We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Palmeraie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Palmeraie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed January 2-9, 2012. So peaceful, so relaxing. The buildings, pool, beach, service - all just right for a perfect vacation. Room faced the sea with nice small balcony, not overly large but more than comfortable. The beach on the north side has beautiful soft pine trees that give natural shade. Plenty of chairs and some tables with thatch umbrellas. Beautiful view of the water, reef, and off-shore island. We had breakfast and dinner package but ended up eating lunch every day as well. Food was very good, occasionally great, occasionally okay, but always plenty of choices. Staff very friendly and accomodating, especially with early check-in and late check-out. We were told we were one of the first Americans to stay there, hard to believe given how nice it is, but that explained why the staff kept conversing with us in French, German, and even Russian.

Went off resort only a few times, as all we needed was at hand. Took a motorboat ride to the waterfall and Ile aux Cerfs, which was not worth the time, as our beach at the hotel was nicer. Went to Port Louis and really enjoyed the shopping and restaurants around the harbor. Then drove back through the highlands, which were beautiful, and made us appreciate how diverse and picturesque the island is.

Our first day we kind of wondered why we had just traveled a day and a half to go someplace that seemed just like the Caribbean, but every day there we discovered another facet that makes Mauritius really unique. Would love to go back, and would definitely stay at La Palmeraie again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    213
    52
    17
    19
See reviews for
163
495
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

A lovely stay, definitely go all inclusive or you will spend a fortune. Staff very welcoming and rooms lovely. Beds super comfy. The food was good bar a few nights when they had an off time but when we complained on one of the nights they brought us something alternative. Activities were ok - you can't borrow snorkels or masks unless you are on their trip, so take your own and times were quite restrictive for some activities. Evening entertainment was very average and it's not a party hotel, suited us really well as early nights were the plan. If you go out for the day they don't do pack lunches so you lose your inclusive lunch. Hotel itself looks really nice & perfect for R&R.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinkerbell216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed there between 17.02.2012 to 23.02.2012

Mr Ajay was the person at to greet us on arrival. However, there was some waiting time before we could get the room.

The room was very neat and the room service was prompt. My room was sea facing. The fridge contained a few drinks which were not complimentary. The bathroom was very good.

However Indian visiting the hotel should keep in mind -
1. The lavatory does not have any water jets. So kindly ask for tumbler on arrival;
2. The electrical points do not have normal Indian 3 pins plugs therefore take the flat pin three pin convertor;
3. Water is very expensive. Buy 5 ltr cans from near by hyper market; and
4. The hotel is secluded. Therefore the other option of travel is by taxi (which is very very expensive) or your can hire a car for Rs 1,000 (mauritian) a day.

Overall the staff of the hotel are very friendly.

There are DVD's at the reception free of charge. The food was very good too!

Minus points:

1. AC was not effective.
2. Spicy Indian food not available
3. Checkout was hurried - We had to leave in a jiffy.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have an amazing view. AC were not cooling enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huzaifa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had a delightful stay with my wife for almost 2 weeks, and can strongly recommend this hotel.
We've spent very relaxing 9 days, and had a blast.
From the minute we arrived, the staff were all around us, always offering help and assistance. Always very kind, and with a cheerful smile.
They won me over on my birthday - I didn't mention it, but anyways they got it from my passport, and I got best wishes from the staff, specially arranged bedding, cake etc.

The hotel is very clean, great location - very secluded and private, rooms are very comfortable and quiet.
Some basic sports activities are free of add. charge - snorkeling (strongly recommend), kayaking, beach volleyball...
if that's not enough, the staff can guide you to some kiteboarding schools nearby.
The food was great, fresh, and always plenty to choose from.
I strongly recommend trying out the hotel restaurant - great choice of fine seafood.

The prices in the bar are a little steep though - Jack&Coke = 14EUR, so bare that in mind :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPantera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Me & my partner stayed in December 2011 - thoroughly enjoyed our 11 nights.
The hotel has a really great feel about it, located on a great bit of beach.....I would recommend waking to Belle Mare along the beach as its only about 15 mins & one of the best stretches of beach I saw on the island!! Fantastic clear water!
Food was great - lovely lunchtime menu too!
Staff were all v attentive, DVD hire at reception which we enjoyed as the entertainment was a bit limited!
Would 100% recommend staying here if you are looking for a completely chilled out vibe!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M2 KTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.4 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
25.9 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
31.5 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.7 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
7.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
26.9 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palmeraie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie Hotel

Property: La Palmeraie Hotel
Address: Coastal Rd, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 74107
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Palmeraie Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The play of light on land and sea. A glimpse of the jade and turquoise waters of the lagoon through fine voile curtains. Warm, sun-drenched colours. The beauty and purity of natural materials. La Palmeraie at Palmar on the east coast of the island possesses a unique alchemy from which its relaxing and intimate atmosphere derives. Under the MBH label, La Palmeraie offers true authenticity and conviviality, typical of traditional Mauritian family homes. A different way of discovering all the treasures – the people and the natural beauty – of the pearl of the Indian Ocean.Bars and restaurants:La Varangue:In the cool of the early morning or the peace of evening, around the pool, in a world of shimmering colour, La Varangue invites you to enjoy moments of deliciously Mauritian gourmandise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your La Palmeraie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palmeraie Belle Mare
Le Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
La Palmeraie Hotel Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing