We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best holidays I have had, highly recommend it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays I have had, highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Beautiful setting, very comfortable villas with lovely bathrooms, fantastic spa and helpful friendly staff. They really do care about their guests and could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The service was exemplary and food fantastic.
Recommend trip to Casela Park near by to walk with tigers and lions ( phone and book). Also very memorable to hire a boat and go out early morning and swim with dolphins in the wild in Indian ocean.

One of the the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays my partner and I have ever had.
We will go again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katdSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled that your holiday was both most relaxing and enjoyable for you and your partner.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    108
    44
    23
    15
See reviews for
140
578
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our very first impression was like we came to Bali: lush entry garden, Balinese architecture and that kind of feel. However, once you pass the reception, you are hit but somewhat deteriorated shrubby gardens, dying plants and dry grass. It is almost as if there was the change in management and the current guys decided to save on landscaping. What a shame, cause this place has got so much potential to be amazing.

Accommodation is comfortable although our shower was flooding and nothing was done about it. We had a lovely plunge pull as well, the beach is white and above all Maradiva has the best infinity pool that I have seen so far. It is really like the photos you see in magazines and you can't have enough of it. This is probably the reason I would go back here again.

Food is a bit on a salty side while breakfast tends to be sweet (buffet choices) and not many healthy choices to choose from. Having 2 types of cereals does not mean you're finished with healthy options. Menu doesn't help either as food tends to be heavy and greasy.

Cilantro restaurant is much more interesting, although again, we thought the food was too salty.

Service is standard and tends to be better if management is around, but during our stay we didn't see the manager at all, we only heard that the GM arrived one day and on that same day coincidentally everyone was busy and even the gardeners were there.

Further to this, the service at the pool was way to slow taken into consideration that there was usually no more than 2 couples at the pool. How long can it take them to make a drink? Trust me, very long.

Room Tip: rooms with pool are definitively better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!
Thank you for posting your comments and suggestions, it is important for us to know what the areas to improve are. We are taking your comments with the utmost importance and will always strive to exceed guest expectations.
Regarding your comments about the deteriorated shrubby gardens, i would like to mention that despite the rain that we received lately, Mauritius is suffering the worst drought of the past 15 years, and according to the CWA Drought Period Regulation 2011’ in effect since November 2011, it is forbidden to water garden or to wash cars, offence punishable by law.
As we are now entering the rainy season, the situation will resolve by itself.

I am delighted to know that you were pleased with the white sand beach, the infinity pool and various aspects of our resort including the Cilantro. We have taken note of the areas that you felt were below your expectations and have adjusted accordingly.

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for choosing Maradiva Mauritius for your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back to Maradiva.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Firstly the rooms are great, luxurious, spacious and very well designed with a private lovely outdoor area with a plunge pool. The housekeeping was also excellent and the Spa was wonderful.

Now for the downside. We stayed early in January which is apparently a very busy time. There are only 2 restaurants and both were full of families with young (and when we were there, very rowdy and badly behaved) children. We spoke to the food and beverage manager who said that it was a busy time and that there was nothing that he could do to control the children. We therefore had the remaining meals in our villa.

We were very disappointed as we chose this hotel on the basis of their marketing as a romantic couples destination.
We really did not want to have all of our dinners in our room and in addition had to pay a hefty surcharge for this privilege.
We were actually quite disappointed in the quality of the food in general. For a high end hotel, the food was pretty average.

Finally, we had a problem with the drainage in our shower which meant that the area flooded every time we had a shower. We complained constantly and were assured that it would be sorted out. It never was and we received no feedback at all. Again, it's not the sort of service that you expect In a quality hotel.

We made a formal complaint as we were leaving and then later wrote a letter to the General Manager. He responded by telling us that they were having some problems with tree roots in this villa. They were obviously aware of this the first time that we complained and indeed, the discoloration on the tiles suggested that it had been occurring for quite some time. The most annoying thing was that we received absolutely no communication or feedback.

Thus, despite the lovely rooms, I would definitely not recommend this hotel. It certainly compared very poorly to other high end (and similarly priced) hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sydneygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The only problem that I have with Maradiva Villas is - whichever hotel we go to next we will probably compare badly against the Maradiva villas. Service was exemplary, Villas comfortable and private, beach lovely, and the staff were superb.

When we arrived at the Maradiva villas, we had no idea what to expect. To be fair it took a couple of days to realise the philiosophy of the hotel. If you want disco's and night life don't book Maradiva, if however you want a really special relaxing hotel then go to Maradiva. The service was exceptional, the beach was stunning with 10 - 20 metres between sun loungers. The staff couldn't do enough for you. All in all we were totally relaxed and happy. What a brilliant holiday

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyjohn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know that our hotel stands out the most among the properties you have visited worldwide. The exemplarity of our service combined with the confort and privacy of our villas create the perfect environment for forgetting the outside world and simply relaxing.

On behalf of all at Maradiva Mauritius, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad you were able to take home wonderful memories from the time spent us. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is really a first class resort.
The villas with private pool, huge outdoor terrace / living area area are lovely. There is also a very large bathroom, walk in wardrobe, small private garden with an outdoor shower.
The bathroom has a large bath, full size walk in shower that is glass and over looks the private garden.
The bedroom is very well furnished, comfortable and opens out on to the outdoor living area and plunge pool
The terrace is furnished with chairs and a sofa, this is also where you have your tea and coffee making facilities and mini fridge.
There is also an iPod docking station.
The pool has steps into it and is big enough to swim a few strokes. At the side of the pool is a huge day bed with loads of cushions.
We used the outdoor terrace and the pool constantly, we had a beachfront villa and still found it to be very private.
The steps into the pool were brilliant for sitting on during the day for reading, it enabled me to get the sun yet stay cool.
At night the outdoor terrace was a lovely place to relax, play music and just enjoy yourself.
We spent two weeks here in January and loved every minute of it.
The in house dining service was second to none, we had breakfast delivered to the terrace most days we also had some lunches and an evening meal there too. The service was impeccable and discreet.
There are 2 restaurants Cilantro, where we ate most evenings, the food is first class as is the service.
Coast 2 Coast is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food here is also good.
If there was one fault with the resort it was the breakfast service at coast 2 coast, however, the lunch and dinner service was good.
We just avoided the breakfast there by having it delivered to our terrace.
All of the staff are polite, helpful and discreet. Most remember your name and villa number.
The front of house staff reception and porters were also extremely good.
We had one item of lost luggage and they did everything they could to track it and have it delivered to us.
I cannot recommend this resort highly enough if you want a private luxury holiday

Room Tip: We loved our beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appleacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled that your holiday was both wonderful and memorable for you. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property.

Be sure that we took notes of your remarks concerning breakfast at Coast to Coast. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.6 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
16.9 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.3 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
43.5 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Property: Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing