We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful Hotel, especially the nirvana rooms view. Very polite employees. Good variety of food. Great entertainment in the evening.

Room Tip: nirvana rooms have great views and quiet reserved couples area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,750 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Meridien with my partner. this was our second stay at the Hotel, and very little had changed over the 6 year gap. This was disappointing, as the Hotel was in need a renovation then.
There is a great deal to like about the Hotel, good beach, well maintained water sports equipment and large clean pool. The gym is small, but very well equiped, with knowledgeable, friendly staff. This pretty much covered all I wanted for the holiday, however there were many disappointments,particularly value for money. It must be really difficult for the staff to maintain their good humour and moralle, when they themselves can see how much people are being overcharged for pretty ordinary services.

The cost of drinks is exhorbitant, particularly water and it was noticeable how many folk were taking their own water into the restuarants ( bought at the local shop, at a fraction of the cost)
Very ordinary wine was also incredibly expensive .
Food bought out with the halfboard deal we were on was disapointing and again ridiculously priced. A croque monsieur was a slice of bread,a slice of rubbery cheese, and a very thin piece of ham costing nearly 12 euros. Very poor value and fairly representative of snack food available. Again it was noticeable how many people were making up sandwiches and rolls in the buffet breakfast area!!

Generally the food was average most of the time, certainly not 4*. At times the 180deg buffet restuarant it was reminiscent of Butlin's in the 60's. Food was a bit hit or miss, the French themed night was pretty good, but generally the array of goodies was a wee bit overcooked. Sweets / deserts were pretty much the same most nights
The Shells Restuarant provided a couple of excellent meals, with very good service.
La Faya, which was our favoured eating place on our previous visit, was disapointing, good service , but indifferent food, again overcooked veg, and disappointing buffet style.
Cumin, the Indian restuarant was very average, and understaffed.

The decor in the 180 deg restuarant is very faded, and the worn floor covering is an accident waiting to happen.
Rooms are pretty big, but tired, particularly the bathrooms .

Access for anyone with a mobility disability is non-existent anywhere in the Hotel other than a ramp into the one dining area. I felt really sorry for a lady in a wheel chair, who seemed to be pretty much confined to the one level of the Hotel. She stoically put up with a very indifferent attitude to her problems.

Generally the staff were courteous and friendly, particularly the Beach and Gym staff.
Our room was cleaned well every day.

We experienced a cyclone for a couple of days which resulted in the closure of some of the restuarants and access to the beach. This was unavoidable, and whilst inconvenient, didn't spoil our stay.

tips: Use the local shops for water, minerals and beer and snacks
The local buses are frequent and very reasonable, and give you a great view of Mauritian life, if a little bit hot and noisy.

We went for a beach break in a warm , sunny setting and this was pretty much what we got. however I don't think I'll return to the Merdien in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muchtiescouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our second visit to Mauritius and Le Meridien. Our experience was even better this time than 2 years ago. We stayed in Nirvana and had all-inclusive meal plan during the Christmas/ New Year holidays.
Accommodations: we did initially request an ocean view room, but it was not available upon arrival. Ahmad, the guest relations manager, honored our request the next day. The rooms in nirvana are pleasant, but I do agree with the reviews they need updating. In nirvana, the wifi is included.
Food and restaurants: we thoroughly enjoyed our all-inclusive plan that included alcohol. Our favorite restaurants were Faya and Cumin. Cumin was not always available this time due to special holiday events. Faya had a fixed menu in the evenings this time. Two years ago, the menu did have more vegetarian options which we would welcome.
Gym: small but well-equipped.
Spa: the spa did not meet my expectations. I had a massage and pedicure. My masseuse was a lovely kind lady, but she was not well trained. She also did my pedicure, and it was not professional. I had to remove the polish the next day.
New Year's celebration: I was very impressed with the celebrations within the hotel. The hotel lobby was converted into a dance floor with libations and champagne. Fireworks rang in the new year, too.
Staff in Nirvana: we were treated royally by the staff. Gopaul, Nicholas and Vic were exceptional, but everyone was amazing.
We need to especially recognize Ahmad. He did every thing he could to make our stay comfortable.
The room was good; food was very good; the grounds and surroundings were beautiful, but it was really the service that makes this place such a joy to visit. We will be going to Kenya this summer and plan to stop by in Mauritius and stay at Le Meridien again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeCrazy4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week for our Honeymoon in January and were not disappointed at all. The hotel is huge, with a big choice of restaurants and activities, the personal is very nice and there was a wonderful band playing at the bar every evening. There is a sport center and a SPA (I advise the Marma massage with Sunita, so relaxing to start the holiday week !). I should not forget to mention the rooms that were really big...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I would urge future visitors to be wary of the following:

a) Exorbitant prices for mineral water, drinks, lunch and taxis. For example a 1 litre bottle of water costs over £3.30 and a basic sandwich costs over £11. There are a few shops down the road (along the beach) where one can purchase cheaper soft drinks and water. The hotel charges through the roof for everything given the captive customer.

b) Customer service in the 180 degrees restaurant is weak- it takes 30-45min to get your basic food such as a sandwich. Generally waiting staff didnt seem very motivated and lacked any drive except a few who were diligent and friendly e.g. Harry and Sanjeev for instance were diligent. The concept of cleanliness needs to be considered around the kitchen and restaurants given the flies lurking over the food etc. The quality of the food was average to be generous.

c) The hotel is in a desparate need of some renovation and modernization - there is water leaking from the roofs and the exterior of the room is very poor. The floors are slippery and the buildings are in poor shape. We found large cockroaches and a large spider in our room over 4 nights.

d) No sure whats so special about the Nirvana wing - it looked pretty average to me.

Overall the beach/location is beautiful, other hotel facilities are reasonable and we had a decent holiday but the value proposition is weak given the above points. The hotel clearly charges a lot and doesnt deliver for what it charges (case of franchise abuse). One of the weakest Starwood properties I have stayed at around the world even thougn the location is beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PCD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday and for taking the time to share your comments and experience feedback.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
30.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,668 reviews
0.8 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,990 reviews
2.8 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,585 reviews
15.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: €166 - €396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing