We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
48
54
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
54
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room layout clean and comfortable rooms staff were helpful and friendly in town other hotels free wifi buffet breakfast family room modern hotel nice room recommend this hotel central location excellent location on arrival amenities kok noise
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

The room I stayed in was very spacious and the balcony had views of the ocean and the dunes. However there was no place to keep a soap or shampoo in the shower. No joke - had to rest them on the floor while one showered. :D

The building is a literal maze. Some of the corridors lead to locked offices.

Breakfast - This is probably an anomaly, but here is the experience I had :
On the first morning we arrived at 7.12am and half the food was gone. There were only some scoops of cut fruit, the eggs in the warmer were empty, the pastries were gone and there were no tables with set places. There was a table with a wet rag on it. They removed the rag and told us we could sit there. :/ There was a lot of fresh coffee, sausages and sliced bread. We had and early morning appointment and left within 10 minutes. No food was refilled in that time

The next day, we reached at 7.20am and there was even lesser food left! Luckily we got seats right next to the food and had nowhere to be. We sat for a good half hour to observe the lack of food. There was one sad muffin in the pastry tray. There was and empty fruit bowl. There was only one bun left. (all the meat was still there). After 10 minutes the pastry tray was refilled with around 15 assorted pastries. we took one each. People started complaining about the lack of food. A manager (?) came and looked. Fruit was refilled. As we left, a family came in for breakfast. I wonder what they ate.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeelimaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We went to Swakopmund with my parents who had visited us from Harare and we booked a family suite for 4 adults. The location is superb, accommodation is just basic, nothing spectacular . We were put in a two roomed family cottage which was clean with necessary amnesties, clean and comfortable beds. But there was no coffee tables or any sofas for us to rest together as a family in our rooms and we couldn't get a crib for our baby , we were told pay extra for it( actually $2000 for 4 nights) which was ridiculous for a family hotel. How can you offer family rooms without baby cribs in the rooms , it was just weird.
The staff were friendly enough not to make you feel out of place.
Breakfast was good but same things over and over, no much choices .
With all that said it's a good value for money hotel and will recommend it to families visiting Swakopmund for some days.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank shepherd c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Loved this hotel, very fresh and ideal location. You can walk everywhere.
Rooms are very nice and cosy and the beds slept amazing! I f I ever get back to Swakopmund I will definitely stay again! Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Elske B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We booked a family room. This are two rooms with a shared bath room.
The rooms were very nice, clean and new.
It is located in the center near to a lot of interesting spots.
In addition the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cheesedealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan K, Manager at Swakopmund Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Swakopmund Plaza Hotel.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take special pride in our friendly and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to Swakopmund Plaza Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Swakopmund Plaza was a good place to stay, I enjoyed my night stay and decided to extend my stay for another day. I would recommend anyone that wants to be on the coastal town of Namibia to book in Plaza hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kapenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan K, Manager at Swakopmund Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Swakopmund Plaza Hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very happy for your recommendations!

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews