We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,801)
Filter reviews
4,801 results
Traveller rating
2,933
1,336
375
98
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,933
1,336
375
98
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral bar la plage dolce vita beach restaurant indigo buffet dogs and cats boat trip thomson rep italian restaurant five islands two weeks sea view rum and coke superior room a la carte restaurants great holiday all inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 4,801 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hopefully is a balanced report as we have stopped at many all inclusive resorts.
The good ponts, very large apartment, the beach only yds away. Rooms always kept very clean. The staff attitude is excellent. The food is varied and plenty of choice. The pre booked Italian restaurant is also very good.
Also the car hire from ABC near reception is excellent.

The point that are not so good...rooms could do with a refresh. The beach needs cleaning of coral, the adjoining beaches are considerably cleaner(I cut my foot on the 1st day). Impossible to get a sun bed round the pool as folk reserve them very early AM.
The biggest problem is that this hotel has only one main bar and you can wait (waiter service) 15/20 mins before getting served. This problem is made worse by the staff letting people get their drinks directly from the bar. The music is very repetitive, also aimed at the older generation and there are a lot of younger couples here.

Am I being to fussy, maybe but if the hotel advertises its self as 4 star that is what I expect.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank howarda435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Howard A,

We thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and can only thank you for having given us the opportunity to look after you and provide customer satisfaction.

We take good note of your constructive comments and we wish to inform you that we shall investigate deeper in those situations so that we can take corrective measures and provide the appropriate training where required.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived home this week after an amazing two weeks @ Ambre Resort & Spa. We chose this Hotel to celebrate our Silver Wedding and were not disappointed, we were made to feel really special from the moment we arrived, we couldn’t find fault with anything! When we were greeted with an ice cold flannel and watermelon slushy on arrival we had a good feeling that we’d chosen well, after breakfast our room was ready and our luggage delivered.
We chose a Superior Garden Room which was light, roomy, very comfortable and kept immaculate by our wonderful Housekeeper Sahed. The bed was huge, so too was the shower and the garden location was so peaceful. Clean linens and towels daily, complimentary toiletries, freshly stocked mini bar, snacks and water daily too. Sahed introduced himself to us on arrival and couldn’t do enough for us, checking daily if everything was ok and if we needed anything more in the room, he clearly took pride in his work, our room was immaculate, and he smiled constantly! My husband broke his sunglasses and within minutes of telling Sahed what he’d done he returned with a complimentary promo pair – what service! They even matched the flipflops that Sahed left for us when he decorated our bed on our Anniversary! The grounds were beautifully maintained too, kept to a very high standard and all so neat, they were kept as immaculate as our room!
We ate in all the restaurants which all served food of a very high standard, our favourite being La Plage where we ate most evenings. The setting was perfect for a romantic dinner, the food here was extra special – which we told the chef personally on many occasions. Amar, Rajesh and their team were all extremely attentive (I don’t think my wine glass was empty once!) and greeted us by name after just one visit. Lunch here was always a lovely treat too, often our plans for a ‘light lunch’ turned into 3 courses as the dishes were all so tempting! It would be wrong of me not to also mention; Ashish, Niddi, Dario and Shevind who’s service was first class and very much enjoyed by us! We were invited to dine here for our Anniversary, a candle-lit dinner on the beach was so romantic and the invitation was most welcome – a wonderful evening! Make sure you pre-book for Dinner reservations, no need for lunch though, the food carries a supplement but well worth it.
Breakfast in the Indigo Restaurant was incredible, plentiful and often enjoyed outside, pretty sure we tried nearly everything over our 2 week stay, and we were often greeted and served by the wonderful Smita; a smile from her could brighten anyone’s day! Lunch and Dinner offered another great selection of food, something for everyone and the theme nights offered yet more options.
The Dolce Vita did not disappoint either, a lovely light and airy restaurant, also serving excellent food. Table service here makes this a nice change from buffet style dining and the staff here were also a pleasure; Ravi, Kersley, Neha and of course the very lovely Nathalie – so caring and just an absolute delight! We never had a problem booking this restaurant, if you miss the booking desk at 9 then guest services are always able to help later in the day. No need to pre-book for lunch, just Dinner – the Table D’hote Menu is offered twice a week as a change from the A la Carte, both menus are wonderful.
Coral Bar was very pleasant with great views of course, personal service around the pool and beach front was very welcomed, and if Priya serves you you’re in for a treat – a little ray of sunshine!
We often found the H&H Sports Bar quieter for pre-dinner drinks, or the bar by the fountain too; Michael was just so friendly, stopping for a chat about our day and was genuinely interested to hear what we’d been up to and what we had planned and Hevin with his cheeky humour always made us laugh. Now, if you like cocktails then you need to pay Avi a visit in the H&H Bar – what a guy; his cocktails were amazing, we tried far too many of them if we’re honest but he was an absolute delight to chat to and he never stopped smiling – great guy!!
The pools were very inviting and not too cold, even the Aqua Gym class was tempting and the fresh beach towels every day was a great touch. Sunbeds were plentiful and on the beach too, we were never not able to find somewhere to sunbathe. The sports facilities were abundant, we can thoroughly recommend a trip out with Chris on his glass bottomed boat, bookable at the Boat House, so very knowledgeable and we not only had a great time but learnt a great deal and even spotted a turtle! For more adventurous outings we used the Taxi Service in the foyer, she was great in helping us decide where best to visit and would create bespoke tours to suit our needs, great prices compared to the Tour Companies and you have your own personal driver for the day, ours were all great! We also booked the 5 Island tour with Chris on the beach (he’ll come find you in the first few days!!) and wow, what a trip!! 5 islands, snorkelling, feeding monkeys, waterfalls, swimming, fabulous lunch, sega band and lots and lots of Mauritian Coffee (rum!!) Amazing day out. And to relax, book yourself a full body massage at the Spa – heaven!
In summary, this hotel met and surpassed our expectations and made our Silver Wedding celebration very memorable indeed. We have honestly nothing negative to say about any aspect our stay here, we really did make some wonderful memories and cannot thank the staff enough for making this happen and for welcoming us so warmly to their hotel and country. We wouldn’t hesitate in staying here again and although we have mentioned some employees by name, who we felt deserved a special thank you, we extend our thanks and praise to all that work at the hotel.
A truly wonderful time was spent at the Ambre Resort – thank you.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are very peaceful
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bobbie S,

Greetings from Ambre Mauritius.

We thank you for having chosen our shores for your Silver Wedding celebrations and for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly pleased that you have recognized our staff as one of the best you have seen. We glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and your appreciation on the quality of our service, staff attitude, culinary experience and the other aspects of the resorts.

We are so glad that you went back home with lots of Timeless Memories of your Silver Wedding Anniversary and your stay in Mauritius with lots of "Mauritian Coffee".

In the hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived things started going down hill. The key was broken so had to fix our door at the end of holiday together with the aircon . Tui promised a honeymoon with lots of extras but in fact it was a bottle of champagne if you are lucky. Chris on the beach was our only savour rescuing a dismal holiday with the only thing worth going for. Book this people done this twice and gave the coffeee.

The beach is like a building site full of broken tiles, paving, pipes and cut off trees covered by sand. A lady cut her foot open even wearing shoes. They just left it for the next person no health n safety.

You had to get up and be in the queue at 8.30 for tables in the other restaurants which when you go there most is not included in the all inclusive and at least £25 per head extra.

Cappuccino is in the all inclusive latte isn't neither is iced coffee they charge for ice understand that one if you can.

I asked for a milky coffee only to be given a plastic cup of coffee and another plastic cup of milk make it yourself. Great attitude. Spa is lovely but should be for over £100 for 2 people for 30 minutes.

Mice in the rooms eating clothes, in the coral bar and Italian restaurant putting us off eating there.

Three attempt to stock a mini bar later. Trying to charge for an apology meal and on the third attempt got the bill correct. Took 4 days to sort meal in any case.

The doctor is great thank you for your help about the only good thing going for the place.

£10 taxi to your nearest shop. Poor communication in resort a week and a half later we found the snacks all little too late.

Entertainment was someone singing no showsi thank this is so you don't drink the drinks.

Coral bar is not as advertised neither is beach or entertainment. Tui won't even look at the complaint as false advertising on many parts.

Take your bank cards with you as you will definitely need them. The staff will quickly tell you this is extra and hide things you might like. Service slow, cold coffee if you even manage to get one. Raw sausages that you wouldn't feed to the animals.

The hotel has been down graded from platinum but we paid these prices and its 3 star if you are lucky. I have travelled a lot and this is the worst and most expensive I would save your money.

Stayed: November 2017
6  Thank Wymondham_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Wymondham_girl,

We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We extend our sincere apologies for not having able to meet up your expectations during the holiday.

However, we have analyzed the feedbacks on the different departments of the hotel which you commented and we would like to reassure you that immediate actions have been initiated for corrective measures.

We reiterate our thanks for your valued comments and sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our shores for another experience.

Sincerely,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have sadly returned home after what can only be described as a fantastic and unforgettable first wedding anniversary and two weeks at the Ambre Resort and Spa.
From the moment we arrived at the Ambre, we were greeted by kind, genuine, and very helpful people.

Our room upgrade and arrival champagne far exceeded expectation, and made both my wife and I feel so very special.
Room 158 was in a perfect location for us with a lovely sea view.
Our Anniversary surprise meal at the La Plage was as memorable as our wedding celebrations. Thank you.

It seemed as though we had met up with old friends as many remembered our wedding stay, Including the amazing hotel photographer.

The beach and water sports activities were excellent again.
The gym well equiped.
The food options were again outstanding with so many different tastes to cater for.

Every day began and ended with a smile from everyone we had the privilege to meet. From the Hotel / Restaurant managers to service personnel around the resort. All took the time and the patience to ensure we had a memorable stay.
Even to the last day when we were gifted a thank you cocktail in our room.

Both my wife and I would like to say a big thank you to you all, and to wish you all health and happiness for the future.
It has been a memorable return to your beautiful island and hotel and one we shall always cherish.
There are so many names to mention but not least:
Kevin and Ravi - always so busy but so attentive.
Rajesh/ Kersley and all the team at La Plage.
Simha at the coral bar.
Shirley and Evan at the beach.
Rikki and the sports / entertainment team.
A special thank you to the Management for going the extra mile.

Mr & Mrs C Moore

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank colinmoore93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear colinmoore93,

Greetings from Ambre Mauritius.

We are so glad to read your review following your recent stay at Ambre, and to note that our associates were able to provide you with an exceptional service during your stay. We are also glad to learn that the facilities that are provided at Ambre were to your convenience and so were the different other aspects of our resort.

The Ambre family will surely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you to our shores in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After arriving at the Ambre after private transfer from the airport we were greeted with a smile and fruit cocktail but were told our room wasent ready not what you want to hear after a 13 hour flight but were told we could go for lunch. That is the only downside to this hotel. We were taken to our room and to our surprise had been upgraded the room was massive and a super view of the ocean only downside was a french balcony the room was cleaned daily and to high standard and the they were always fresh towel's and bedding and mini bar stocked daily. The Buffett restraunt was nice and with a good selection most nights however the Italian restraunt is a step up and well worth a visit staff in both are so polite and friendly and can't do enough for you. The poolside waiter drinks service is amazing and my partner and I would like to make a special mention to silvere who was always there with a smile and a drink and never stops walking the beach and pool. If you are gonna to do any trips I would highly recommend the 5 island hop which was amazing and reckoned the Mauritian coffee on this slang for rum. The taxi service at the hotel is fantastic and we went on a tour of the South Island by taxi for roughly 80 pounds the driver takes you to all the points of interest and stays with u all day the hotel even provides a packed lunch. All in all a wonderful holiday and we met some wonderful people we would hope to go back one day.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauratierney442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lauratierney442,

We are sincerely thank you for your comments which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had an amazing time at our resort and truly appreciated all aspects of our resort.

We reiterate our thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays and look forward to hosting you in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews