We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
46
36
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
36
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering chalets guest house nice pool peace and quiet braai area enjoyed our stay desert pets guesthouse camping mist town bungalow facilities lounge namibia swakop
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wide open spaces and nice views! Self catering chalets were well kitted out. Pet-Friendly. Lack of Aircon / Fans made for unpleasant sleep as it was East Weather. No shops nearby. Will go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erasmus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

i stayed for 2 days at Gecko Ridge and i enjoyed being in the desert..there is a good pool to swim in and the lodge is beautiful. better to have your own vehicle since it is far off the main road..recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lula2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The self catering chalets are large, clean and very nicely furnished. Everything in the bathroom works and the out door braai/BBQ area is fantastic!
Gecko Ridge is a few km out of town but not inconveniently far and overlooks a river. View are nice and the area is safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynnfromsandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

loved the view over the Desert / part of the moon land scape. Not as cold at Swakopmund. Perfect to still enjoy Swakopmund and desert at the same time. Even saw a desert cameleon. THANK YOU - will come again in December

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The picture that greets you as you roll up the drive to Gecko Ridge is exactly the one you expect. This is a stylish, chic home. The rooms all have wonderful aspects, on the ground floor, they look over the surrounding gardens and full sized pool. On the upper floor they look to the dunes of the desert which surrounds the little Germanic town of Swakopmund. Although it lies close to the town and the world famous Rossmund Desert Golf Course it evades the notorious cold sea mist that rolls in each evening. The rooms are large and comfortable, a silent ceiling fan moves the air round without disturbing the peace and quiet of the desert nights. The shower and bathroom are spacious, well lit and spotlessly clean. Housekeeping was immaculate throughout and yet the house remained a home.

All this would have been enough but the hospitality that Zandre extends is above and beyond expectations. A practicing engineer and entrepreneur, conversation with him can reveal much about the area and Namibia today. He could not have been more helpful. When we encountered problems in Swakopmund, he was at our side within minutes to smooth out the way and help us, sacrificing the best part of the day to make sure that our holiday was interrupted as little as possible. We will be eternally grateful for that. Guri, who aids him in the running of the house cooks up a great meal and the breakfasts, contrary to one report on Tripadvisor, are full and delicious.

I was amazed to hear that he has camping and self catering facilities as well, so unobtrusive were they. I know one thing for sure, this wonderful secure and lovely home will be the first place I will return to when we come back to Namibia

Room Tip: The views from the upper rooms with their balconies are superb.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fothersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews