We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort in a stunning island - great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kanuhura - Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanuhura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We are a family of 6 with 4 children aged between 3 to 8 years old and we had one of the best family holidays. The service, the food, the kids club and the range of activities were excellent and children were so happy! The recently renovated resort looks stunning - the rooms are spacious, aesthetically pleasing with a soothing colour scheme and very practical giving an overall calming and relaxing feeling. The choices of restaurants were amazing plus the fabulous picnic and lunch on the two desert island nearby that made our holiday so special! The diving centre offers a great variety of dive sites and they are very flexible and professional. A must try on the island is the dinner at the Chef Garden restaurant and also sandwich or muffin from the island's deli found in heart of the island. We will be definitely be back !

Room Tip: The two bedroom villa with pool can fit our family of 6 very comfortably.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Maurizio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanuhuramaldives2017, General Manager at Kanuhura - Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Mr Maurizio V,
Sunny Greetings from Kanuhura, Maldives!
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Kanuhura. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our Dive Center as well as varieties of restaurants on the island including our takeaway outlet, Deli and special Chef’s Herb Garden while your kids enjoyed the Kids Club; we accomplished our goal in providing the best service and accommodations. Thank you once again and we wish your travels will bring you back to your island home very soon!
Warm regards,
Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

The property after the renovation completed in 2016 end looks completely fresh. Decent size island with nice bars and restaurants. The Veli restaurant was amazing - dining under the stars. Had a wonderful 2 day break at Kanuhura. The staff are very helpful and courteous. Our villa host was very informative and took care of making our bookings for dining.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Amit_Mittal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanuhuramaldives2017, General Manager at Kanuhura - Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Mr Amit_Mittal66,
Greetings from Kanuhura!
Thank you for having chosen Kanuhura as your holiday destination. We wish to thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice review about your short break on our unfettered paradise and we are glad that you loved dining under the stars in our Asian Fusion Restaurant, Veli. Your gratitude towards your villa host will be passed on to him respectively. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Kanuhura in the near future.
Warm regards,
Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

As "Diamonds are Forever", such is Kanuhura and will stand the test of time and I believe every review that cross tripadvisor!
I can only say that words fall short and cannot fully describe the experience had on Kanuhura. It is an event!
From our first steps onto the jetty at Kanuhura, into the lounge where our coconut welcome-drink awaited us, up until our last departing steps onto the seaplane, will be an experience always to be treasured.
Talib our Villa-host was superb! He always smiled while taking care of us as if we were the only guests at the resort.
The Spa is a definite must! Nowhere better to go to soothe those jet lag muscles.
A special mention also to Clovia and Val, who were always there to meet us at the restaurant with their broad welcoming smiles. The buffets are to die for!!
The pictures of the resort speak for themselves an nothing more needs to be said.
The staff is what gives the resort its character and atmosphere. In closing I would like to think we arrived as guests, but left as friends.
The Brancos

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ficklefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanuhuramaldives2017, General Manager at Kanuhura - Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Ficklefan,
Greetings from the sunny Maldives!
Thank you for the review you shared with us and we appreciate to hear that you had enjoyed an amazing stay with us. We are delighted that you still have some memories of your stay on our unfettered paradise. Thank you once again for the compliment of comparing us to a Diamond; we are flattered and will take it as a great achievement to receive such a wonderful compliment. We are glad that your stay went great and you have appreciated the resort and the facilities that we offer including the spa, dining options and our friendly staff members who exceeded your expectations. Your gratitude towards them will definitely be passed respectively.
We look forward to welcoming our friends back to your island home, Kanuhura Maldives, for another real holiday!
Warm regards,
Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

From the moment we stepped off the sea plane every staff was warm and welcoming. The island was laid back and quiet, not overwhelming and touristy in any way. Beautiful accommodations, fantastic food, and plenty to do for the adventurous guests . Our villa host, Haasan was amazing and anticipated our every need and met with us daily. The spa treatment list was extensive and phenomenal (so much so we both went twice for 90 minute treatments). Pictures cannot do the justice to the beautiful colors of the water. We will DEFINITELY return even with the 30 hrs of travel to get there!

Room Tip: Over the water bungalow was well worth the extra. Waking up to the sunrise, stingrays and other mar...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ColsmithCRNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanuhuramaldives2017, General Manager at Kanuhura - Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear ColsmithCRNA,
Greetings from Kanuhura Maldives!
Thank you for your lovely review and comments about your experience at Kanuhura and for choosing us for your Maldivian getaway, regardless of the long journey travel. We are glad that you found Kanuhura as an amazing destination with our friendly service, to hear that your overall experience went wonderful and that your designated Villa Host exceeded your expectations. Your gratitude will be passed on to him respectively. We look forward to have the honor of welcoming you back to your island home in the near future.
Warm regards,
Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We’ve been quite keen to come back to Kanuhura after spending our holidays there in 2004. It’s still a beautiful island with gorgeous beaches all around. No walls, no sandbags and on the most parts a wide, wide stretch of sand. Perhaps in some areas too wide, e.g. at sunset bar Iru ;-). Lots of palm trees and other lush vegetation makes the colour experience perfect: Green, white, turquoise. Atmosphere is very cozy.

Design of new pool area and spa was one of the few things not really to my liking. I missed the Maldivian touch, for me it was kind of „urban“ or any other beach destination. But well, it’s only my impression, others may like it. At South East Asian Night in main we had little difficulties to find something to our taste on the buffet stations. At breakfast I would have loved to get some tropical jams in addition to the standard European ones. But that’s even in 5* not so easy any more, I noticed.

All new villas (still there are a few of the old bungalows, but refreshed and with more size) come with a bright interior design and beautiful bathrooms. Even the overwater villas feature an open air bath, I’m such a fan of that. We stayed in a Beach Pool Villa sunset side and a Water Villa on sunrise (they‘re all sunrise). That combination was perfect. Staff really friendly and caring. Kanuhura now owns 2 private islands close-by. At Jehunuhura (short ride by speedboat) you’ll find sun loungers and thatched sun huts (but the former daybeds are gone) and that nice island grill restaurant Drift. I had a lovely tuna there, hubby enjoyed a perfectly grilled meat. The other island is completely virgin and perfect for a picnic or special events. In terms of food you have a range of different dining options. Our favourite place is Veli. They serve Maldivian fusion cuisine in a stunning setting. The wooden floor has been removed, now you can dine with feets in the sand. Location of main A Mano is as well fabulous. There, too, you can enjoy breakfast and dinner sitting in the sand and watching the ocean (at dinner time, accompanied by romantic fires). Kanuhura is still one of the best places for all beach lovers.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichaelaReisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanuhuramaldives2017, General Manager at Kanuhura - Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Ms MichaelaReisser,
Greetings from Kanuhura Maldives!
Thank you for the lovely detailed review and for having taken the time to tell us about your experience at Kanuhura. Your view regarding the South East Asian buffet night and breakfast buffet at A Mano and gives us valuable feedback and will help us to improve our service delivery. We are delighted to know that your stay went great and you enjoyed the combination of having to stay in a Beach Pool Villa on the sunset side and a Water Villa on the sunrise side of the island, as well as loved our Asian Fusion restaurant, Veli. We hope that you have taken away many wonderful memories of your stay on your unfettered paradise.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another great vacation in the near future.
Warm regards,
Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanuhura
25.6 km away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
175 reviews
4.8 km away
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
10.1 km away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
722 reviews
30.8 km away
Cocoon Maldives
Cocoon Maldives
#1 of 1 in Ookolhufinolhu
392 reviews
31 km away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanuhura - Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuhura - Maldives

Address: Kanuhura Resort, Lhaviyani Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kanuhura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanuhura
Price Range: €700 - €3,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanuhura - Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanuhura is a 80 villa Luxury Lifestyle Resort located in Lhaviyani Atoll in the North-East of the Maldives, 1,4km long and 350m wide. Entirely renovated and redesigned in 2016 Kanuhura can be described as a timeless castaway chic experience for travelers seeking laid-back island living at its best with a casual and private atmosphere. The luxurious resort celebrates a Gypset lifestyle, a combination of the unconventionality of a free-spirited gypsy and the sophistication and elegance of a jet set life. Kanuhura is a place of natural enchantment especially known for its wide sandy beaches all around the island, amazingly turquoise lagoons and a lush green vegetation. With two private islands exclusively accessible for resort guests, Kanuhura is a unique and luxurious hideaway offering a wide range of 10 bars and restaurants, extensive leisure facilities, wellness center, elegant spa, curated experiences and a variety of sports.Member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" has been recently awarded World's Best Luxury Private Island Resort by World Luxury Hotels Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanuhura - Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhura
Kanuhura Hotel Kanuhara
Kanuhura Resort Kanuhara
Kanuhura - Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing