We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Fresh Food”
Review of Cabane Du Filao

Cabane Du Filao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$63
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We do only fresh seafood. If no catch we are not open. We also organise boat trips like big game fishing and catamaran tours.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a sunset dinner at this wonderful place. They only offer what they have fresh - seafood and fish. The quality was fantastic, the friendliness of the owners is breathtaking, the prices are very fair. Thank you for an amazing evening!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mcmiamitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

The Shrimp in cheese sauce was good. There was also large servings which we didn’t mind. Value for money I think.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Good 8nitiative at last I see something like this. Fresh seafood compared to frozen in all restaurants.The couple need to b encouraged for their initiative.8n return u enjoy fresh seafood.Price of fish very reasonable. Giant prawn and lobster expensive.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sulaiman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We all love the idea of that rustic little beachside find, where a fisherman brings in a fresh catch and you get a great value fresh seafood meal in a simple setting. The dream seems to be well sold on Tripadvisor - but this is a place where you pay dearly for your romantic ideas. Since we had just arrived on the Island we were not 100% au fait with the local pricing and combined with the fawning reviews here we decided to head off to this shack in a parking lot by the beach for some prawns. Nothing wrong with the food, simple, not extra-ordinary but ok. The discomfort comes when you start looking at the prices, seem high but anyway, then when you order a beer you get charged for a beer but poured a cup - in effect sharing a beer - then when the time comes to pay the humble owners suggest that they need to charge extra for a credit card payment "we have to pay for the wifi". Mildly peeved you leave - but its only on day two or three when you realise that you pay less for better seafood at the island's upscale restaurants - that the heartburn sets in. These charming "fisherfolk" have the revenue extraction model - and using tripadvisor to lure them in - down to a fine art. My bad for not checking prices and believing the hype.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jimboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishaM525, Owner at Cabane Du Filao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear tripadvisor
It's again the same person is writing.
Everything is writing in the wall free WiFi .
If you really did not like our place , I thing you should tell me what you didn't like.
We requests tripadvisor to see that matter because it's start disturbing our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

After reading the amazing reviews on trip advisor we decided we had to try this place but sadly we left feeling disappointed and ripped off. We didn't mind the fact that we the restaurant is pretty much a caravan with plastic chairs and tables outside. The food was nice, but certainly not outstanding or out of this world. The prices however were double that of what you can get at a restaurant down the road. The owners were friendly but then when it came to paying they wanted to charge us Rs100 to pay by credit card. Really? If you want to charge half restaurant prices, you can insist on cash, but if you are charging the price of fine dining and not providing the comfort of a restaurant then you really need to up your game on many levels

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank angelaH1761CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabane Du Filao also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Moka, Moka District
Cap Malheureux, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Palmar, Flacq District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Cabane Du Filao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing