We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Voile Bleue(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fita Residence(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$35
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$1,049
US$597
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Margarita(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
De Conti Hotel(Pointe Aux Piments)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,400)
Filter reviews
3,400 results
Traveller rating
1,491
1,141
461
169
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,491
1,141
461
169
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fayanirvana wingindian restaurantshells restaurantnirvana areanirvana poolbay view barpool barnirvana guestsdegrees restaurantour honeymoonroyal suitespecial thankscandle light dinnerall inclusive packageglass bottom boatwater sports
Filter
Updating list...
1,787 - 1,792 of 3,400 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Got back last week after spending a week here with the wife and two kids (9 and 10). We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Weather- It was winter in Mauritius but some days topped out at around 28 degrees with not a cloud in the sky, others were sunny in the morning but overcast later. When it`s sunny at sunset you get an excellent photo opportunity as the coast faces west- in fact if you walk along the beach from Le Victoria many, many people are taking pictures of the sunset.
Food- Well, after two weeks in Mauritius what I had thought to be a developing six -pack has well and truly disappeared. I must say I was partial to the Phoenix beer (MRU600 for a big `un in the hotel, MRU60 or less in a shop down the road...) but the food was the real star.

The breakfasts were sumptuous feasts and I was a great fan of the smoked marlin, which appeared regularly.
Dinner was either a buffet or a la carte from one of selection of restaurants. Shells for seafood was our first choice (after trying the buffet on the first night- Mauritian speciality night so we had to try it). Shells was good but there were a few stray dogs on the beach that could have been shoo`d away a bit more. Didn`t bother us but one of the Italian couples eating on the beach (at the table under a canopy) got a bit annoyed and had to move. Cumin was Indian food. V tasty but we didn`t go back as the kids don`t really like spicy food. La Faya was our favourite. Jimmy was an excellent Maitre d` and where do I start with the food? It`s meant to be Med with a tropical twist I think- . One night there was pepper encrusted yellowfin tuna, another night I had what was essentially a crystal ball with a fish concoction inside- v tasty. The kids liked it here too and as the restaurant was out of the way (right near the Nirvana area) the atmosphere was a bit less frenetic.

One our lot went to the Penguin club, really enjoyed it and had her face painted after breakfast everyday too. The other thrived on the watersports and we had plenty of goes at waterskiing, kayaking etc.

We also took a couple of dolphin seeing trips from the private company within the hotel. The first was quite pricy but was for a whole day. I`m not sure they made much money though as we had to take a speedboat right down to the south (le Morne) to see the grey mammals. It was worth it though- NB trip also involved sightseeing at Crystal Rock, lunch and overtaking all of the Catamaran day-trippers at high speed on the way back. Bumpy though.

In fact, we liked the dolphins so much we went back to swim with them the following day- however this time they were only 2km (5 mins) from the hotel, beyond the reef.

The service in the hotel was excellent and I would like to thank them for letting me keep my bags in the hotel after checkout so that I could catch a late taxi to the airport. We spent the day on the beach.

The gym-needs updating.

Free Wifi- in the lobby- v handy.

Room was clean and large- big plasma TV came in v handy for the Olympics.

Downsides:
I would say that the swimming in Mauritius is unsafe if you go out of the designated swimming zones. The same applies here, except the lagoon is v narrow outside Le Meridien so there is not much room for the many speedboats, pedalos and kayaks that use the water alongside swimmers and snorkelers. Someone will probably get hurt sooner or later and the boats really should be outside the reef even if this affects them commercially. The same proximity would not be allowed countries like Italy and Spain.

I also noted that the hotel produced a daily update of what was going on at the hotel. While I applaud the use of recycling old paper to print this on, they should probably avoid doing so on the back of a print off of who was staying where and how much they paid. This even included some of the people who have since reviewed the hotel on Tripadvisor below me. I also saw that some people were given a VIP code- maybe they`re SPG gold members? Still, it was reassuring to see that I had not overpaid and that ba.com had charged a fair price.

Overall, the atmosphere was a bit less cosy than the smaller hotel we stayed in in the previous week but the many facilities made up for this. The staff are all friendly and it was a lovely visit.

NB do not miss the botanical gardens as they are only 15 mins away in the car- some amazing palms, ferns and trees there.

Room Tip: Ground floor is handy for walking down to the ocean as you can just open the large doors and stroll down the path.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManlyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Manly J,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our food and service. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed in this finest hotel on my honeymoon with my wife... Before booking it i was not sure of staying there but after recommended by my travel agent i said yes....I have stayed in manny 5 star hotels but this one was a unforgettable experience.I stayed their for 7 days and each day was more better than the earlier as they had different theme for each day as like indian bollywood theme , chinese theme, etc.everything was according to the theme food, the dress code of all hotel staff , the deco...The rooms were quite big and with beautiful bathroom and a clear view of the ocean .. The swimming pool area was too good and a pool bar with cocktails making it more romantic ....The main bar area is the best part as a round shaped bar just on the beach side with drinks and cocktails from allover the globe,, and they had free drinks on the house times in the evening with live dance..... The Spa is the best i ever had as we visited it twice in a day....... the beach is very clean and enjoyable .. The overall stay was that great ,that we cancelled our 2 day outdoor trips in our package just for the sake of staying in the hotel....The staff is too friendly and understandable ....There is nothing i can find bad abt this property its simply the best place in lle Maurice to stay ..I defiantly will visit again.....
The best thing was me and my wife did not wanted to leave from this hotel on our last day of stay but..... had further booking .......Do visit to enjoy this Hotel to have the nest time of ur life

Room Tip: the ocean facing Ground Floor rooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauravpunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Gauravpunj,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our service. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Great. That's how we can classify our stay at Le Meridien.Being Mauritians we usually go to hotels to relax and get away with our busy life. This has been our first stay at this hotel and we had some apprehension before arriving there. However, great was our surprise at the service offered, the entry drinks, the beautiful lobby and the friendly staff. We were offered the Royal Suit , fabulous . Special thanks to Mrs Shivanee and all the friendly and helpful staff at La Faya restaurant.The cocktails also were very good. I came with my small family meaning my husband and two sons and we really enjoyed a very nice time there. My children were crying when we checked out, so beautiful had been their stay. Only one thing i would advise the management is to make the guest aware at reservation time that in the all inclusive package, the lunch must be taken on the arrival date itself . This has been quite as a surprise for us , Mauritians, since in most hotels the lunch can be taken on both days or on the next day. We checked in at around 2.30 pm after having lunch in a restaurant in Port Louis, thinking that we would get lunch at the hotel on the next day. This is the only dark spot.
Apart from that, of course we will recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Phoenix Tara,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our service. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Hotel is old and neglected. Rooms need a lot of work. Our bath and basin plugs did not work, toilet needs pumping before it will flush. Curtian in room did not close all the way, patio door could not open all the way. Matress had to be replaced, pilows had to be replaced. Swimming towels old, discoloured, and frayed. Service staff is very poor. Swim area very small, compared to hotel next door. Chef and service level of higiene is atrosious, handling food with fingers - no gloves or utensils. Also experienced the servers very quick to take your plate, but not so efficient to assist with any requests, like coffee etc. did not feel safe and secure with my 4 yr old at the penguin club. Too many other staff coming and going through the gate, which is not always closed!. Ladies at club rotate between beach duty, aqua aerobics and kidds, how can they then be called specialized?. Booked all inclisive package, but on arrival found out that any item on a menu with an astrixs next to it - is extra charge. Surprise 50% on the menu had astrixs!. Only two items to choose from for lunch next to the pool!. What's with all the indian food? All 3 restaurants serve curry?. Not good for people like us that don't eat curry. Very limited food choice then. Will mot recommend anyone to go there, nor will i ever again.

Room Tip: Don't go to meridien!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weltrvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Weltrvld,

Thank You for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in Le Meridien Ile Maurice July 23rd to August 9th and can highly recommend this resort for their friendly and efficient service. The staff are all warm, friendly, attentive and helpful. They consistently make sure everyone's comfortable and happy. We were on a family holiday with our young daughters 9 and 13 years old. The location is great being near Grand Baie, which is a lovely village about 15 minute drive from hotel. The resort can arrange a taxi for approx 1400Rs( approx. £33). the taxi will bring you there, wait for 3 hours and bring you back to the hotel. You should go to Grand Baie at least once and have a meal or shop.
There are 4 restaurants including 180, which is the main restaurant serving breakfast and dinner, buffet style. You also have a great Indian restaurant called Le Cumin, which offers a variety of choices including fresly made nan bread. Delicious! If you prefer a la carte, then you should try La Faya, which is the restaurant on the Nirvana side (designed for adults with an infinity pool and private bar), but La Faya is open to children. Very calm and beautiful side of the resort. Finally there is Shells, seafood restaurant on the beach. If you are on half board you can eat dinner in all these restauarants and apart from a few grilled choices on Shells menu and the same for La Faya, most of the menu is on half board.
For lunch, you can either eat at La Faya or the pool bar or La Croque. There is a limited menu at the pool bar, but then if not enough have a walk on the beach to La Faya or stroll over to La Croque, sufficient choices in both.
Penguin club for children up to 11 is busy. The ladies there are very friendly and the children are happy. My younger daughter did not use it much because she made friends at the resort, but when she did go she enjoyed it.
Water skiing is part of your package as are pedalo, kayaks, glass bottom boat. Some of the chargeable water activites are run by guys on the beach, not necessarily connected to the resort. What is nice is they may approach you once to see if you want to go parasailing for instance, but there is no pressure at all. Our girls went parasailing and waterskiing and loved both. We also booked a catamaran cruise, which is a must. You leave at 7:40am and return around 5pm. There is a bbq on the catamaran and you visit falls and are dropped off on L'ile aux cerfs, beautiful! You will need to use your bartering skills.
The Beach hut team are great. Very friendly! They organise volleyball in the afternoons, aqua aerobics in the morning. Water is cold but once you get going you soon forget.Occasionally Zumba on the beach and bike rides.
Rooms are lovely and spacious. For families, either book 2 adjoining rooms or the family suite, which is spacious.
The evening bar was being renovated, but the hotel organised Le Bois Cheri as the evening bar during our stay, which worked well. Great band at night, which starts around 9pm. Outstanding saxophone player and nice singers. Dancing show on Tuesday night. Good way to end the day.
A lovely resort, with excellent service and a great ambiance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettinaArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear BettinaArora,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our service. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews