We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Reef Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$323
US$252
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Voile Bleue(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$172
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Margarita(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$100
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fita Residence(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$35
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$1,667
US$664
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,450)
Filter reviews
3,450 results
Traveller rating
1,522
1,151
465
171
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,522
1,151
465
171
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fayanirvana wingindian restaurantshells restaurantnirvana areanirvana poolpool barbay view barnirvana guestsdegrees restaurantour honeymoonroyal suitecandle light dinnerspecial thankswater sportsall inclusive packageglass bottom boat
Filter
Updating list...
1,892 - 1,897 of 3,450 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Meridien with my partner. this was our second stay at the Hotel, and very little had changed over the 6 year gap. This was disappointing, as the Hotel was in need a renovation then.
There is a great deal to like about the Hotel, good beach, well maintained water sports equipment and large clean pool. The gym is small, but very well equiped, with knowledgeable, friendly staff. This pretty much covered all I wanted for the holiday, however there were many disappointments,particularly value for money. It must be really difficult for the staff to maintain their good humour and moralle, when they themselves can see how much people are being overcharged for pretty ordinary services.

The cost of drinks is exhorbitant, particularly water and it was noticeable how many folk were taking their own water into the restuarants ( bought at the local shop, at a fraction of the cost)
Very ordinary wine was also incredibly expensive .
Food bought out with the halfboard deal we were on was disapointing and again ridiculously priced. A croque monsieur was a slice of bread,a slice of rubbery cheese, and a very thin piece of ham costing nearly 12 euros. Very poor value and fairly representative of snack food available. Again it was noticeable how many people were making up sandwiches and rolls in the buffet breakfast area!!

Generally the food was average most of the time, certainly not 4*. At times the 180deg buffet restuarant it was reminiscent of Butlin's in the 60's. Food was a bit hit or miss, the French themed night was pretty good, but generally the array of goodies was a wee bit overcooked. Sweets / deserts were pretty much the same most nights
The Shells Restuarant provided a couple of excellent meals, with very good service.
La Faya, which was our favoured eating place on our previous visit, was disapointing, good service , but indifferent food, again overcooked veg, and disappointing buffet style.
Cumin, the Indian restuarant was very average, and understaffed.

The decor in the 180 deg restuarant is very faded, and the worn floor covering is an accident waiting to happen.
Rooms are pretty big, but tired, particularly the bathrooms .

Access for anyone with a mobility disability is non-existent anywhere in the Hotel other than a ramp into the one dining area. I felt really sorry for a lady in a wheel chair, who seemed to be pretty much confined to the one level of the Hotel. She stoically put up with a very indifferent attitude to her problems.

Generally the staff were courteous and friendly, particularly the Beach and Gym staff.
Our room was cleaned well every day.

We experienced a cyclone for a couple of days which resulted in the closure of some of the restuarants and access to the beach. This was unavoidable, and whilst inconvenient, didn't spoil our stay.

tips: Use the local shops for water, minerals and beer and snacks
The local buses are frequent and very reasonable, and give you a great view of Mauritian life, if a little bit hot and noisy.

We went for a beach break in a warm , sunny setting and this was pretty much what we got. however I don't think I'll return to the Merdien in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muchtiescouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our second visit to Mauritius and Le Meridien. Our experience was even better this time than 2 years ago. We stayed in Nirvana and had all-inclusive meal plan during the Christmas/ New Year holidays.
Accommodations: we did initially request an ocean view room, but it was not available upon arrival. Ahmad, the guest relations manager, honored our request the next day. The rooms in nirvana are pleasant, but I do agree with the reviews they need updating. In nirvana, the wifi is included.
Food and restaurants: we thoroughly enjoyed our all-inclusive plan that included alcohol. Our favorite restaurants were Faya and Cumin. Cumin was not always available this time due to special holiday events. Faya had a fixed menu in the evenings this time. Two years ago, the menu did have more vegetarian options which we would welcome.
Gym: small but well-equipped.
Spa: the spa did not meet my expectations. I had a massage and pedicure. My masseuse was a lovely kind lady, but she was not well trained. She also did my pedicure, and it was not professional. I had to remove the polish the next day.
New Year's celebration: I was very impressed with the celebrations within the hotel. The hotel lobby was converted into a dance floor with libations and champagne. Fireworks rang in the new year, too.
Staff in Nirvana: we were treated royally by the staff. Gopaul, Nicholas and Vic were exceptional, but everyone was amazing.
We need to especially recognize Ahmad. He did every thing he could to make our stay comfortable.
The room was good; food was very good; the grounds and surroundings were beautiful, but it was really the service that makes this place such a joy to visit. We will be going to Kenya this summer and plan to stop by in Mauritius and stay at Le Meridien again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeCrazy4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week for our Honeymoon in January and were not disappointed at all. The hotel is huge, with a big choice of restaurants and activities, the personal is very nice and there was a wonderful band playing at the bar every evening. There is a sport center and a SPA (I advise the Marma massage with Sunita, so relaxing to start the holiday week !). I should not forget to mention the rooms that were really big...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I would urge future visitors to be wary of the following:

a) Exorbitant prices for mineral water, drinks, lunch and taxis. For example a 1 litre bottle of water costs over £3.30 and a basic sandwich costs over £11. There are a few shops down the road (along the beach) where one can purchase cheaper soft drinks and water. The hotel charges through the roof for everything given the captive customer.

b) Customer service in the 180 degrees restaurant is weak- it takes 30-45min to get your basic food such as a sandwich. Generally waiting staff didnt seem very motivated and lacked any drive except a few who were diligent and friendly e.g. Harry and Sanjeev for instance were diligent. The concept of cleanliness needs to be considered around the kitchen and restaurants given the flies lurking over the food etc. The quality of the food was average to be generous.

c) The hotel is in a desparate need of some renovation and modernization - there is water leaking from the roofs and the exterior of the room is very poor. The floors are slippery and the buildings are in poor shape. We found large cockroaches and a large spider in our room over 4 nights.

d) No sure whats so special about the Nirvana wing - it looked pretty average to me.

Overall the beach/location is beautiful, other hotel facilities are reasonable and we had a decent holiday but the value proposition is weak given the above points. The hotel clearly charges a lot and doesnt deliver for what it charges (case of franchise abuse). One of the weakest Starwood properties I have stayed at around the world even thougn the location is beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PCD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday and for taking the time to share your comments and experience feedback.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I decided to stay here as I am an SPG gold member. Little did I know that hotels of this type could plumb to the depths that this one has done in terms of service. To start with the rooms are not very clean and the housekeeping staff poorly trained. Getting a room service menu was not possible during my entire stay.
This hotel is a tour group factory organized around full board buffets and the absolute minimum of service if anything falls outside the program of the groups. It is organized around the convenience of staff rather than the guests. Want room service, go to the restaurant and ask....
The phone will never be answered.
The guest relations manager Shivani operates like a hostel warden setting the rules. Friends that I had invited for lunch were not allowed in the hotel ostensibly because of the cyclone warning. Something that seems to have escaped the attention of the neighboring hotel that happily served us drinks and lunch. The poor service has to be experienced to be believed. Would never stay here again........

Room Tip: Nirvana is supposed to be the best part of their property. I was there and saw guests complaining everyday. Air conditioning barely functioned.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Subba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvand, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Subba D,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.
We are sorry to read your experience was not as expected. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel management, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews