We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
8
17
23
16
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
17
23
16
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Booking 4 nights, arranging a front bedroom overlooking Plas Moulay Hassan,and late departure with the manager,I arrived late Saturday night. I was asked for payment in advance,including city tax,and given my keys,refusing the first room,then the second room,then the third,and decided that I would not stop in these conditions.
The bed linen was dirty,there were no towels or hot water,the toilet did not flush,and the doors would not lock,and the rooms needed complete renovation and refurbishment.
Eventually I managed to get a full refund,and was prepared to call my Moroccan friends in Essaouira,even the police.
I sincerely hope that visitors to Essaouira do not assume that this appalling standard is acceptable throughout the medina,and beyond,and we are contacting the ministry of tourism to lodge formal complaints.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazmaniandevil2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The listing clearly stated this dump had A/C, toiletries, coffee/tea maker and a city view.
I booked and paid for 22 nights plus 29DH per day city tax. There was no A/C. No toiletries or towels. No city view or any external windows. I stayed ONE NIGHT and left for Agadir in a taxi. One big rip-off from start to finish. Definitely the worst hotel I have every stayed in anywhere.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReubenCamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night for convenience as I was flying back from Essaouira. From first sight, the room looked well decorated with exotic painted walls but unfortunately half of the electrics and plumbing don't work. The beds were not clean with dust and felt very cold at night. There are no towels or toiletries and only a little bit of toilet paper was left. The sink and shower area looked very dirty and unhygienic.
Also there is no lift at the hotel, so expect to carry your case up the stairs.
Overall, although this hotel was cheap (around 20€ a night), it should at least be cleaned for customers comfort.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Ad_S_A_I_K_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

In the 1920s this was the grandest hotel in Essaouira - since then its fallen into the hands of a brilliant but deranged owner who has done up the rooms in psychedelic colours - gold cornices, blue ceilings and red walls. It's like living in a Wes Anderson film - more Darjeeling express than Budapest Hotel. This could be one of the great hotels of the world, but at the moment it's incredibly dirty, run down and half the electrical fittings and plumbing doesn't work. The roof terrace is the greatest location in the town, but now full of broken furniture and empty beer bottles. A magnificent ruin - also very cheap, we paid 20 euros a night for a suite.

Room tip: insist on a suite at the front - the rooms vary wildly in quality from the outright slummy to the weirdly magnificent
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank owen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

No frills hotel, which is reflected in the price of accommodation . We were asked to pay the full amount on registration. Good location and friendly staff but helps if you speak some French. Room spacious with comfortable bed but was cold at night . So asked for a heater , which made it a lot more comfortable. Also had to ask for towels and hangers for the wardrobe but again these were supplied promptly. Bring your own toiletries and be prepared to wait for your shower, as you have to run the tap for 10 minutes to get hot water. No meals provided but nearby café ( turn right out of hotel through gate and on your left) has roof terrace and good value breakfasts !

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank COR106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews