We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
US$155
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Essaouira Lodge(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$109
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Baladin(Essaouira)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$68
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Zahra(Essaouira)
US$70
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
582
167
54
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
167
54
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceprivate dining roomsbeef taginefamily suitehot water bottlessister hotelnooks and cranniesles jardinsdelicious lunchberber marketevery guestsea viewour honeymooncentral courtyardevery morningspent nightsthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

My friends and I stayed in one of the suites. The hotel is old but clean and beautifully decorated with little common areas for relaxing and eating.
The staff are wonderful. We felt welcome as soon as we arrived. The owner also popped around and chatted with us and others, which is always a sign of a hotel that cares about its guests.
Standout staff member was Fatima. An absolutely lovely and friendly lady that cleaned our room, served us breakfast and made us feel comfortable and welcome.
We ate at the hotel one night. Delicious food. Again great service.
One negative (common amongst all the hotels we stayed at during our time in Morocco) - dark rooms! The lighting was poor in our suite as there was little natural light.
Would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lyndal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely report. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Dear future guest, please contact us and we can show you the best available rooms and even send you pictures if you want. Some rooms are dark but most of our rooms get a lot of light because Villa Maroc is situated at the border of the medina. We are pleased to help you to find the room which suits you best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The team are wonderful, the property is beautiful, and the food is fantastic. The riad is also brilliantly located for exploring the town. I had a wonderful stay and would love to return. Nothing was too much trouble and I had a really relaxing stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank esheppard2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you very much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maroc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

very clean, historical Building, well located in the Medina, perfect view from the roof terrace, average dinner, Pool-shuttle to sister-hotel costs extra, Spa was quite expensive, Little shop inside the riad

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 646sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Oozing with charm! It is authentic, but as comfortable as a new 5 star; it is elegant, but not pretentious; it is in the medina, but close to the entrance where motorized cars park. The servce is A1; the management accommodating; and the food excellent. I keep hearing of new hotels in Essaouira, but will not risk going anywhere else.
The date given below is of my last stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fwshereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you so much for that lovely review. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Villa Maroc is a gorgeous riad, extensive and labyrinthine, with beautifully furnished secluded dining areas and lovely bedroom suites. We were lucky enough to have an upper floor suite of rooms with no other occupants in the rooms below, which give on to a common courtyard. It would have been a different experience had there been some. The rooms vary greatly in size, position, and views (and no doubt price). We would advise that you chose your room well.

The staff are delightful - welcoming and friendly - and they are pleased to engage in conversation and give advice on the town and surrounding area. We took a trip to a Berber market, and had a thoroughly entertaining morning with our guide, Hisham, who was excellent and never failed to answer our stream of questions. Especially nice too were Fatima and the staff serving breakfast on the roof-top terrace, which has fine views over the town and the seafront. Very generous breakfasts with many homemade items - crepes, cornbreads, doughnuts, yoghurts, jams etc. The hotel's proprietor often greeted breakfasting guests, and took time to engage her clients in any one of at least three languages we heard her speak! A nice touch.

Our one disappointment was that the sea was too cold (even for locals) for swimming, and there was often a stiff breeze blowing. This was obviously good news for wind-surfers etc. However, we made use of the excellent facilities at Les Jardins du Villa Maroc, some 10 kms inland, where there is a heated swimming pool. The temperatures were thankfully much higher out there. A copious bbq lunch is served by helpful staff.

The medina and souk in Essaouira, of manageable size, were pleasant stroll around - unlike say Fez or Marrakech.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 282royd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely report. We hope to see you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews