish Architecture, located on Lake Gatun. It could be such a great hotel if Melia Hotel Properties would only put more into it. It lacks what hotel travelers expect: prompt and courteous service (asked for an additional towel when checking in - it never came), ironing boards with irons in the room, toilet paper holders that fell apart when using. Perhaps symbolic was flag poles with only 3 flags flying, more than 1/2 were empty. Use them or remove them would be my suggestion. Would I stay here again despite all of this? I am not sure. I wish the owners would read this and make the changes that one expects for a hotel, because this could be a fantastic property

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masada11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Not all parts of this hotel were perfect, but overall it was a really nice experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was large and very clean. The King size bed was very comfortable, and the bedding and towels were very high quality. The location and property are great. Colon itself is dirty and very crowded, so it was a welcome relief to come back to this lovely old hotel on Gatun Lake. It is located just a couple of miles from the Gatun Locks, so made this side trip super easy. The double decker pool was wonderful, and the boat trip we took on the Lake was fun. Lots of local wildlife (sloths, toucans, monkeys). The food wasn't the greatest, but we found that during our 2 week road trip, the food generally throughout Panama was not good. Also, the Hotel is used by many people traveling to Panama for business, so at the fun bar (with a pool table) we met some very nice people from all over the world. While the hotel is older, and not as "crisp" as a brand new hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Although they are experiencing some renovation setbacks due to extreme rain over the past few months this facility offers the most exquisite dining and old world style. The swimming pools are inviting and Incredibly beautiful with mosaic tile design that rivals any European hotel. The staff is friendly and professional and the rates are very very reasonable. Situated on Gatun Lake this facility is a beautiful and peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor overlooking the pools and the lake.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Club Melia Panama Canal was once a very beautiful resort. Now, still very beautiful is definitely showing its age. It has some nice updates, but it is in definite need of a long list of minor maintenance. This is a quiet place to hide away for a break! The resort is very large with very few people there during the time that we were there, almost to the point of feeling a bit deserted. Definitely not overcrowded!

The grounds, lake and large double pool are beautiful! There is a tennis court and volleyball net. If you read more about this resort on their web page, it lists the following things… Spa, Exercise Room, multiple restaurants, discoteca. There is plenty of space for all of these things, but they do not exist at this time.

There is one restaurant onsite that we found to have good food. They have an all-inclusive option that can be purchased by the day for $50 per person. Or you can purchase each buffet meal on its own, this is the pricing per person $12 breakfast and $22 dinner. There is also one bar that is open each evening that we found to make great blender drinks.

We stayed for a week as a part of the RCI exchange week. The resort does have WI-FI included. We were in a one bedroom condo. There was one bedroom with two full bathrooms. The living room had a futon couch and a table that can seat 6 six people. The kitchen was adequate and included a refrigerator/freezer, Toaster oven (big enough to cook 4 pieces of chicken), blender, microwave, stove top, sink, pans, cooking utensils and dishes. The unit was a very spacious layout with lots of closet space and privacy. There were plenty of TV stations to watch (some in English and some in Spanish).

There is an on-site tour service if you are interested in taking formal tours of the area. A car is a much easier and inexpensive way to get around. However, there is a definite lack of signage to find your way. I would definitely recommend some basic Spanish language or you will find yourself frustrated. The police that are great for directions and drawing maps do not speak English.

Club Melia and the surrounding area used to be Fort Gulick from when the US managed the canal. The surrounding area has many old barracks buildings that are now vacant and run down. It looks a little rough in areas but is safe. If you go into downtown Colon, be sure to be out of that area before dark. There are a lot of police around but it is not the safest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelf0rfun_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews