We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't come back to this hotel.”
Review of Hotel Sahara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sahara
Ranked #70 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We went to the hotel because we had a problem at the apartment we had rented, and it was the only one available at a reasonable price. Its best days are long gone by. It needs a complete refurbishment. The rooms are painted in bright colors and it has the typical marroccan style, but the toilettes need a lot of love. We waited 10 minutes for the hot water, as the notice said, but it never arrived. It has a good location, just in the entrance of the Medina and very close to the beach, but it was not noisy at night. No lift and no breakfast, the restaurant is closed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perro48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Booking 4 nights, arranging a front bedroom overlooking Plas Moulay Hassan,and late departure with the manager,I arrived late Saturday night. I was asked for payment in advance,including city tax,and given my keys,refusing the first room,then the second room,then the third,and decided that I would not stop in these conditions.
The bed linen was dirty,there were no towels or hot water,the toilet did not flush,and the doors would not lock,and the rooms needed complete renovation and refurbishment.
Eventually I managed to get a full refund,and was prepared to call my Moroccan friends in Essaouira,even the police.
I sincerely hope that visitors to Essaouira do not assume that this appalling standard is acceptable throughout the medina,and beyond,and we are contacting the ministry of tourism to lodge formal complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazmaniandevil2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The listing clearly stated this dump had A/C, toiletries, coffee/tea maker and a city view.
I booked and paid for 22 nights plus 29DH per day city tax. There was no A/C. No toiletries or towels. No city view or any external windows. I stayed ONE NIGHT and left for Agadir in a taxi. One big rip-off from start to finish. Definitely the worst hotel I have every stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReubenCamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night for convenience as I was flying back from Essaouira. From first sight, the room looked well decorated with exotic painted walls but unfortunately half of the electrics and plumbing don't work. The beds were not clean with dust and felt very cold at night. There are no towels or toiletries and only a little bit of toilet paper was left. The sink and shower area looked very dirty and unhygienic.
Also there is no lift at the hotel, so expect to carry your case up the stairs.
Overall, although this hotel was cheap (around 20€ a night), it should at least be cleaned for customers comfort.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank AdAlex_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

In the 1920s this was the grandest hotel in Essaouira - since then its fallen into the hands of a brilliant but deranged owner who has done up the rooms in psychedelic colours - gold cornices, blue ceilings and red walls. It's like living in a Wes Anderson film - more Darjeeling express than Budapest Hotel. This could be one of the great hotels of the world, but at the moment it's incredibly dirty, run down and half the electrical fittings and plumbing doesn't work. The roof terrace is the greatest location in the town, but now full of broken furniture and empty beer bottles. A magnificent ruin - also very cheap, we paid 20 euros a night for a suite.

Room Tip: insist on a suite at the front - the rooms vary wildly in quality from the outright slummy to the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank owen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 km away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
102 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#41 of 75 in Essaouira
203 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Hotel Vent des Dunes
#26 of 75 in Essaouira
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#32 of 75 in Essaouira
272 reviews
0.1 km away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#35 of 75 in Essaouira
119 reviews
1.7 km away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#53 of 75 in Essaouira
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sahara

Address: Av Okba Ibnou Nafiaa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: €29 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sahara 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the old medina (historic quarter), HOTEL SAHARA is decorated with modern art work and wall murals. It features a panoramic terrace, which overlooks Essaouira’s main beach. Guest rooms at the hotel have a contemporary decor with unique furnishings. Each room has a bathroom, Alarm clock, Bed linen, Free Wi-Fi, Hair dryer, Internet access, Satellite / cable TV, Smoking permitted, Television, Toiletries, Towels. HOTEL SAHARA provides a daily breakfast and a 24-hour front desk with free internet access. It is situated just 3 yards from the main shopping district, Avenue Istiqal. Essaouira Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing