We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
685
138
25
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
138
25
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor suite quiet alley roof terrace rooms are spacious the location is perfect our honeymoon tucked away lovely staff relaxing stay tagine laid back the hustle and bustle sylvie abdullah riad morocco medina
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We spent one week here - 2 adults and 17 year old son.
From the minute you enter the front door off the alleyway you enter a world of charm and peace. The courtyard and restaurant area has beautiful furniture, tiles, ornaments and water features. Fresh roses in vases and many many candles at night, and the scent of amber oil. The team are absolutely lovely, so kind and gentle and helpful. Abdullah and Abdul were front of house, and the chefs - well, others have written about the quality of the food here and it's all completely true. We ate twice here and were delighted by the food - delicious, beautifully presented, very special indeed.
We had the room at the top, next to the terrace, which has a bedroom and a sitting room area with a sofa that can be made up to a single bed. The room is very comfortable, nicely decorated and furnished, great bathroom, beds made every day. It was very good to be close to the terrace where you can sunbathe at ease without fear of causing offence in vest tops etc around town - it's important to respect the local people with the way you dress I think. (Having said that, Essaouira is a much more laid back place than other towns in Morocco, but nevertheless, skimpy clothes are not the norm!). Back to the Riad - it's a very special place indeed and we will most definitely return. I am certain there are other lovely places in Essaouira but the team here are so kind - they made it for us. First day back today, and we are going to look at flights for later in the year, for another visit, so that says it all. Don't hesitate to book it!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a week at Riad Malaika and had a fabulous time. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The Riad is centrally located in the medina so is close to all the attractions and restaurants.
This a really nicely restored building with 9 rooms. We chose a superior one so that's what we can recommend. Our room was very pleasant and all the old features had been retained as farms as possible. This means there are the original tiled floors and you get the feel of being in Morocco, not a chrome and glass room that could be anywhere!
This place is not a luxury boutique, Just a really good place and good value.
The breakfast kept us going all day. We ate in the evening twice and the food is superb. The other nights we tried the top three restaurants at the time and the food here was better that any of them. The only caveat is that you have to book and order your food before 3 pm as the restaurant only has 5 tables

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mandv888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

I went here with my girlfriend and the food was incredible. The staff were fantastic and were incredibly attentive.

SETTING
The setting is beautiful, it's a very small Riad and it's quite intimate. I could only count about five tables.
The decor is incredible - they only way I can describe it is a high class authentic Moroccan Riad.

FOOD
I had the mixed seafood starter and the roast lamb main. the seafood was unbelievably fresh and contained Octopus, prawns and squid.
The lamb is simply a must have.
The deserts are very good and the level of detail that went into the presentation was impressive.
There is only one cook but the standard of food is what you'd find in a high end London restaurant.

WINE
They only have Moroccan white, red and rose. We had the red and it was very good. I've never had Moroccan wine but it surprised me at how good it was.

OVERALL
The meal cost around £50 for both of us including wine and it was a steal. Genuinely an incredible place and would 100% recommend - I couldn't pick a fault.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

In keeping with Essaouira's mellow, faded seaside charms, tourists here will generally not find the sort of manicured Riad- and Dar-stay opulence they would in Marrakesh or Fez. The Riad Malaika is a very good option here: excellent location, in the heart of the small, charming medina, and a 3-4 minute-walk from the Atlantic seafront; very reasonable price; and a very helpful staff. The courtyard on the ground floor is cosy and charming, and the effect is recreated with blue tiles on every floor. Rooms tend to be pretty small, and bathrooms can smell a wee bit off (Essaouira water in general has a bit of an odour). The Wifi was excellent: the best I encountered during my trip to Morocco. I would definitely consider staying here again on a return visit to Essaouira (we recommended it to two friends as well) -- a huge thanks to Abdullah for his excellent guidance, and to the ever-helpful kitchen staff for the very nice breakfasts.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Umair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Riad Malaika is a beautifully appointed tranquil riad in the heart of the town, close to Bab Sbaa and the main shopping area. Run by Abdullah and his team the riad is exceptionally well managed and nothing is too much trouble. On our first day he equipped us with a map and plenty of usefule suggestions on where to eat and what to see. He also booked us a great hammam and massage at Relaxation Marocaine. The food is beautifully presented and everything is homemade - from the jams and fresh cheese for breakfast to the beautiful and intricate pattiserie and desserts at dinner.

The Riad has a beautiful roof terrace with views over the medina roof tops, a perfect space for sunbathing, well sheltered from the wind, with a water feature sun loungers and space for sitting in the shade.

The rooms are spacious and individually decorated with antiques, artifacts and plenty of art. Our bathroom of traditional black polish concrete, with deep bath and brass taps was especially gorgeous. Would highly recommend and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: 1st floor is near to the restaurent but cool and shady. 2nd and 3rd are sunnier
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank binki t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews