We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
51
14
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
14
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering air conditioning pool area walking distance gas barbecue serviced daily au biches cleaning lady grand baie per day on arrival location is great nice pool car hire a wonderful stay anand apartment
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I have travelled the world and I have not experienced a more beautiful holiday. White Oaks ticks all the boxes. The staff are extremely helpful and units are serviced every day except Sunday which is unacceptable. Our Unit No 4 had everything one needs. If you want a magnificent holiday in Mauritius then White Oaks is your choice. We will be back ASAP,

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SarahM14878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy A, Guest Relations Manager at White Oaks Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

I am so pleased you enjoyed your Anniversary!!!
Now to the next 25 years

Looking forward to Welcoming you back to White Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The villa we had ( 2 bedroom, 9a) has suburb views from the whole villa over the sea, truly beautiful. The bedrooms are very spacious with lots of cupboards and draws,the beds comfortable. We had no duvet but the sheet and cover were ok. The children had duvets in their room. The AC upstairs is vital. We were surprised to find no AC downstairs but this is apparently the norm in Mauritius. The manager was brilliant and brought us a very good fan so we could angle it in the kitchen/lounge which made a huge difference to the temperature.
The driver who picked us up was extremely helpful ( taking us to a supermarket on the way to the villa) and the manager was also helpful.
The villa is a little tired looking in terms of the wear and tear in some area, but overall a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank eturne699310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

There are a few things to be aware of, but overall a well run groups of villas with stunning views across the beach to the horizon and in easy travelling distance of many decent locations.

Tip 1 - ensure that you get everything confirmed in writing. We wanted a late checkout, they wanted to charge us more than we had agreed once at the resort. On production of the email with the amount confirmed in writing, they had to agree that this was the correct amount.

It took a while to get through the airport (baggage collection) but the driver was waiting outside and was a lovely chap. He was very happy to divert on the way up for us to do an immediate bit of shopping and let the girls (10 and 12) get some supper (Mauritius is cheap for food and drink, compared to home for us, by the way). Good quality driver and very happy to answer questions en route.

Security met us on arrival and took us straight to the villa, gave us a quick tour and settled us in. No need to register etc, that was all done the following morning after a good night's sleep.

The villa iteself (2 bed) was tired in terms of decor - the throw on the settee had holes in it, the bedsheets were quite badly stained (although clearly had been laundered) and a few things were just shabby. However the whole villa has a nice beach theme to it and all of the above faults are forgiven as soon as you see the views. The tendency in Mauritius appears to be no air conditioning on the ground level, doors are windows are left wide open to allow the breeze to blow through (and the mossies in!!). To be fair, we didn't experience many mosquitos and those that we saw were fairly lazy and easy to swat (swatters provided!). AC units are in each bedroom upstairs and were needed through the night.

Tip 2 - don't 'hire' a car direct from the resort. They had arranged one for us, but couldn't provide any form of contract. A couple of contradictory stories later, I decided to go and find a rental myself.

Tip 3 - don't use the nearby options within walking distance - local rumour is that scratches often mysteriously appear on cars and deposits (25k Rupees) are lost. Now as I say, that's rumour, but you can't be too careful. I ended up talking to a couple of local taxi drivers and they put me in touch with a chap who I spoke to on the phone and found extremely informative in terms of legal requirements for hire cars, plain speaking, professional and aware of typical scenarios where private cars are 'hired' out without proper insurance in place.... I can provide his details if anyone wants them. We negotiated a price (R1100 per day everything included) for a Toyota, he was happy to deliver and collect within this price. He also owns a taxi company and on the occasions that we wanted to drink in the evening, I called him and drivers came promptly and charged fixed pre-agreed prices (all very reasonable).

In terms of facilities, there is a nice pool in the compound and we found noise levels to be very low. Access to the immediate beach via a private gate but we preferred to travel to nicer beaches just a few minutes up the road at Troux au Biches and beyond.

Lots of choices to eat, from the restaurant next door to several good quality outlets in Troux Aux Biches to the beach club to places further afield. Consisitently good food, particularly seafood, and reasonably priced drinks.

Our objective was to relax for the week, we did one longer journey to the South of the Island (where it seems to rain a lot!!) but otherwise stayed fairly close to the Troux Au Biches / Grand Baie area and wanted for nothing. Very safe for the children, some nice beaches, plenty of activities, supermarkets in walking distance for basic amenities.

If we were going back to Mauritius, we would certainly consider basing ourselves in this area again, even if travelling further afield next time, and would certainly use White Oak Villas for their location and position/views/atmosphere

Room Tip: I suspect that most villas will have sea views but get as close to the beach as your villa style will allow
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PurpleFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We spent 2 weeks in villa 10B, having a great view of the sea and the garden with the swimming pool. The villa is fully equipped with everything you can think of, even the gas barbecue on the terrace. Every day, very friendly and helpful cleaning lady called Rekha came and cleaned everything, plus she gave us a lot of useful tips about the island. The location is a bit further from the mega-touristic areas, which is great for relaxing. There is 1 supermarket and 1 small shop where you can get groceries, both walking distance and both accept credit cards. In the nearby hotel Voile Bleue there is a restaurant where they cook really well. It's useful to rent a car to be able to drive around the island and explore other areas, very friendly manager Anand helps your to get one. Overall I really recommend the place, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mky109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy A, Guest Relations Manager at White Oaks Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

We are so pleased your stay!!!

Looking forward to Welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The Appartement was nice, the pool and seaview was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Altough it was on the street, it was very quiet, unfortunately a little bit too much away from restaurants, shops and the town center. Overall, we made a good choice with the White Oaks Villas.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tamman628602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy A, Guest Relations Manager at White Oaks Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank-you we are very glad you enjoyed White Oaks!!

Hope to Welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews