We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
99
154
54
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
154
54
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old railway train station pool area casino attached historical hotel lovely hotel central courtyard interesting town victorian style staff were professional german town our entire stay the air conditioning the hotel staff excellent facilities located within walking distance african wines
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Have stayed in this hotel twice now, first time 12 years ago. Lovely hotel, well kept and clean. There is a casino attached if you feel lucky ! Location is excellent for exploring the town. Rooms are nice and well equipped. Restaurant is very good, food was varied and good. Excellent wine list. Staff were friendly and very efficient.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Alba_Scot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty. We are always pleased to be your second home when you're at Swakopmund!

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

I spent 2 weeks here while on a business trip. The staff made me really feel at home, and catered to my every need. They were consistently friendly and helpful, and made my stay an absolute pleasure. The rooms are reasonably sized, and the restaurant gives good food. The hotel is conveniently situated in the town center, with easy access to the beach, shops and restaurants. There is a casino next door, but within the same complex, and a small, poorly equipped gym that hotel guests may use.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinB2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your review and for the perfect rating! We truly appreciate your business and your trust in us.
I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations.
I have however noted your comment with regards to the Gym, please be assured that I will pass this on to them in order for them to look at upgrading their equipment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We were a bit worried about coming here as it was booked by our travel agent and looked bigger than the usual hotels we stay in. However, it proved a good choice. We were met on arrival, bags delivered to the room, friendly and quick check in. The room had recently been refurbished and was lovely, quite large and a splendid bathroom.
We had a late lunch on arrival which was good but took time to get to us. It is well located in the centre of the town with an easy walk to the beach and ocean. It was also very quiet. Breakfast is in a restaurant decorated to look like a railway carriage (as this is the old railway station). Buffet breakfast was a good start to our day

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do not regret your agents' choice!

Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

3 days 2 nights weekend stay at the Swakopmund Hotel and Casino while enjoying the Atlantic sea and the poker tournament at the Casino.

Staff were professional and extremely friendly throughout our entire stay.

Considering that the hotel building was previously a railway station and that it is currently a historical monument or building, it does not serve as an excuse for the lack of upgrades, especially within the rooms. Especially that sleeper couch.

A much needed renovation is due.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gerlindd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive and we truly appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We are in the process of planning a refurb and had already completed our mock up rooms. Hopefully we will be able to start in the near future and in time for your next visit for next years' Poker Tournament!

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Easy walk to the town.
Good food
Lovely dining room Platform 1
They had made a mistake in recording our payment through Bookings .com
The confusion between Namibian dollars and Australian dollars took a great deal of time and is not fully resolved yet. They tried very hard and were quite approachable.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations.
I have noted that the payment issue has not been resolved, I will follow this up with my team and you are also welcome to contact me on: swakopmund@legacyhotels.co.za
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews