We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Essaouira Lodge(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$134
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Baladin(Essaouira)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$108
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Adul(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveller rating
854
644
203
86
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
644
203
86
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachindoor poolbeach restaurantnice balconypool sideturn down servicesuperior roomluxury hotelsun loungersmain restaurantmint teagreat poola sea view roomhalf boardcrepeswatch the sunsetlovely staff
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Many think the hotel is dated, in my opinion it's beautiful, nicely designed, the room is not as generic as most big hotels and designed with the Moroccan style.

BUT, the service is not becoming of a good hotel as this: little eye contact, most staff seem uninterested in you but only in the technical details of moving things around. Fake smiles.
One lady in the reception when we checked in was genuinely nice.

The breakfast is good in terms of food but the service actually made it *unbearable*. Swarms of ants on the main table!, complete disregard of requests (basics- salt, juice, napkins, fork). Everything will be "brought to your table" so you end up waiting until the meal is cold. Most things had to be asked for 4 times, it was frustrating. They're clearly understaffed but also it feels like some staff members just don't care...

Could have been a great experience otherwise.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank atravellerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Médina Essaouira Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGallery by Sofitel-.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At the Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa -MGallery by Sofitel-, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Was a nice hotel with large swimming pool and private beach with comfortable lounge areas. It is noticable that the hotel was built in the 80-90s (a bit worn down some places i. the room) but it was always clean and neat, so did not bother us.

The service at the beach and at breakfast was excellent, however some of the reseptionists did not speak that well english, and they also gave us wrong information at check in. When we came we were given tea during check in since they said our room was not ready until 20 minutes, but then it turned out it was more like an hour ( although we arrived after 2 pm).

The reseptionist also told us that the breakfast was included, and when we had the breakfast, no one told us otherwise.But when we checked out they had added 25 EUR per day to hour bill. So I think they should be better at giving the guests the correct information.

Other than this we were happy with the location and facilities.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Haugtussa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Le Médina Essaouira Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGallery by Sofitel-.

It's always a pleasure to know that uou found our service at the beach and at breakfast excellent.

Inspired by the magnificent Moroccan riads, the Médina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGallery by Sofitel- is decorated in the traditional red of Essaouira. Less than 5 min walk from the medina and sea in front of the hotel with a private beach.

At our hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you for your review and i hope that we will see you soon at the Médina Essaouira Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGalery by Sofitel-.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-HR2@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Throughout our stay in Morocco - we have experienced nothing but warmth of hospitality and great service including in Essaouria itself. Unfortunately Le Medina fell well short of these standards - to the extent we would be hugely unlikely to book with Sofitel again.

It is hard to cover some of our smaller gripes but some of our main issues were:

The check in was conducted at arms length and minimal eye contact, no sense of a welcome, or pens to fill out the paperwork.

We had noted the warnings of tired decor but Air con is surely a basic expectation in any kind of hotel in warmer climes - ours need to be set to 5 degrees to get even the most feeble lukewarm flow. This is a major under investment and unforgivable.

The breakfast was a shambles, the egg station was awful, basic cutlery and crockery missing, staff moving chairs but ignoring food on the floor...

Our only exception was the guy by the pool who was great - but a stark contrast from the spa staff who were rude, dismissive and unhelpful. What sort of spa expects you to bring towels from your own room? But hey there was a 20% discount for guests....

Surely no one from Sofitel has been and witnessed this recently - if they have it only compounds the errors.

We loved the town of Essaourria and all it had to offer - but if we return we will be giving Le Medina a miss.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mgm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Le Médina Essaouira Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGallery by Sofitel-.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Le Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa -MGallery by Sofitel-, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We wanted to book a read but as I had points decided to book Le Medina in Essaouira. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist, given a glass of lovely mint tea before given our room. We were upgraded as the short break was a birthday celebration. The suite was lovely, plenty of room and they had also left, fruit, biscuits and dried fruit for us to enjoy.
PLEASE BE AWARE the Nespresso coffee in the rooms is NOT complimentary. I travel for work and have never had today for coffee in my room so after drinking 3 cups, I was more than angry to see a card on the side saying it was £2.50 a capsule.
The pool is beautiful and well kept, breakfast was ok, not really much of what I like but adequate.
Also everyone in the spa needs to be paid for separately, even the sauna!
I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I's say go for a pool view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Sharon

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa -MGallery by Sofitel- for your last stay at Essaouira.

It’s always a pleasure to read that you appreciated the welcome, the breakfast and the pool. Our team is very proud that you loved what we did for the birthday celebration.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

A really nice and clean hotel, right on the beach. Our bedroom was fantastically large, with a small balcony and a mini bar, but be aware the drinks in it aren't cheap.
Two bottles of free water delivered every evening.
Very nice swimming pool as well as a spa, small indoor pool and a fitness room!
Bar is very nice, not really expensive for local wine and bear, but they do lots of cocktails!
Breakfast is buffet style but excellent, everything you can think off, crepes, omletes fried, boiled or poached eggs, cooked tomato and potato wedges. Sausages and turkey bacon. Cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit and bread and cakes...good coffee as well.
The staff are all very nice, and most can speak some English.
I can't really see why there are negative reviews on here for it, we will certainly return.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Steve,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa -MGallery by Sofitel- for your last stay at Essaouira.

It is a real pleasure to read your motivating comment and that you appreciated all the services of the hotel. Our team is very proud that you found them very nice and professional.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews