We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, need better service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had an amazing time at Le Meridian, Mauritius for a 7 day, 6 night half-board package. Overall a nice experience, though certain things could certainly be better (especially service.. will come to that)
First the good: Great property, amazing view from the room, a great package of free water sports (needs some reservation), choice of 4 resturants, nice pool, great fitness center and spa. Breakfast was a decent spread (the continental section), and on certain days the dinner was also decent. The rooms are spacious, well maintained. They have a seated checkin procedure, which was very convenient, fast and efficient.
Now for things that need improvement: The service post the check-in left much to be desired. They can take upto a whole day (yes, 8 hours) to deliver extra soap to your room. Towel replacement, replishing coffee and tea and small things like that made you feel that the hotel houekeeping and room service need to put their act together... Try this hotel if you are okay to survive without Indian food - that was the low point of the food experience. The Indian breakfast section was quite pathetic and the dinner in Cumin was also below average (what kind of combination is bindi-matar.. okra-green peas)???

Overall nice experience... Some minor complaints, but can be overlooked... !

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby... its quite a huge property and its always better to stay close to the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naren1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Naren 1309,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our hotel and facilities. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,660 of 3,201 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Got back last week after spending a week here with the wife and two kids (9 and 10). We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Weather- It was winter in Mauritius but some days topped out at around 28 degrees with not a cloud in the sky, others were sunny in the morning but overcast later. When it`s sunny at sunset you get an excellent photo opportunity as the coast faces west- in fact if you walk along the beach from Le Victoria many, many people are taking pictures of the sunset.
Food- Well, after two weeks in Mauritius what I had thought to be a developing six -pack has well and truly disappeared. I must say I was partial to the Phoenix beer (MRU600 for a big `un in the hotel, MRU60 or less in a shop down the road...) but the food was the real star.

The breakfasts were sumptuous feasts and I was a great fan of the smoked marlin, which appeared regularly.
Dinner was either a buffet or a la carte from one of selection of restaurants. Shells for seafood was our first choice (after trying the buffet on the first night- Mauritian speciality night so we had to try it). Shells was good but there were a few stray dogs on the beach that could have been shoo`d away a bit more. Didn`t bother us but one of the Italian couples eating on the beach (at the table under a canopy) got a bit annoyed and had to move. Cumin was Indian food. V tasty but we didn`t go back as the kids don`t really like spicy food. La Faya was our favourite. Jimmy was an excellent Maitre d` and where do I start with the food? It`s meant to be Med with a tropical twist I think- . One night there was pepper encrusted yellowfin tuna, another night I had what was essentially a crystal ball with a fish concoction inside- v tasty. The kids liked it here too and as the restaurant was out of the way (right near the Nirvana area) the atmosphere was a bit less frenetic.

One our lot went to the Penguin club, really enjoyed it and had her face painted after breakfast everyday too. The other thrived on the watersports and we had plenty of goes at waterskiing, kayaking etc.

We also took a couple of dolphin seeing trips from the private company within the hotel. The first was quite pricy but was for a whole day. I`m not sure they made much money though as we had to take a speedboat right down to the south (le Morne) to see the grey mammals. It was worth it though- NB trip also involved sightseeing at Crystal Rock, lunch and overtaking all of the Catamaran day-trippers at high speed on the way back. Bumpy though.

In fact, we liked the dolphins so much we went back to swim with them the following day- however this time they were only 2km (5 mins) from the hotel, beyond the reef.

The service in the hotel was excellent and I would like to thank them for letting me keep my bags in the hotel after checkout so that I could catch a late taxi to the airport. We spent the day on the beach.

The gym-needs updating.

Free Wifi- in the lobby- v handy.

Room was clean and large- big plasma TV came in v handy for the Olympics.

Downsides:
I would say that the swimming in Mauritius is unsafe if you go out of the designated swimming zones. The same applies here, except the lagoon is v narrow outside Le Meridien so there is not much room for the many speedboats, pedalos and kayaks that use the water alongside swimmers and snorkelers. Someone will probably get hurt sooner or later and the boats really should be outside the reef even if this affects them commercially. The same proximity would not be allowed countries like Italy and Spain.

I also noted that the hotel produced a daily update of what was going on at the hotel. While I applaud the use of recycling old paper to print this on, they should probably avoid doing so on the back of a print off of who was staying where and how much they paid. This even included some of the people who have since reviewed the hotel on Tripadvisor below me. I also saw that some people were given a VIP code- maybe they`re SPG gold members? Still, it was reassuring to see that I had not overpaid and that ba.com had charged a fair price.

Overall, the atmosphere was a bit less cosy than the smaller hotel we stayed in in the previous week but the many facilities made up for this. The staff are all friendly and it was a lovely visit.

NB do not miss the botanical gardens as they are only 15 mins away in the car- some amazing palms, ferns and trees there.

Room Tip: Ground floor is handy for walking down to the ocean as you can just open the large doors and stroll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManlyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Manly J,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our food and service. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed in this finest hotel on my honeymoon with my wife... Before booking it i was not sure of staying there but after recommended by my travel agent i said yes....I have stayed in manny 5 star hotels but this one was a unforgettable experience.I stayed their for 7 days and each day was more better than the earlier as they had different theme for each day as like indian bollywood theme , chinese theme, etc.everything was according to the theme food, the dress code of all hotel staff , the deco...The rooms were quite big and with beautiful bathroom and a clear view of the ocean .. The swimming pool area was too good and a pool bar with cocktails making it more romantic ....The main bar area is the best part as a round shaped bar just on the beach side with drinks and cocktails from allover the globe,, and they had free drinks on the house times in the evening with live dance..... The Spa is the best i ever had as we visited it twice in a day....... the beach is very clean and enjoyable .. The overall stay was that great ,that we cancelled our 2 day outdoor trips in our package just for the sake of staying in the hotel....The staff is too friendly and understandable ....There is nothing i can find bad abt this property its simply the best place in lle Maurice to stay ..I defiantly will visit again.....
The best thing was me and my wife did not wanted to leave from this hotel on our last day of stay but..... had further booking .......Do visit to enjoy this Hotel to have the nest time of ur life

Room Tip: the ocean facing Ground Floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauravpunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Gauravpunj,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our service. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Great. That's how we can classify our stay at Le Meridien.Being Mauritians we usually go to hotels to relax and get away with our busy life. This has been our first stay at this hotel and we had some apprehension before arriving there. However, great was our surprise at the service offered, the entry drinks, the beautiful lobby and the friendly staff. We were offered the Royal Suit , fabulous . Special thanks to Mrs Shivanee and all the friendly and helpful staff at La Faya restaurant.The cocktails also were very good. I came with my small family meaning my husband and two sons and we really enjoyed a very nice time there. My children were crying when we checked out, so beautiful had been their stay. Only one thing i would advise the management is to make the guest aware at reservation time that in the all inclusive package, the lunch must be taken on the arrival date itself . This has been quite as a surprise for us , Mauritians, since in most hotels the lunch can be taken on both days or on the next day. We checked in at around 2.30 pm after having lunch in a restaurant in Port Louis, thinking that we would get lunch at the hotel on the next day. This is the only dark spot.
Apart from that, of course we will recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Phoenix Tara,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our service. Your courteous comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Hotel is old and neglected. Rooms need a lot of work. Our bath and basin plugs did not work, toilet needs pumping before it will flush. Curtian in room did not close all the way, patio door could not open all the way. Matress had to be replaced, pilows had to be replaced. Swimming towels old, discoloured, and frayed. Service staff is very poor. Swim area very small, compared to hotel next door. Chef and service level of higiene is atrosious, handling food with fingers - no gloves or utensils. Also experienced the servers very quick to take your plate, but not so efficient to assist with any requests, like coffee etc. did not feel safe and secure with my 4 yr old at the penguin club. Too many other staff coming and going through the gate, which is not always closed!. Ladies at club rotate between beach duty, aqua aerobics and kidds, how can they then be called specialized?. Booked all inclisive package, but on arrival found out that any item on a menu with an astrixs next to it - is extra charge. Surprise 50% on the menu had astrixs!. Only two items to choose from for lunch next to the pool!. What's with all the indian food? All 3 restaurants serve curry?. Not good for people like us that don't eat curry. Very limited food choice then. Will mot recommend anyone to go there, nor will i ever again.

Room Tip: Don't go to meridien!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weltrvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Weltrvld,

Thank You for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
30.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,637 reviews
0.8 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,931 reviews
2.8 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,896 reviews
5.4 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: €163 - €365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing