We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving”
Review of Gem Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gem Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A few of the previous comments may have been justified at the time but as John posted below, they are making some big improvements. Every room has a brand new mattress and pillows and are being refurbished.
Staff are brilliant, really attentive and pleasant.

Room Tip: Room refurb is ongoing but worth asking if there's one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrwaddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

I am currently staying at the Gem Beach Resort, been here 4 weeks and will be here for the next 5 years as myself and colleagues use the hotel as a second home. We are on a month on month off rotation.
On arrival the first impressions were good, check in well organized, just required signature.
The rooms are a bit dated but they have refurbished one of the wings and are just waiting for certification to allow the rooms to be occupied. They are going to refurbish the other wings as well.
In the meantime they have replaced all of the mattresses and pillows and bedding.
The small gym is going to be updated as well with a larger amount of machines.
The staff are excellent and very friendly, they were quite reserved at the beginning (as you would expect with it being a Muslim state), but now they joke and laugh along with us.
The meals are very good and the chef is varying the menu every day so it is over a week before there are any repeats in the dishes.
Breakfast for me is fine as all i have is cereal & toast, but there are cooked items and freshly cooked eggs available for those who want them.
If i was staying here as a vacation resort i would be slightly disappointed the way it is now but when the upgrades are completed it will be a very nice resort.
The other comments regarding the beach are accurate with the oil and debris, the management are clearing their section of the beach and many locals are also clearing small sections and once the waves die down the amount of debris washed up will reduce, as far as the oil goes they do not know where it came from and are trying to clean it as best as they can.

Further updates will be posted as work progresses

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John110763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed there for 3 days for a course. Gem beach is located away from city, 30 km from Kuala Terengganu. Hidden from main road and really a beach front resort. So it is good for someone who want to escape from hustle & bustle of a city. The architecture of the resort is of traditional & tropical design, really nice. But probably that all the good things about the resort.
Can see lot of wood structure rotten, metal appliances rusted and look most of the repair done in a slip shot way.
The lobby is nice, but again all the furniture look aged. Check in was fast, but that because I'm the only one there. The room rather small, the bed really uncomfortable. There hardly any complimentary toiletries, so one need to bring on your own. 3 days there, nobody came to do the cleaning. TV, still an old boxy CRT set. Got few channel to chose but the picture is terrible. The reception for mobile phone line also poor here, esp Maxis, so be ready to be cut off from outside world, unless that is the intention.
Pool, look not been properly maintained.
The meal, don't expect all large variety of meals, not even a handful of choice, rather really mediocre.
With the price they offer, I think it just not worth it. But it could get better with proper maintenance and some ( or rather lot of) repair and refurbish.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Nik71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

First of all I hate lying receptionists. Gem Beach Resort will give you just that. It's not worth your money. My family and I stayed at GBR in December 2012. We booked the rooms through phone and specifically asked for adjoining rooms. It was confirmed in the invoice that they emailed us. Upon arrival at the hotel, we had to wait for some time because nobody was manning the reception! we were not given adjoining rooms because the receptionist said a large group checked in before us and took all the adjoinings. He was lying. There was no big group and I can see that the adjoinings were given to different guests. He was also using the management as an excuse when we pointed out any dissatisfaction about the hotel saying there was a new management so the system was different.
The rooms were average with big ugly TVs showing bad channel reception. The only plus point is the balcony if you are on the second floor. The room price was also expensive. We paid RM220 for a standard room and RM340 for a triple room which were absurd considering the condition and hotel facilities.
The breakfast was also a big joke. We were stunned to see that there were a total of 6 dishes to choose from. Pancake, meehoon, roti canai, baked beans, toast and cereals. 'Juice' was actually artificial flavourings. The staffs were also not friendly topping the food grudgingly. The food was also not tasty at all. It was a big let down with the amount you paid.
The pool looked nice but smelly and not so clean. The beach was also dirty and full of rubbish. The hotel didn't have a lift and you have to carry your luggage far from the parking lot and lobby going up and down stairs.
Overall, I had a bad experience with this hotel. I'd never stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anybody. and I hate lying receptionists.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms nearer to the lobby as the further ones looked shabby and creepy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AiNGEL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I came here with my wife to attend her school family's day... We came here 1 day earlier than the others so that we can prepare for the others arrival...
The resort are full house and the only room that are available are suite... Since its raining heavily and we have already unload all our luggage we decided to take the room for the price of RM300/night...
The rooms are spacious which is good, equiped with electronics from the 70's era-bad, outdoor shower for the adventerous type-interesting, bathtub without close lids-bad, small toilet with shower- not so comfy, i think there is a couple of barn owl living in the ceiling making noise and disturbing our sleep ...
Since its not that worthy, we took a smaller room the next day for half the price of the suite... :)
The front desk staff need some training in hospitality... They're unfriendly and unprofesional... This hotel need more housekeeping staff, just imagine when all our group member came at 3pm the room are still not ready yet...
This is total disapointment from a 3 star hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0 km away
The Regency Waterfront Hotel
The Regency Waterfront Hotel
#15 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
10 reviews
0 km away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#24 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
254 reviews
0 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#21 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
155 reviews
0 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
154 reviews
0 km away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#7 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Beach Resort

Address: Lot 2135, Gem Beach Resort Mengabang Lekar, Kuala Terengganu 21020, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range: €47 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gem Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gem Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Beach Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing