We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should visit Mauritius at least once in their life.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We had booked the holiday to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it did not disappoint. In fact it exceeded our already high expectations. We had taken the All Inclusive option which is a must. We arrived very tired at 11am after our 24hours travelling time from house to hotel. The reception is stunningly beautiful with the most fantastic view. We were immediately given some refreshments by the very friendly reception staff and driven on a golf buggy to our Nirvana room within a half hour of arrival. The room was spacious and clean, bright and airy with a huge bathroom, which was beautifully decorated and you could actually sit in the bath and look out towards the sea.(perfect). The decor was as I imagined and in keeping with the Island feel, but maybe in need of of a little updating (which I've heard is due to happen soon) .
We unpacked and freshened up and headed out to the infinity pool which is gorgeous. We had lunch from La Faya restaurant next to the private pool (only Nirvana guests can use this pool). The food was delicious. We thought it was maybe because we were really hungry but over the course of the 9 nights we stayed the food was delicous every time and what a choice. 5 restaurants to pick from and at least 3 bars within the grounds.
We chilled out and relaxed for the first 5 days and lzed around the pool with the staff attending to our every need with the widest smiles you have ever seen. They just seemed to want us to really relax and enjoy everything.
As it was our Silver Wedding, we had booked a special Lobster dinner for our second night and the staff made it very special. We had a 7 course meal with Champagne and Cocktails in the Gazebo on the beach at La Faya restaurant. Our waiter Nicholas was wonderful and they had made up the menu with our names and our anniversary date on it for a little keepsake. We started eating a 8pm and by 10:30pm we had to ask them to stop as we would have to be rolled back our room. They had one last surprise for us and had a special chocolate cake with "Happy Anniversary" on it. It was delicious but we could only squeeze in a small slice each. All in all a very special and memorable evening.
All the staff at the hotel are lovely and the Mauritian people are so friendly and helpful. They are so knowledgeable about the history of the tiny island and so proud of it. And no wonder, its just breathtaking. Beautiful lush and green contrasted beautifully with the white sands and turquoise beaches.
We had read on other reviews that you need shoes to go into the sea. I would agree, it was a bit rocky and undulating under foot and the watershoes we had taken made you feel a bit safer although we never found anything dangerous to stand on. The Waves are huge and there was surfers out most days which was fun to watch.
We took a taxi tour booked through our rep,( although it was cheaper to book through the hotel) so check prices. We were getting it almost free from the rep because of a mix up in our booking so thats why we went with them. Either way its a must do. You see so much of the Island and thedrivers are great at explaining everything. They also take you to the duty free shops or the shopping Malls in Grand Baie or Port Louis. We did want to shop much but bought a few things for gifts. They pretty much went where you wanted to go. £100 for the whole day for up to 4 people.

We were so glad we had taken the All Inclusive as it left all our money for spending on trips etc. There was so much we could have done but we wanted to chillax. So the only other trip we took was a HELICOPTER tour. The best thing in the World. To see Mauritius from the air was just fantastic. There is no helipad at theMeridien so we had to go three hotels along by taxi. The taxi driver waited there totake us back again but it was the highlight of our holiday and made it all the more memorable.
We also took a taxi to Grand Baie late one afternoon and done some shopping and had a few drinks in a bar on Sunset Boulevard and watched the sunset which was stunning. We had a meal in the Paparazzi restaurant which was nice (not as nice as the food at the hotel mind you). But we really enjoyed our night out and we had agreed a place to meet our taxi driver and he had given us his phone number to call him when we were ready to go back to the hotel and was with us within 15 mins of us calling him. We had got him through the hotel which is always recommended. Although I never felt unsafe in Mauritius anyway as the crime rate is quite low and every one seems to have respect for everyone else. the round trip in the taxi including a tip was 1500 rupees( £30+ approx) which we though was okay. Apparently if you realy want to go native you can get a bus at the end of the road from the hotel for a couple of pounds.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff are always there when you need them and yet leave you alone to enjoy your own company. The guests were multi-national but everyone seemed to be enjoying theirselves. The bedding and towels are changed as often as you want them to be and the rooms are thoroughly cleaned and tidied daily. The buffet restaurant is fantastic with a different menu every night. La Faya was lovely and again different menu every night. We also went to The Cumin(indian) one night and again the meal was really good and all included in our package. We didn't go to Shells as we were already eating loads of seafood anyway. I also had to have room service one evening as my husband didnt feel very well (dehydration we think). Again the staff were wonderful and brought me my meal free of charge and no tray charge and they also offered to get the hotel doctor(again free of charge) but he didnt feel he needed to see him.
From what others said the drinks if your not all inclusive are very expensive around £8 for a Jack Daniels/southern comfort (these are not on the AI package) but smirnoff vodka is and plenty of other stuff including water/teas/coffees all the non alcoholic cocktails were included and these were lovely and refreshing during the day.
Overall we found it great value for money and yet felt we were being pampered and treated to a bit of luxury. We really cannot think of a negative, except maybe in the height of the season they could probably do with a few more sun beds at the Nirvana rooms as we brits like to get out there early. To be honest its the age old problem of people putting towels on and then not appearing for hours and thats just selfish to me. We didnt have any problems as I like to get up and out early anyway as the sun goes down quite early too. The only other negative point of our holiday was we wished we'd booked for a longer stay. 9 nights just wasnt enough. 14 nights would have been better and we usually find a week to ten days is long enough anywhere but not Mauritius. I feel I could have stayed a month or forever maybe. We could not have asked for better. So much so we've kept the rupees we came home with and are saving up to go again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,911 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon in September. We had an amazing time! The food was great, lots of choice. The staff really made it, they were all very helpful and couldn't do enough to make your stay special. Our housekeeping lady, Lillah, and bar/restaurant staff; Kamal, Anesh, Vik, Anan were all outstanding.

I would definately recommend this hotel. I am sad to be home!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Stayed at le meridien for 7 nights in September. No (real) complaints - all of it good - some of it outstanding.
I had asked for sea view and we certainly had one but be careful what you wish for - it came at the cost of a 300m walk from reception! Not great if the key doesn't work or you've forgotten your sun glasses.
Room superb, even the the "Deluxe" which was the cheapest was huge, though the balcony was only big enough for two. Food excellent, especially La Faya and Shells. Beer very good - forget Phoenix - go for "Blue Marlin".
Drinks were a ridiculous price - four quid for a beer, eight quid for a cocktail (which were pretty watery - take my advice and ask for less ice but add an extra 40ml of rum) and not very special wine was easily 30 - 40 quid a bottle. There is the option to go all inclusive at 65euros a day which is worth it but wait 'till your there and that way you can specify the days. There's not much point in paying for the day if you arrive at 4pm and leave at 6am.
Having said that the food realy was good, the beach is fantastic and the staff wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

greetings to the management & team,
when my husbabd toled me about the le meridien, i got excited and stared searching reviews.which finelly met the expection during the stay.
we stayed at nirwana wing which was beauitful, the beach was rocky so we walked towards the othere side of the hotel which is sandy.

About the food, the la faya is very good but the cumin is the best,coz we preffered idian food. i remember chef deepak and arvind,& their food. i still miss the flavour & taste.
the live band at bay wiew was good which we enjoyed almost everyday after dinner.
at night walk at bech was the best moment for us.

thanks a lot le merdidien.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faiz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon in February 2010. As it was a special holiday we upgraded to the Nirvana Suites sea view and im glad we did. The food was amazing, we ate at the adults only restaurant most nights but the other restaurants are just as good. In the honeymoon package we had a special 'honeymooners' meal at Shells Restaurant and a complimentary spa treatment.
Rooms were very clean and the house keeping staff asked us everyday if we were happy with the rooms.
I did go back and have further treatments at the spa and I fully recommend to there.
I have no complaints to make at all about this hotel
Thank you for making my honeymoon so special we both said we would love to return here one day

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxymini2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
30.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,669 reviews
0.8 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,991 reviews
2.8 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,585 reviews
15.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: €166 - €392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing