We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
236
87
15
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
87
15
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlepool housetwo bedroom apartmenthours noticereal hotelshuttle servicemain townmin driverooms are hugeoff the beaten trackheated poolplenty of sunbedsmain poolnice poolthree course meallonger stayrental car
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

1. Room - I travelled with my husband and two-year-old daughter, and tried to book the 1-bedroom apartment (which had a cot bed and was less than half the price of the two bedroom apartment which had 5 beds (including a cot bed)) on booking.com, but were unable to do so as my daughter did not meet the age criteria for this. I contacted Essaouira Lodge directly, who reiterated that the two-bedroom apartment was most suitable, and the manager kindly gave us a discount as we would only be using the double bed and cot bed. If you are in a similar situation as us, please do contact them directly as they are willing to negotiate the prices! Great service in that respect.

The room itself was very spacious, clean, and had a lovely little garden where we could relax. My daughter was very excited every morning that the garden had kittens visiting us. Altogether, very nice. We cannot fault this.

2. The transfer service (which cost us 25 euros) from the airport was great, but we soon found out that the city's standard rate to and from the airport to the medina via taxi was only 150 Moroccan Dirhams (13 Euros), and that Essaouira Lodge offers a free shuttle service from and to the medina. Our recommendation would be to catch a taxi from the airport (which are widely available) to the medina, and to contact Essaouira lodge directly to pick you up with their free shuttle service. This way you could save yourself some money.

3. Safety of valuables - Upon arrival to our room, we discovered there was no safe in the room. This was greatly worrying to us as we were carrying quite a lot of valuables with us. The following morning, we addressed this issue with the owner of the Lodge, who told us that there was no safe, and to leave our valuables with him as cleaners would be entering our room. He told us to 'trust' our valuables with him. We felt hugely uncomfortable with this suggestion as we (1) hadn't met him before; and (2) generally would never leave our valuables with a complete stranger. We complained about this lack of service, and asked if there are any other options, but he could not give us any. We were forced to leave our valuables in a locked suitcase in the room. We, of course, felt uneasy about this but felt we had no other choice.

4. Food - Dinner at the Lodge is absolutely delicious but UNBELIEVABLY expensive. As we arrived in the late evening, we were forced to eat our dinner there and were shocked with the prices. You can find similar food from the medina for a third of the price - if not, less. But, of course, this is to be expected with hotel restaurants. Breakfast was good with a choice of foods available, but there's a serious issue with flies landing on top of the food. Although they covered this with clingfilm - other hotel-goers would not cover this back up after using it, causing the flies to infiltrate the foods. My suggestion to the hotel would be to have somebody to keep an eye on this to avoid flies landing on the food as this is hugely unappetising.

5. WiFi - Upon arrival, staff will give you a portable WiFi router for you to connect your devices to the internet. Our overall thoughts are that there are pros and cons to this. In one way it was great, as we were able to take this with us while we were exploring the city. At the medina, the internet connection was excellent, and very fast. We loved using it while we were out and about. However, at the Lodge, the internet connection was extremely poor. We hardly used it whilst we were there as a result of this.

6. Shuttle service - We LOVED the free shuttle service to and from the medina. The drivers were extremely respectful, polite, punctual and helpful. We used this every day and could not fault it. The drivers are also very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas, and one was able to recommend and take us to visit goats on trees when no other staff member was able to help! Great service.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Globetravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssaouiraLodge, Directeur général at Essaouira Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Globetravellerz,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to post this very comprehensive review about the Lodge and the team.

We are very happy that you had a great time at the Lodge.

Since your arrival in November 2016, the Lodge has been modernized: Internet is now available throughout the hotel, free of charge and unlimited, and believe me, due to the location of the lodge in the countryside in the heart of a protected thuyas forest, it was a great adventure to be connected to the internet :-). But now everything is in order and we are extremely pleased, for the comfort our hosts.

As regards your valuables, there is surely a misunderstanding. We have offered to keep your valuables in the safe of the office of the management. With this service, we are fully responsible for your items.

About our restaurant, we offer for lunch, an all-you-can-eat buffet at 15 € / person (free for children under 6 years), with table service around our beautiful swimming pool. Of course, there are several good restaurants at Essaouira for 5€/person.

The whole team joins me to greet you, and to thank you for all your remarks that help us to continually improve our services.

kindly

Team Essaouira Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We had a really wonderful fortnight's stay here. The staff are all so friendly and polite, thank you to Asami for his lovely smiling face in the mornings! Our room was cleaned daily by the maids who always took time to say hello, as did all
Staff. Also Hussain the courtesy bus driver who had so much patience with us, I miss the door being opened for me now I am back in England! This is a beautiful place to stay and so want to go back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssaouiraLodge, Directeur général at Essaouira Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Lisa,

The whole staff joins me to thank you a lot and is very happy to hear that you had a beautiful stay with us. If you need anything for a next visit, do not hesitate to ask us.

Kindly.

Team Essaouira Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

we traveled with friends in essaouira and found that the idea of lodging in lodges was the good idea .. the staff is very nice and professional .. their breakfast is very nice .. we go back again and again .

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christinalaurence20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssaouiraLodge, Directeur général at Essaouira Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Christina,

The whole team joins me to thank you a lot for this " amazing " review of your stay at the Lodge. An we will be there to greet you again and again :-).

kindly

Team Essaouira Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Stayed here for two weeks in September 2017. The hotel is a few miles outside of Essaouira but they do have a courtesy vehicle which you can book for anytime and will drop you off and pick you up at three different locations which is very handy. I found the location not to be a problem as its nice to get away from the hustle and bustle and relax around the lovely pool area. The rooms were cleaned everyday by the very polite maids and the bar staff were also lovely, chatty and very helpful. All in all this is a great place to stay, my only gripe is that there is no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms and the food and drinks are quite expensive compared to down in Essaouira.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mattyjames76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssaouiraLodge, Directeur général at Essaouira Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hello James,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a nice review. Your remarks are very interesting for us, and of course we take them in count to constantly improve us.

If you need anything for a next visit, the whole team stays at your disposal.

Kindly

Team Essaouira Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I visited the Lodge for a week with my 2 adult sons and one of their friends. We were learning to kitesurf and needed a comfortable base.We chose the Lodge because it had a decent pool and more outside space than the hotels in town. It is a short drive inland from the town which means that you are reliant on the shuttle/minibus which is very reliable. We would take the shuttle in twice a day. The fact that the Lodge is several miles in land means that when it was windy by the coast the weather was hotter and calmer at the Lodge for sitting by the pool. I would recommend this place for a longer stay. We had our evening meals in town.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssaouiraLodge, Directeur général at Essaouira Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Jonathan,

The whole team is very happy to hear that you and your family had a great time at the Lodge. We remain at your disposal for any demand for a next visit.

Kindly

Team Essaouira lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews