We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveller rating
1,283
174
35
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,283
174
35
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront villafishsister islandpool and jacuzzibaby turtlesmarine labsandbank diningthe reefsspecial thanksset menuin villa diningmarine centerromantic dinnerexecutive cheffour poster bedsorbetour waiter
Filter
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We spend 12 days in in Angsana Ihuru, which sister and neighboring hotel to Banyan Vabbinfaru. We made short visit to Vabbinfaru, to see feeding of stingrays turtles and look over the island. Banyan Vabbinfaru is more luxurious than Angsana Ihuru, villas are bigger, and this island has much bigger lagoon and reef. Reef is very good, but not as good as reef of Angsana Ihuru. Less bigg fish and sharks. Feeding of stingrays is very interesting, these animals are behaving like domestic ones .... Turtles feeding is less interesting, they have couple small hatchlings and only one turtle to feed. It is much more interesting to see turtles on reef. If you snorkel there or in Angsana couple times, you cannot miss them.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marin881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

A good idea of paradise ! Even if we got some unexpected rain, the quietness of the Vabbinfaru atoll (no dancing, no pool, no noise), the comfortable bungalows, right on the beach and the superb house reef provide us with all we were looking for. Easy snorkeling around beautiful corals and colorful fishes (including sharks, rays and turtles).
the perfect place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Tour440874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Beautiful island, especially the coral and fishes around the island. delicious food, good service. Since only about 50 rooms, the beach is always empty and ..., just relax and enjoy it. The sister island - ihulu has better coral vision.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldliu3864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My partner and i stayed at Vabbinfaru for the weekend and it was fabulous! The island was beautiful, the room was really cosy and nice, food was great and above all, the staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoy our stay.

We snorkelled every day around the island - you have to get out to the deep blue ocean to the edge of the reef and that's where you'll see schools of colourful fishes and even reef sharks! The underwater experience there was simply amazing. I would also recommend the dolphin cruise - we were pretty lucky and saw a whole school of them, jumping and spinning around ;) they also serve a glass of champagne each & lovely canapes on the way back - that and the beautiful sunset, it's just an amazing way to end the evening.

Special thanks to Simaad, Hilmy and all other kind and helpful staff!

I would highly recommend Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru - it's perfect for honeymoons/romantic getaways. It's paradise in paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherylhuihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

First impressions are fantastic ... Warmly welcomed at the airport with a speedy private transfer by boat to the island ..... Reception was very good on arrival and we were escorted from the jetty to main reception. Bags were delivered to our beachfront villa swiftly and we were taken to the villa and shown around within an hour of our early morning arrival. Facilities are all very good on the island, free snorkelling kit, wifi, coffee/tea making in suite, aromatherapy oils and incense in also a nice addition. However, some of the finishes around the villa are dated with untidy edges. an impractical TV position and wardrobe in the outside bathroom are interesting design features!! showers are excellent and products replenished regularly. The recent addition of outdoor 'hot' jacuzzi and cooler plunge pool are excellent and a star gazing dip after supper is highly recommended.. Spa Is stunning but with a cost higher than most London or city spas it is a luxury to be considered carefully.. The island has very strong conservation ethic but you will be charged $2 per day to help with this. We were not made aware of it but were told thats it is mentioned in room literature so please read everything carefully. Small gifts are placed on bed at turn down which is a nice touch if a little unnecessary - a complimentary bottle of wine per day would be more appreciated. the house reef is very good but do visit the sister island on the regular shuttle ( 10 mins ) it is a more interesting and calmer reef. All in all, a wonderful experience and proven by the high number of repeat guests ( 80% of the guests during our stay were repeat guests )

Room Tip: South side of island has calmer waters
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed H, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Davidnewson,

Warm greetings from Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We have taken note of your comments related to our check in procedures, marine conservation efforts, service standards, maintenance of the villas and the price of the SPA treatments.

Your concerns have been already addressed with the responsible managers and actions have been taken to improve in these areas.

once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews