We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly exceptional restaurant-Must try for foodies!”
Review of Amaranthai

Amaranthai
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Sohar
Price range: US$13 - US$31
Description: Amaranthai serves Thai food with a Chinese twist, a 'fusion' creating a fresh blend of Asian cuisine. Enjoy the view and fresh sea breeze while dinning on the terrace, and linger over a tropical cocktail or an Asian beverage as you soak in the ambiance.
Restaurant details
Description: Amaranthai serves Thai food with a Chinese twist, a 'fusion' creating a fresh blend of Asian cuisine. Enjoy the view and fresh sea breeze while dinning on the terrace, and linger over a tropical cocktail or an Asian beverage as you soak in the ambiance.
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Amaranthai restaurant is one of the best restaurants in Sohar, I am even tempted to say that is one of my favorite restaurants in the world... The ambiance is so serene and magical, the service is on point and of course the food is so tasty and the presentation creative. The Chef is helpful and didn't hesitate to answer our questions... I highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2017

Excellent food great choice of dessert ambiance very nice over looking swimming pool, staff very attentive nothing to much trouble, great bar up stairs to relax after dinner

Thank jcowlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjeevB, Manager at Amaranthai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear jcowlam,

Thank you for your time in writing this review .

We look forward welcoming you in the near future.


Kind regards

Ajeev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I was there for a work meeting and opted for the salad lunch buffet. Everything was great! The breads were fresh, desserts were decadent, and the atmosphere lovely.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjeevB, Manager at Amaranthai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Chinadoll219,

Many thanks for this kind review.

Yes indeed very Saturday we do the Thai Buffet Lunch from 12.30 pm - 3.30 pm.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ajeev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Very good Thai food in a great setting - outside sitting and overlooking the beach and sea. Service perhaps a little slow. I was keen to have dessert but the waitress was so slow in coming back with menus after the main course that I eventually gave it a miss. Pleasant enough to return though.

Thank LeeKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphael R, Manager at Amaranthai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear LeeKZN,
Thank you for reviewing Amaranthai. We are glad that you liked the ambiance and food.
Our apologies for the delay in service and we have ensured that the service team have improved the speed of service. The Thai desserts are very popular and skillfully created by our Chefs, they are a must try. We look forward to welcoming you back at Amaranthai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely, authentic Thai. Beautiful outdoor setting. Reasonable wine list (for Sohar!). The service is good but can be a little overbearing sometimes. Have visited twice and was happy both times.

Thank Kirrili W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphael R, Manager at Amaranthai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Kirrili W,

Thank you for your the lovely feedback for Amaranthai.
We take note about your comment about the wine list and the service.
Looking forward to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaranthai also viewed

Sohar, Al Batinah Governorate
Sohar, Al Batinah Governorate
 
Sohar, Al Batinah Governorate
Sohar, Al Batinah Governorate
 
Sohar, Al Batinah Governorate
Sohar, Al Batinah Governorate
 

Been to Amaranthai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing