We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”

Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra)
Ranked #3 of 276 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grilling dishes on glowing embers was at the base of all cookery, and is an art our Chef Mohammed has mastered perfectly. Here on the second floor of the Riad Zahra with an ocean view Mediterranean cuisine is to the fore. Paëllas, lobster or prawns, sea fish, shellfish, meat ... At the heart of our cuisine are the superb natural products, which give out all their savours under the embers' influence, sharing their aromas with the grills and the products cooked on them. Jofre will help you choose dishes that are just right for you and will help you choose wines to match them. There's also a wide range of wines for you to enjoy.
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

The best meal we had in Morocco, absolutely wonderful. A very good selection of seafood dishes. The wine was good too.

Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Geoffrey,
It is with pleasure that we read your wonderful comments, many thanks for your kind review and we do hope to see you coming back with another visit too!
Best wishes
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Just had a fantastic dining experience , from arrival to saying goodbye it was perfect , set at the top of the beautiful Riad Zahra , the well presented dining area was comfortable , the waiter immediately made us feel welcome , the food was excellent , squid , razor clams, monkfish , followed by a Brule , start to finish 10/10
Thank you

Thank daz3226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you dear Sir for your review and great comments.
we are so glad that you had such a great experience dining with us.
look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We dined here as we were staying at the Riad Zahra and the 30 second walk from our room after a particularly long day was far more tempting than a 20 minute walk in to the town.
The restaurant is fairly small but certainly not cramped and it does get booked out so would be worth making a reservation.
We shared a goats cheese salad to start which was plentiful for 3. We would certainly have struggled with the portion size if we ordered separate starters!
I chose monkfish for my main but feel I made a poor choice as it was in roquefort sauce and was slightly too overpowering for the delicate flavour of the monkfish but it was cooked well and the presentation was lovely. My son had a tuna dish which was on the daily specials and it was absolutely delicious and my daughter had steak which was cooked to perfection. There was quite an extensive choice of wines and I just had one available by the glass which was lovely. We did not opt for desserts as we were extremely full.
My only criticism (why very good, not excellent) is that a large table arrived during our meal and once they did arrive, the service faltered but this was because they were being dealt with individually instead of a group and they were quite an annoying group too.
It is one of the pricier restaurants in Essaouira but worth it.

Thank musttravelmore1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Customer,
It is with pleasure that we read your comments and happy to read you had a good dinner with us. I'm sorry if the group of people might have disturbed the tranquility of the restaurant.
Many thanks for your kind review, we do hope to see you coming back with another visit too!
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This is a charming, upstairs restaurant with a homey feel and delicious fish. We enjoyed the sea bass and the monk fish. Both were cooked to perfection, and super fresh! The cafe is on a back street, so it's away from the hubbub of the medina. Highly recommended.

Thank swannygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Customers,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us, and we are very glad we met your expectations.
Thank you for recommending us and look forward to seeing you again!
All the best
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

On the top floor of a Riad, one block back from the ocean. Side ocean view. Food and drink were top class. Service really friendly and proficient.

Thank fiolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra), responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review
We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Zahra's Grill, and look forward to seeing you again!
All the best
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra) also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Zahra's Grill (Riad Zahra)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing