We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Ever”
Review of Melia Panama Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Panama Canal
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Colon
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel after coming from a 7 day cruise. It was a nigtmare dont even think abust satying here. First of all the Hotel has an awful smell, the AC in public areas does not work the ceelings are falling to pieces, rugs and furniture are dirty and old its like a ghost hotel. The food is extremelly expensive and it lacks personel. Also the rooms are awful ,dirty the bed squeeks. What can I say it was terrible and for a 115 dollars its too much!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 150 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at melia one night because our first impression was good. Once we got there, we were never offered drinks by the pool even though everyone else around us were catered too. When we went to the lunch buffet water was poured for us, then we never had drinks again. The food Buffett was terrible and 18 dollars a person. We both had a salad (because the rest of the food was grim) for 40 dollars. Also, there was no place to go for food otherwise. Colon is dangerous and dirty. The locks were great, but that was it. Rooms were fine and clean but food and service were aweful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colocouple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

First off, the Melia Panama Canal is a beautiful property. It has a beautiful pool and Spanish Architecture, located on Lake Gatun. It could be such a great hotel if Melia Hotel Properties would only put more into it. It lacks what hotel travelers expect: prompt and courteous service (asked for an additional towel when checking in - it never came), ironing boards with irons in the room, toilet paper holders that fell apart when using. Perhaps symbolic was flag poles with only 3 flags flying, more than 1/2 were empty. Use them or remove them would be my suggestion. Would I stay here again despite all of this? I am not sure. I wish the owners would read this and make the changes that one expects for a hotel, because this could be a fantastic property

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masada11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Not all parts of this hotel were perfect, but overall it was a really nice experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was large and very clean. The King size bed was very comfortable, and the bedding and towels were very high quality. The location and property are great. Colon itself is dirty and very crowded, so it was a welcome relief to come back to this lovely old hotel on Gatun Lake. It is located just a couple of miles from the Gatun Locks, so made this side trip super easy. The double decker pool was wonderful, and the boat trip we took on the Lake was fun. Lots of local wildlife (sloths, toucans, monkeys). The food wasn't the greatest, but we found that during our 2 week road trip, the food generally throughout Panama was not good. Also, the Hotel is used by many people traveling to Panama for business, so at the fun bar (with a pool table) we met some very nice people from all over the world. While the hotel is older, and not as "crisp" as a brand new hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Although they are experiencing some renovation setbacks due to extreme rain over the past few months this facility offers the most exquisite dining and old world style. The swimming pools are inviting and Incredibly beautiful with mosaic tile design that rivals any European hotel. The staff is friendly and professional and the rates are very very reasonable. Situated on Gatun Lake this facility is a beautiful and peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor overlooking the pools and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colon
5.5 km away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
6.1 km away
Hotel Andros
Hotel Andros
#4 of 9 in Colon
13 reviews
35.5 km away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
971 reviews
10.9 km away
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
#1 of 1 in Fort Sherman
61 reviews
0 km away
Coconut Grove Lodge
Coconut Grove Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Grande
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Panama Canal

Address: | Residencial El Espinar, Colon 0301, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Colon
Price Range: €47 - €74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Panama Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Gatún surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation, in the city of Colón (Panama), and a short distance from the Free Trade Zone, the Gatún locks, la Granja, the ruins of San Lorenzo and the beaches, the Meliá Panamá Canal is the best option for discovering Panamá, thanks to its beautiful natural surroundings, its comfortable and complete facilities and the quality of its services. The Meliá Panamá Canal is the perfect setting for living exciting adventure tours, ecotourism, bike rides, canopy and eco walks and hiking so you can admire the exquisite flora and fauna of this unique and idyllic corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Panama Canal Hotel Colon
Melia Hotel Panama Canal
Melia Hotel Colon
Melia Panama Canal Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing